Best air quality monitor for PM2.5 and CO2: the maker spec sheets sort six units by sensor type, range and power, and the word NDIR decides before any of them
Maker specs compared: Aranet4 NDIR CO2 0-9999 ppm, 4-year battery; Airthings View Plus adds laser PM2.5 0-1000 ug/m3 and radon 0-500 pCi/L; Temtop exports CSV.
- Verified
- Updated
- 12 min read
- 11 sources

Shop links on this page are affiliate links: a purchase may earn us a commission at no extra cost to you. Disclosure
OwnerSpec compares published manufacturer specifications, certification listings and sourced technical documents. Unless a page explicitly states otherwise, OwnerSpec has not laboratory-tested or used the products it compares. Editorial policy
Short answer
For a measured CO2 number the pick is the Aranet4 HOME: Aranet’s page prints a true NDIR sensor, 0 to 9999 ppm, accuracy of +/-(30 ppm + 3% of reading), an E-Ink display and up to 4 years on batteries. For one device that also reads PM2.5, radon and VOC, buy the Airthings View Plus: NDIR CO2 400 to 5000 ppm, a laser particle counter reading PM2.5 from 0 to 1000 ug/m3, radon 0 to 500 pCi/L, and six AA batteries for up to 2 years or USB-C. The runner-up for PM2.5 plus CO2 on a colour screen with CSV export is the Temtop M2000C 2nd. Skip any monitor whose maker does not print NDIR for CO2: Sensirion’s SGP30 datasheet says its CO2eq figure is calculated from ethanol and hydrogen signals, not measured. Skip the Amazon Smart Air Quality Monitor if you want CO2: Amazon lists five factors and CO2 is not one. Read PM2.5 against EPA’s 2024 AQI, where Good is 0.0 to 9.0 ug/m3.
The picks
Wants a measured CO2 number on a display, no app required
Aranet4 HOME
Aranet page: true NDIR CO2 0 to 9999 ppm, accuracy +/-(30 ppm + 3% of reading), E-Ink display, up to 4 years on batteries, Bluetooth app for history and alerts, temperature 0 to 50 C at +/-0.3 C, humidity and pressure; no PM2.5, VOC or radon sensor
Wants radon, PM2.5, CO2 and VOC in one device with a screen
Airthings View Plus
Airthings page: 7 sensors; NDIR CO2 400 to 5000 ppm at +/-50 ppm +/-3%; laser particle counter, PM2.5 0 to 1000 ug/m3, +/-(5 ug/m3 + 15%) under 150 ug/m3; radon 0 to 500 pCi/L by passive diffusion chamber; 6 AA batteries up to 2 years or USB-C; 2.9 in ePaper; Wi-Fi 2.4 GHz and Bluetooth; Alexa, Google Assistant, IFTTT, Homey; 5-year warranty on registration
Wants radon plus NDIR CO2 and TVOC, no PM2.5, no screen
Airthings Wave Plus
Airthings page: radon, NDIR CO2 400 to 5000 ppm, TVOC, temperature, humidity, pressure; no PM2.5 sensor; colour glow ring instead of a display; 2 AA batteries for 16 to 18 months; Bluetooth and Airthings SmartLink
Wants PM2.5 and NDIR CO2 on a colour screen with CSV export
Temtop M2000C 2nd
Temtop page: NDIR CO2 0 to 5000 ppm, 1 ppm resolution, +/-(50 ppm + 5% of reading); laser PM2.5 and PM10 0 to 999 ug/m3 at 0.1 ug/m3, PM2.5 accuracy +/-10 ug/m3 to 100 and +/-10% from 100 to 500; 3000 mAh battery for 6 to 8 hours; TFT colour screen; CSV export over USB, 70,000 data sets; buzzer alert; 1-year warranty; no formaldehyde sensor
Alexa household that wants PM2.5 and VOC trends and does not need CO2
Amazon Smart Air Quality Monitor
Amazon device documentation: measures temperature, humidity, particulate matter, VOCs and carbon monoxide; no CO2; not certified as a CO alarm; model P3A7EN; 5 V 1 A plug-in adapter; rated 0 to 35 C; readings in the Alexa app; sensor ranges not printed on the opened pages
Wants a 4 in bedside screen with CO2, PM2.5 and PM10 over USB-C
Qingping Air Quality Monitor Gen 2
Qingping shop page: CO2 400 to 9999 ppm, PM2.5 and PM10 0 to 999 ug/m3, eTVOC index 0 to 500, 1800 mAh battery, USB-C, 4 in 720 x 720 screen, 30 days of history in the Qingping+ app; the page does not state whether the CO2 sensor is NDIR and prints no CO2 or PM accuracy
If the question is whether to buy an air purifier, do not start here: the CADR room-size calculator sizes one from the room alone, and a monitor only tells you afterwards whether it worked.
