Best air purifier for pet hair and odor: AHAM CADR, a washable pre-filter and the carbon stage sort nine units, and the word Pet on the box decides nothing

Levoit Vital 200S-P: AHAM smoke CADR 250, washable pre-filter for hair, 6 to 12 month filter. Core P350 Pet Care 140 but brush-only pre-filter; Blueair 211i Max 435.

  • Verified
  • Updated
  • 12 min read
  • 20 sources
A white cylindrical air purifier on a living room rug beside a dog bed where a golden retriever sleeps, with tufts of pet hair on the rug

Shop links on this page are affiliate links: a purchase may earn us a commission at no extra cost to you. Disclosure

OwnerSpec compares published manufacturer specifications, certification listings and sourced technical documents. Unless a page explicitly states otherwise, OwnerSpec has not laboratory-tested or used the products it compares. Editorial policy

Short answer

For a home with pets the pick is the Levoit Vital 200S-P: the AHAM Verifide directory lists its smoke CADR at 250, dust 254 and pollen 289, and Levoit prints a washable pre-filter that traps hair and pet fur and a main filter designed to last 6 to 12 months. The budget pick is the Levoit Core P350 Pet Care, AHAM smoke CADR 140, but its manual says the pre-filter is cleaned with a brush or vacuum and never water. The premium pick is the Blueair Blue Pure 211i Max, AHAM smoke CADR 435, ENERGY STAR Most Efficient at 259 kWh per year, with a washable fabric pre-filter. Hair is caught by the pre-filter and odor by the carbon stage, and none of the six makers compared here prints the carbon weight in grams, so the word Pet on the carton decides nothing. Skip all of them above 674 sq ft: AHAM’s two-thirds rule puts a room that size beyond any single unit on this page.

The picks

  1. A living room up to 388 sq ft with a shedding dog or cat

    Levoit Vital 200S-P (the pick, washable pre-filter, AHAM 250)

    AHAM directory: CADR 250 smoke / 254 dust / 289 pollen, Fan with Filter, 52.4 W; Levoit: washable pre-filter traps hair and pet fur, 388 sq ft at 4.8 ACH, main filter designed to last 6 to 12 months; not in the ENERGY STAR dataset

  2. A bedroom up to 217 sq ft on the smallest budget

    Levoit Core P350 Pet Care (budget, pet-named, brush-only pre-filter)

    AHAM directory: CADR 140 smoke / 145 dust / 165 pollen, Fan with Filter; Levoit manual: 45 W rated power, pre-filter cleaned every 2 to 4 weeks with a brush or vacuum and never water, ARC-formula carbon stage, filter replaced every 6 to 8 months; 2-year warranty

  3. A room up to 392 sq ft and will switch PlasmaWave off

    Winix 5510 (mid, washable mesh pre-filter, PlasmaWave switchable)

    AHAM directory: CADR 253 smoke / 252 dust / 247 pollen, Fan Filter with Ion Generator, 65 W; Winix: washable fine mesh pre-filter, AOC carbon filter, Filter Q 1712-0123-00, HEPA about 12 months, 2-year warranty; not in the ENERGY STAR dataset

  4. A room up to 361 sq ft and accepts a bipolar device stage

    Coway Airmega Mighty AP-1512HH (washable pre-filter, no AHAM row)

    Coway page: CADR 233 smoke / 246 dust / 240 pollen, removable washable pre-filter, four stages including a bipolar device, 77 W, 361 sq ft at 4.8 ACH; filter set 3304899, deodorization filter 6 months, HEPA 1 year; no AHAM directory row, not in the ENERGY STAR dataset

  5. An open plan up to 674 sq ft with more than one pet

    Blueair Blue Pure 211i Max (premium, AHAM 435, ENERGY STAR Most Efficient)

    AHAM directory: CADR 435 smoke / 453 dust / 450 pollen, 44 W; ENERGY STAR dataset: 687 sq ft, 259 kWh per year, Most Efficient; Blueair: washable fabric pre-filter, F2MAX Particle and Carbon filter up to 9 months, 1-year warranty extendable to 3 on registration

  6. A small bedroom up to 172 sq ft and wants a pellet carbon stage

    Medify MA-25 (compact, AHAM 110, carbon pellets)

    AHAM directory: CADR 110 smoke / 123 dust / 123 pollen, Fan with Filter, 26.2 W; Medify: 172 sq ft at 4.8 ACH, MA-25 Filter Set with a pre-filter for hair and a carbon pellet stage, pre-filter not stated washable; not in the ENERGY STAR dataset

If nobody in the house sheds, this is the wrong page: the bedroom and living room review sorts the same brands without the pre-filter test.