How was this shortlist built?
OwnerSpec compared six units sold on Amazon US, plus one spec reference, on the figures their makers publish, read on 3 October 2026. Nothing was run, calibrated or compared against a reference instrument; this is a spec comparison.
| Published figure | Why it matters | Where it was read |
|---|---|---|
| CO2 sensor type | NDIR measures CO2; eCO2 estimates it from a VOC signal | Maker page, Sensirion SGP30 datasheet |
| CO2 and PM2.5 range and accuracy | Sets what the number on the screen can mean | Maker page |
| Radon, VOC, humidity, temperature | Decides whether one device covers the house or three do | Maker page |
| Display, power, export, smart home | Decides where it lives and whether the data leaves it | Maker page, Amazon device documentation |
The Awair Element appears in the table as a spec reference only: Awair’s page prints its figures, but no in-stock Amazon listing was found this session. IQAir AirVisual Pro, uHoo and Kaiterra were not shortlisted: no maker spec page was opened.
Why does NDIR versus eCO2 decide the shortlist?
NDIR, non-dispersive infrared, is a sensor that measures carbon dioxide by how much infrared light the gas absorbs. eCO2, also written CO2eq, is a number a VOC sensor derives instead.
The Sensirion SGP30 datasheet, for a gas sensor used in consumer monitors, puts it plainly: its TVOC and CO2eq signals “are calculated from Ethanol and H2 measurements using internal conversion and baseline compensation algorithms”. Its CO2eq output runs 400 to 60000 ppm.
Aranet’s page draws the same line: “unlike estimated eCO2 devices, NDIR sensors detect actual CO2 molecules”. Aranet, Airthings and Temtop print NDIR for their CO2 sensor. Qingping’s Gen 2 page and Awair’s Element page print a CO2 range but not the sensor type, and Amazon’s monitor has no CO2 reading, so none of those three qualifies as a measured-CO2 pick here.
How do the units compare on paper?
Every figure is the maker’s printed specification. “Not printed” means the opened page did not state it, not that the unit lacks it.
| Model | CO2 | PM2.5 | Radon | VOC | Display | Power | Export, smart home |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Aranet4 HOME | NDIR, 0 to 9999 ppm, +/-(30 ppm + 3%) | None | None | None | E-Ink | Batteries, up to 4 years | App sharing; Bluetooth |
| Airthings View Plus | NDIR, 400 to 5000 ppm, +/-50 ppm +/-3% | Laser, 0 to 1000 ug/m3 | 0 to 500 pCi/L | Yes | 2.9 in ePaper | 6 AA up to 2 years, or USB-C | No CSV printed; Wi-Fi, Alexa, Google, IFTTT, Homey |
| Airthings Wave Plus | NDIR, 400 to 5000 ppm | None | Yes | TVOC | Glow ring only | 2 AA, 16 to 18 months | Bluetooth, SmartLink |
| Temtop M2000C 2nd | NDIR, 0 to 5000 ppm, +/-(50 ppm + 5%) | Laser, 0 to 999 ug/m3, 0.1 ug/m3 steps | None | None | TFT colour | 3000 mAh, 6 to 8 hours | CSV over USB, 70,000 data sets |
| Awair Element (spec reference) | Type not printed, 400 to 5,000 ppm, +/-75 ppm or 10% | 0 to 1,000 ug/m3, +/-15 ug/m3 or 15% | None | 0 to 60,000 ppb | On-board | 5 V 2.0 A adapter | IFTTT, Google Assistant, Alexa |
| Qingping Gen 2 | Type not printed, 400 to 9999 ppm | 0 to 999 ug/m3, plus PM10 | None | eTVOC index 0 to 500 | 4 in, 720 x 720 | 1800 mAh, USB-C | 30 days in Qingping+ app |
| Amazon Smart Air Quality Monitor | None | Yes, range not printed | None | Yes | None (Alexa app) | 5 V 1 A adapter | Alexa only |
Aranet4 HOME: buy it or skip it?
Buy it if the question is “is this room stuffy” and you want the answer on a display without a phone. Aranet prints a true NDIR CO2 sensor spanning 0 to 9999 ppm at +/-(30 ppm + 3% of reading), an E-Ink screen, and up to 4 years on batteries. Temperature reads 0 to 50 C at +/-0.3 C, with humidity and pressure alongside.
The flaw is everything it does not measure: no PM2.5, no VOC, no radon. Its Bluetooth app syncs history, alerts and sharing, but Aranet’s page prints no stored-history figure. Skip it if particles are the reason you are shopping; the View Plus or Temtop covers that.
Airthings View Plus: buy it or skip it?
Buy it if one device has to cover radon, particles and ventilation. Airthings prints seven sensors: NDIR CO2 400 to 5000 ppm at +/-50 ppm +/-3% between 10 and 35 C; a laser-scattering particle counter from 300 nm to 10 um with PM2.5 reading 0 to 1000 ug/m3 and an error of +/-(5 ug/m3 + 15%) below 150 ug/m3; radon 0 to 500 pCi/L by passive diffusion chamber and alpha spectrometry; plus VOC, humidity, temperature and pressure.
Power is six AA batteries for up to 2 years or USB-C, the screen is 2.9 in ePaper, and it links by 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi and Bluetooth to Alexa, Google Assistant, IFTTT and Homey. Airthings offers a 5-year warranty on registration within 30 days.
The flaw is the radon clock: Airthings prints about 10 percent accuracy after 7 days and 5 percent after 2 months at 5.4 pCi/L, so the first week’s radon figure is a rough one. The page prints no CSV export and no web dashboard, so data export is unconfirmed. Skip it if you only want CO2: the Aranet4 does that one job without Wi-Fi.
Airthings Wave Plus: buy it or skip it?
Buy the Wave Plus if radon and NDIR CO2 matter and PM2.5 does not. Airthings prints radon, NDIR CO2 400 to 5000 ppm, TVOC, temperature, humidity and pressure, 2 AA batteries for 16 to 18 months, Bluetooth and Airthings SmartLink.
The flaw is the read-out: there is no screen, only a red, yellow or green glow ring when you wave at it, so every number lives in the app. There is no PM2.5 sensor, and its page prints the CO2 sensor at +/-30 ppm +/-3%. Skip it if particles are on the list, or if you want a number without a phone.
Temtop M2000C 2nd: buy it or skip it?
Buy it if you want particles and CO2 on one colour screen and the data in a spreadsheet. Temtop prints an NDIR CO2 sensor from 0 to 5000 ppm at 1 ppm resolution and +/-(50 ppm + 5% of reading); a laser PM2.5 and PM10 sensor from 0 to 999 ug/m3 in 0.1 ug/m3 steps, with PM2.5 accuracy of +/-10 ug/m3 up to 100 and +/-10% from 100 to 500; a buzzer alert; and CSV export over a USB cable from 70,000 stored data sets.
The flaw is the battery: Temtop rates its 3000 mAh cell at 6 to 8 hours, so it is a plugged-in desk unit, not a set-and-forget one. The warranty is 1 year against Airthings’ 5, it has no formaldehyde sensor, and the page does not state whether the USB port is USB-C. Skip it if it has to run on a shelf unplugged.
Amazon Smart Air Quality Monitor and Qingping Gen 2: buy them or skip them?
Buy the Amazon Smart Air Quality Monitor only if the house already runs on Alexa and CO2 is not wanted. Amazon’s device documentation lists five factors: temperature, humidity, particulate matter, VOCs and carbon monoxide. It is a 5 V 1 A plug-in unit rated for 0 to 35 C, with scores and trends in the Alexa app.