How was this shortlist built?

OwnerSpec compared nine units sold on Amazon US against three published listings, read on 9 October 2026. Nothing was run or measured; this is a spec comparison.

ListingWhat it givesWhere it was read
AHAM Verifide directorySmoke, dust and pollen CADR, the type column, smoke operating wattsahamdir.com, US market
ENERGY STAR datasetCertified models, kWh per year, technology type, ozone ppbdata.energystar.gov
Maker manual or pagePre-filter and whether it may be washed, carbon stage, filter part and interval, 4.8 ACH room size, warrantyLevoit, Winix, Coway, Blueair, Honeywell, Medify

Three specs matter for a pet. CADR, the clean air delivery rate in cubic feet per minute, is the fan and filter together; the room size calculator turns it into square feet. The pre-filter is the stage that fills with hair: one you can rinse costs nothing to clear. The carbon stage is the only part that adsorbs odor, and no maker here prints its weight.

A unit was dropped from the picks when its pre-filter cannot be washed and it is not the cheapest, or when the maker marks it discontinued. CARB status was not looked up for any model: CARB’s own page says its certification does not reflect effectiveness, and the ozone and ionizer guide explains how to look a model code up on that list.

How do the units compare on paper?

CADR figures are the AHAM directory’s except where marked. The pre-filter column is the maker’s own wording. Carbon reads “weight not printed” for every row because that is what the documents say.

ModelCADR smoke / dust / pollen (source)Pre-filter washable?Carbon stageFilter part (interval)ENERGY STAR
Levoit Vital 200S-P250 / 254 / 289 (AHAM)Yes, Levoit: traps hair and pet furActivated carbon layer, weight not printedVital 200S replacement filter, no part number (6 to 12 months)Not in dataset
Levoit Core P350 Pet Care140 / 145 / 165 (AHAM)No, manual: brush or vacuum, not waterARC-formula carbon, weight not printedCore 300 Series Original Filter (6 to 8 months)Not in dataset
Levoit Core 300-P143 single figure (Levoit page)Not statedNot described on the pageCore 300 Series Original Filter (6 to 8 months)Not in dataset
Winix 5510253 / 252 / 247 (AHAM)Yes, Winix: washable fine meshAOC carbon filter, not washable, weight not printedFilter Q 1712-0123-00 (HEPA about 12 months)Not in dataset
Winix 5500-2239 / 244 / 247 (AHAM)Pre-filter vacuumed, rinsed if soiledAOC carbon filter, washable every 3 months, weight not printedFilter H 116130 (HEPA about 12 months)Manual states it; not in dataset
Coway AP-1512HH233 / 246 / 240 (Coway page; no AHAM row)Yes, Coway: removable, washableDeodorization filter, weight not printedSet 3304899 (carbon 6 months, HEPA 1 year)Not in dataset
Blueair Blue Pure 211i Max435 / 453 / 450 (AHAM)Yes, Blueair: washable fabricParticle and Carbon filter, weight not printedF2MAX (up to 9 months)Yes, 259 kWh per year, Most Efficient
Honeywell HPA300300 / 320 / 300 (Honeywell page)No, Honeywell: washing ruins the filtersCarbon pre-filter A, replaced every 3 monthsHRF-R1/R2/R3 (12 months) plus HRF-AP1 (3 months)Honeywell states it; not in dataset; marked discontinued
Medify MA-25110 / 123 / 123 (AHAM)Not statedCarbon pellets, weight not printedMA-25 Filter Set, no part number (2,500 hours, 3 to 4 months)Not in dataset

The AHAM directory’s type column reads “Fan Filter with Ion Generator” for the Winix 5510, the 5500-2 and the Blueair 211i Max, and “Fan with Filter” for the other AHAM rows. The ENERGY STAR dataset lists the 211i Max as “Fan and Filter” at 2 ppb ozone, so the two certifiers disagree on the Blueair.