The flaw is twofold. Amazon’s own page states it “is not a substitute for a carbon monoxide alarm, and is not certified as a CO alarm or CO detector”: a listed CO alarm is a separate purchase, compared on the carbon monoxide detector page. And Amazon’s documentation prints no sensor ranges at all.
Buy the Qingping Gen 2 if a 4 in bedside screen with a clock is the point. Qingping prints CO2 400 to 9999 ppm, PM2.5 and PM10 0 to 999 ug/m3, an eTVOC index of 0 to 500, a 1800 mAh battery, USB-C and 30 days of history in the Qingping+ app.
The flaw is the missing word: Qingping’s Gen 2 page does not say whether the CO2 sensor is NDIR, and prints no CO2 or PM2.5 accuracy. A brochure for the older model names an NDIR sensor, but that is a different product, so this page does not carry it over. Skip it if a measured CO2 figure is the reason to buy.
Decide what the number is for before you buy
Do not order a seven-sensor unit to answer a one-sensor question. If the room feels stuffy, the Aranet4’s NDIR CO2 reading answers it. If the house has a basement and no radon test, the View Plus is the only unit here that adds radon to PM2.5. If a purifier is already running, the bedroom and living room purifier comparison is where the PM2.5 reading should fall. Prices and any discount show on the cards above.
What does the PM2.5 number on the screen mean?
PM2.5 is particulate matter 2.5 micrometres across or smaller, reported in micrograms per cubic metre (ug/m3). EPA’s Air Quality Index turns a 24-hour PM2.5 average into six named categories, and EPA’s February 2024 fact sheet, effective 6 May 2024, lowered the top of Good from 12.0 to 9.0 ug/m3.
| AQI category (AirNow) | AQI range | 24-hour PM2.5, ug/m3 (EPA 2024) |
|---|---|---|
| Good | 0 to 50 | 0.0 to 9.0 |
| Moderate | 51 to 100 | 9.1 to 35.4 |
| Unhealthy for Sensitive Groups | 101 to 150 | 35.5 to 55.4 |
| Unhealthy | 151 to 200 | 55.5 to 125.4 |
| Very Unhealthy | 201 to 300 | 125.5 to 225.4 |
| Hazardous | 301 and above | 225.5 and above |
A monitor prints a live figure and the AQI is a 24-hour average, so one spike while cooking is not a category. The PM2.5 reading guide walks through a day’s readings. No maker here prints agreement with an EPA reference instrument.
What goes wrong?
The CO2 number was an estimate. A monitor that prints eCO2 or CO2eq is reporting a VOC-derived figure, per the Sensirion datasheet. Opening a window to chase it may be chasing a cleaning spray.
The radon figure was read in week one. Airthings prints about 10 percent accuracy after 7 days; a basement decision waits 2 months for the 5 percent figure. Radon-only detectors are compared on their own page.
The Amazon monitor was treated as a CO alarm. Amazon’s own documentation says it is not certified as one. Keep the listed alarm on the wall.
Frequently asked questions
What is the difference between NDIR CO2 and eCO2 on an air quality monitor?
NDIR (non-dispersive infrared) measures carbon dioxide molecules by the infrared light they absorb. eCO2 or CO2eq is an estimate: the Sensirion SGP30 datasheet states its CO2eq signal is calculated from ethanol and hydrogen measurements with a baseline algorithm. Aranet, Airthings and Temtop print NDIR for their CO2 sensors; Awair's and Qingping's Gen 2 pages do not state the sensor type.
Does the Amazon Smart Air Quality Monitor measure CO2?
No. Amazon's own device page lists five factors: temperature, humidity, particulate matter, volatile organic compounds and carbon monoxide. Carbon dioxide is not among them. The same page states the device is not a substitute for a carbon monoxide alarm and is not certified as a CO alarm or CO detector, so it does not replace one of those either.
Which air quality monitor also measures radon?
Of the units on this page, the Airthings View Plus and the Airthings Wave Plus. Airthings prints a radon range of 0 to 500 pCi/L for the View Plus using a passive diffusion chamber with alpha spectrometry, with accuracy improving from about 10 percent after 7 days to 5 percent after 2 months. The Aranet4, Temtop M2000C, Qingping and Amazon monitors have no radon sensor.
What PM2.5 reading counts as Good on the AQI?
EPA's 2024 update to the Air Quality Index, effective 6 May 2024, sets the Good category at a 24-hour PM2.5 concentration of 0.0 to 9.0 micrograms per cubic metre, down from 12.0 before the change. Moderate runs from 9.1 to 35.4. A monitor prints a live number, while the AQI breakpoints are 24-hour averages, so compare a day's trend rather than one spike.
Which of these monitors can export its data?
Temtop prints CSV export over a USB cable for the M2000C 2nd, holding 70,000 data sets on the device. Aranet's page describes sharing history through the app's Sharing icon. Qingping's page gives 30 days of history in the Qingping+ app. Airthings' View Plus page lists Wi-Fi, Bluetooth and smart-home links but no CSV export, so that is a gap, not a no.
Fact sheet and how to cite this page
- Answer
- For a measured CO2 number the pick is the Aranet4 HOME: NDIR sensor, 0 to 9999 ppm, +/-(30 ppm + 3% of reading), up to 4 years on batteries. For PM2.5, CO2, VOC and radon in one unit the pick is the Airthings View Plus: NDIR CO2 400 to 5000 ppm, laser PM2.5 0 to 1000 ug/m3, radon 0 to 500 pCi/L. The Temtop M2000C 2nd adds CSV export of 70,000 data sets.
- Comparison basis
- Manufacturer product pages for the Aranet4 HOME, Airthings View Plus and Wave Plus, Temtop M2000C 2nd, Awair Element and Qingping Air Monitor 2, Amazon’s device documentation for the Smart Air Quality Monitor, and the Sensirion SGP30 datasheet, compared on CO2 sensor type (NDIR or estimated), CO2 range and accuracy, PM2.5 range and accuracy, radon, VOC, display, power and data export; EPA’s 2024 PM2.5 AQI breakpoints as the scale for reading the number.
- Assumptions
- The reader wants an indoor reading for one room; none of these units is an EPA reference instrument and this page makes no claim about agreement with one
- A CO2 figure a maker labels eCO2 or CO2eq is an estimate from a VOC sensor, per the Sensirion SGP30 datasheet; only a sensor the maker names NDIR is counted as measured CO2
- Maker pages and Amazon stock were read on 2026-10-03; ranges, accuracies and warranty terms change with firmware and model revisions
- Method
- OwnerSpec compared manufacturer-published specifications and Amazon’s own device documentation read on 2026-10-03 and confirmed each listing in stock the same day; it did not run, calibrate or test any monitor, prints no health outcome, and reports only figures the cited document states.
- Primary source
- Aranet4 HOME product page (manufacturer or vendor document)
- Facts verified
- Last updated
- Cite as
- OwnerSpec, "Best air quality monitor for PM2.5 and CO2: the maker spec sheets sort six units by sensor type, range and power, and the word NDIR decides before any of them", https://ownerspec.com/air/reviews/best-air-quality-monitor-pm25-co2/, facts verified 3 October 2026.
Every figure above also appears, with its source, in the article. All sources ยท How OwnerSpec verifies numbers
Sources
- Aranet4 HOME product page (manufacturer or vendor document)
- Airthings View Plus product page (manufacturer or vendor document)
- Airthings Wave Plus product page (manufacturer or vendor document)
- Temtop M2000C 2nd product page (manufacturer or vendor document)
- Awair Element product page (manufacturer or vendor document)
- Qingping Air Monitor 2 product page (manufacturer or vendor document)
- Amazon: Using Your Amazon Smart Air Quality Monitor (retailer listing or retailer-hosted document)
- Amazon: Safety and Compliance Information for Smart Air Quality Monitor (retailer listing or retailer-hosted document)
- Sensirion SGP30 multi-pixel gas sensor datasheet (manufacturer or vendor document)
- EPA: Final Updates to the Air Quality Index for Particulate Matter, fact sheet (February 2024) (government or regulatory source)
- AirNow: AQI Basics (government or regulatory source)