The filter-by-model parts page carries the part numbers above with the maker pages behind each, and the True HEPA guide explains why the AHAM directory types every Levoit here as HEPA-Type while Levoit prints True HEPA.

Levoit Vital 200S-P: buy it or skip it?

Buy it if the room is a living room up to 388 sq ft and the pre-filter will be rinsed every few weeks. The AHAM directory lists smoke CADR 250, dust 254 and pollen 289 and 52.4 smoke operating watts; Levoit’s page prints 388 sq ft at 4.8 ACH and a washable pre-filter that captures lint, fibers, hair and pet fur, and its filter page a main filter designed to last 6 to 12 months.

Check price on Amazon

The flaw is the carbon stage: Levoit describes an activated carbon layer and prints no weight, and the replacement filter has no part number, so it is bought by model name. The manual prints a single CADR of 245 against the directory’s 250. Skip it if the room is a bedroom under 220 sq ft: the Core P350 covers that for less.

Levoit Core P350 Pet Care: buy it or skip it?

Buy it if the budget is the smallest here and the room is a bedroom up to 217 sq ft. The AHAM directory lists smoke CADR 140, dust 145 and pollen 165; Levoit’s manual prints 45 W rated power, a fine non-woven pre-filter that captures lint, fibers, hair, pet fur and pet dander, and a carbon filter customised with the ARC formula for cooking smells and pet odors in a multi-pet household.

Check price on Amazon

The flaw is the pre-filter: the manual says clean it every 2 to 4 weeks with a soft brush or vacuum and do not clean it with water or other liquids, because moisture lets the filter grow mold. The filter is replaced every 6 to 8 months: Levoit’s filter page lists the Core 300 Series Original Filter for the Core 300-P, Core P350-P and Core 300-P-RAC. Skip it if the dog is large: the Core 300-P is the same filter at a Levoit- printed CADR of 143 with no pet carbon, and neither reaches the 200 a 300 sq ft room needs.

Winix 5510: buy it or skip it?

Buy it if the room runs to 392 sq ft, the pre-filter must be rinsed and the PlasmaWave stage will be switched off. The AHAM directory lists smoke CADR 253, dust 252 and pollen 247 and 65 W; Winix prints a washable fine mesh pre-filter, an AOC carbon filter, AHAM Verified 392 sq ft and a 2-year warranty, and its manual says the PlasmaWave button enables or disables PlasmaWave.

Check price on Amazon

The flaw is the carbon filter: the 5510 manual says the True HEPA and carbon filters can not be washed and the HEPA lasts about 12 months, so the odor stage is replaced as part of Filter Q, 1712-0123-00. The older 5500-2 kept a washable carbon filter rinsed every 3 months, per its manual, with AHAM smoke CADR 239. Skip the 5510 if a filtration-only type column is the requirement: the directory types it as Fan Filter with Ion Generator.

Coway Airmega Mighty AP-1512HH: buy it or skip it?

Buy it if the room is up to 361 sq ft and a washable pre-filter with a 6-month carbon filter is the spec. Coway’s page prints smoke CADR 233, dust 246 and pollen 240, 77 W, 361 sq ft at 4.8 ACH, a removable washable pre-filter, and four stages: pre-filter, deodorization filter, HEPA filter and bipolar device. Its filter page prints set 3304899, deodorization filter every 6 months and HEPA every year.

Check price on Amazon

The flaw is the paper trail: the AHAM directory returned no Coway row on 9 October 2026, the unit is not in the ENERGY STAR dataset, and Coway’s page does not say whether the bipolar device can be switched off. The CADR is the maker’s. Skip it if a certifier’s number is the reason to buy: the Winix 5510 has one at the same size.

Blueair Blue Pure 211i Max: buy it or skip it?

Buy it if the space is an open plan up to 674 sq ft (AHAM smoke CADR 435 x 1.55) with more than one pet. The AHAM directory lists smoke CADR 435, dust 453 and pollen 450 at 44 W; the ENERGY STAR dataset lists model 3613111100 at 687 sq ft, 259 kWh per year and Most Efficient; Blueair prints a washable fabric pre-filter and the F2MAX Particle and Carbon filter at up to 9 months.

Check price on Amazon

The flaw is the type column: AHAM types it Fan Filter with Ion Generator, ENERGY STAR types it Fan and Filter at 2 ppb ozone, and Blueair’s page says nothing about an ionizer. The warranty is 1 year, 3 on registration. The Amazon listing read as low stock on 9 October 2026, so the card may show none. Skip it in a bedroom: the Vital 200S-P covers 388 sq ft for less.

Medify MA-25: buy it or skip it?

Buy it if the room is a small bedroom up to 172 sq ft and a pellet carbon stage is wanted. The AHAM directory lists smoke CADR 110, dust 123 and pollen 123 at 26.2 W; Medify prints 172 sq ft at 4.8 ACH and an MA-25 Filter Set with a pre-filter that removes hair, fibers and dander and a carbon filter with carbon pellets.

Check price on Amazon

The flaw is the documentation: Medify does not say the pre-filter is washable, prints no part number, and its filter life of 2,500 hours (3 to 4 months) is the shortest here. Skip it above 172 sq ft: the Core P350 is the same size class with a 6 to 8 month filter.

Measure the room and the hair before you buy

Do not order any of these until the floor area is known. AHAM’s rule is a smoke CADR of at least two-thirds of the square feet, so a 300 sq ft living room needs 200, which rules out the Core P350, Core 300-P and MA-25 at 140, 143 and 110. Then decide whether the pre-filter will be rinsed or replaced; with a shedding dog, that is the maintenance that decides. Any discount shows on the cards, and the air purifier deal check explains how to read a sale against the CADR.

What goes wrong?

The pre-filter was rinsed when the manual said not to. The Core P350 manual says water or moisture lets mold grow on the filter, and Honeywell’s HPA300 page says washing the filters ruins them. Only the Vital 200S-P, 5510, AP-1512HH and 211i Max are printed washable.

The carbon was assumed. No maker prints grams, so the only comparable figure is the carbon part’s interval: 6 months for the Coway deodorization filter, 6 to 8 for the Core P350, 6 to 12 for the Vital 200S-P, about 12 for Filter Q, up to 9 for F2MAX. The running cost calculator turns that interval and the watts into a yearly figure.

The room was sized off the carton. Levoit’s 1862 sq ft for the Vital 200S-P and Coway’s 1,748 sq ft for the AP-1512HH are one-air-change figures; the 4.8 ACH numbers are 388 and 361. Above 674 sq ft, the large room review is the right page.

Frequently asked questions

Is the Levoit Core P350 Pet Care better for pets than the Core 300-P?

On paper they are the same fan. The AHAM directory lists the Core P350 at smoke CADR 140, dust 145 and pollen 165, and Levoit's page lists the Core 300-P at 143. Both take the Core 300 Series Original Filter every 6 to 8 months. The Pet Care carbon stage uses Levoit's ARC formula for pet odors; Levoit prints no carbon weight for either, so the difference cannot be sized.

Which pet purifiers have a pre-filter you can wash?

Levoit prints a washable pre-filter for the Vital 200S-P, Winix a washable fine mesh pre-filter for the 5510, Coway a removable washable pre-filter for the AP-1512HH and Blueair a washable fabric pre-filter for the 211i Max. The Levoit Core P350 manual says brush or vacuum, never water, and the Honeywell HPA300 carbon pre-filter is replaced every 3 months, not washed.

How much activated carbon is in a pet air purifier?

None of the six makers in this comparison prints a carbon weight. Levoit describes a custom ARC-formula carbon filter, Winix an AOC carbon filter, Coway a deodorization filter replaced every 6 months, Blueair a Particle and Carbon filter with a SmokeBlock option holding twice the carbon, and Medify carbon pellets. Compare the carbon part's interval and price instead, which the cards show.

Does PlasmaWave or a bipolar device matter for pet odor?

Neither is a carbon stage, and no maker here claims a CADR gain from it. The AHAM directory types the Winix 5510 and 5500-2 as Fan Filter with Ion Generator, and Winix's manual says the PlasmaWave button enables or disables it. Coway's page lists a bipolar device as the fourth stage of the AP-1512HH. CARB says certification does not reflect effectiveness.

What CADR does a room with pets need?

The same as any room: AHAM's rule is a smoke CADR of at least two-thirds of the floor area in square feet, so a 300 sq ft living room needs about 200, which the Vital 200S-P at 250 and the Winix 5510 at 253 both clear. Use the room size calculator for the exact figure, and size by the room, not by the number of pets.

Fact sheet and how to cite this page

Answer
For a home with pets the pick is the Levoit Vital 200S-P: AHAM smoke CADR 250, a washable pre-filter that Levoit says traps hair and pet fur, and a 6 to 12 month filter. The budget Levoit Core P350 Pet Care has AHAM smoke CADR 140 but a brush-only pre-filter, and the premium Blueair Blue Pure 211i Max has AHAM smoke CADR 435 with a washable fabric pre-filter. No maker here prints the carbon weight.
Comparison basis
AHAM Verifide directory smoke, dust and pollen CADR, type column and smoke operating watts; the ENERGY STAR Certified Room Air Cleaners dataset; maker manuals and product pages for the pre-filter and whether it may be washed, the carbon stage, the filter part number and interval, room size at 4.8 ACH and warranty, for nine units sold on Amazon US
Assumptions
  • Pet hair is caught by the pre-filter and odor by the carbon stage, so those two parts and the CADR are the specs that matter; no page here measured either
  • Room size is the AHAM 4.8 ACH figure the maker prints, or smoke CADR x 1.55 where it does not; the carton’s one-air-change figure is about five times larger
  • The AHAM directory and ENERGY STAR dataset were read on 2026-10-09 and change as makers certify new revisions; the model code on the carton must match the listed code
Method
OwnerSpec compared certifier listings and manufacturer-published specifications read on 2026-10-09 and confirmed each Amazon listing buyable the same day; it did not run, measure or test any air purifier, prints no health outcome, and reports only figures the cited document states.
Primary source
AHAM Verifide directory of room air cleaners (ahamdir.com, US market) (manufacturer or vendor document)
Facts verified
Last updated
Cite as
OwnerSpec, "Best air purifier for pet hair and odor: AHAM CADR, a washable pre-filter and the carbon stage sort nine units, and the word Pet on the box decides nothing", https://ownerspec.com/air/reviews/best-air-purifier-for-pet-hair-and-odor/, facts verified 9 October 2026.

Every figure above also appears, with its source, in the article. All sources ยท How OwnerSpec verifies numbers

Sources

  1. AHAM Verifide directory of room air cleaners (ahamdir.com, US market) (manufacturer or vendor document)
  2. ENERGY STAR Certified Room Air Cleaners V3.0 dataset (government or regulatory source)
  3. CARB: List of CARB-certified air cleaning devices (government or regulatory source)
  4. Levoit, Core P350 Pet Care True HEPA user manual (PDF) (manufacturer or vendor document)
  5. Levoit, Core P350-P Pet Care air purifier (manufacturer or vendor document)
  6. Levoit, Core 300-P air purifier (manufacturer or vendor document)
  7. Levoit, Core 300 Series Original Filter (manufacturer or vendor document)
  8. Levoit, Vital 200S-P smart air purifier (manufacturer or vendor document)
  9. Levoit, Vital 200S-P replacement filter (manufacturer or vendor document)
  10. Levoit, Vital 200S user manual (PDF) (manufacturer or vendor document)
  11. Winix America, 5510 product page (manufacturer or vendor document)
  12. Winix America, 5510/5520 user manual (PDF) (manufacturer or vendor document)
  13. Winix America, 5500-2 user manual (PDF) (manufacturer or vendor document)
  14. Coway, Airmega Mighty AP-1512HH (manufacturer or vendor document)
  15. Coway, Airmega AP-1512HH and 200M filter set (manufacturer or vendor document)
  16. Blueair, Blue Pure 211i Max (manufacturer or vendor document)
  17. Blueair, Blue Pure 211i Max F2MAX replacement filter (manufacturer or vendor document)
  18. Honeywell Store, HPA300 (manufacturer or vendor document)
  19. Medify Air, MA-25 air purifier (manufacturer or vendor document)
  20. Medify Air, MA-25 replacement filter set (manufacturer or vendor document)