Best water pressure regulator (PRV) and test gauge: Watts, Zurn Wilkins and Resideo compared on the specs their own sheets print
Watts LF25AUB-Z3, Watts LFN45B, Zurn Wilkins NR3XL and 70XL and Resideo DS06 compared on adjustable range, factory setting, max inlet, bypass and ASSE 1003.
- Verified
- Updated
- 11 min read
- 7 sources

Shop links on this page are affiliate links: a purchase may earn us a commission at no extra cost to you. Disclosure
OwnerSpec compares published manufacturer specifications, certification listings and sourced technical documents. Unless a page explicitly states otherwise, OwnerSpec has not laboratory-tested or used the products it compares. Editorial policy
Short answer
The Watts LF25AUB-Z3 is the pick for a 3/4 inch or 1 inch residential water service. Its Watts specification sheet gives an adjustable range of 25 to 75 psi, a standard setting of 50 psi, suitability for supply pressure up to 300 psi, listing to ASSE 1003 and IAPMO, certification to CSA B356, an integral stainless steel strainer, a built-in bypass for thermal expansion, and a replaceable seat module that Watts says is serviced without removing the valve from the line. The Zurn Wilkins NR3XL is the runner-up: Zurn’s sheet gives it a wider 15 to 75 psi range, a 400 psi maximum working pressure and a 20 mesh strainer, at the cost of an acetal cartridge instead of the Watts seat module. Skip every valve here if a hose-bib gauge reads under 80 psi static, the ceiling in the model plumbing codes, and know that fitting one makes the plumbing a closed system that then needs thermal expansion control.
The picks
The pick for a 3/4 inch service, serviced in the line
Watts LF25AUB-Z3, 3/4 in NPT
25 to 75 psi adjustable, 50 psi standard setting, supply pressure up to 300 psi, ASSE 1003 and IAPMO listed, CSA B356 certified, integral stainless strainer, thermal expansion bypass, replaceable seat module
Same Watts range for a 1 inch service or a main over 300 psi
Watts LFN45B, 1 in NPT union inlet
25 to 75 psi adjustable, 50 psi standard setting, supply pressure up to 400 psi, ASSE 1003 and IAPMO listed, CSA B356 certified, NSF certified to ANSI/NSF 61 Annex G, integral stainless strainer, thermal expansion bypass
Runner-up: lowest adjustable floor and the 400 psi rating
Zurn Wilkins 34-NR3XLDU, 3/4 in double union
15 to 75 psi adjustable on 1/2 to 1 1/4 in sizes, 50 psi factory preset, 400 psi maximum working pressure, ASSE 1003 listed, meets NSF/ANSI/CAN 61, acetal cartridge, integral bypass, 20 mesh strainer, double union FNPT
The cast bronze body and the unitized cartridge
Zurn Wilkins 34-70XL, 3/4 in single union
25 to 75 psi adjustable, 50 psi factory preset, 300 psi maximum working pressure, 140 F maximum, ASSE 1003 listed, meets NSF/ANSI/CAN 61 and 372, unitized replaceable cartridge, integral bypass, 20 mesh strainer
The overnight reading that decides whether any valve is needed
CARBO Instruments 2-1/2 in test gauge, 0-200 psi, red max pointer
0-200 psi dial, red max pointer that parks at the peak, 3/4 in female hose thread, brass connector
A static reading only, no peak needle
MEASUREMAN 2-1/2 in hose-bib gauge, 0-200 psi
0-200 psi dial, 3/4 in hose thread, no max pointer
If no gauge on an outside spigot has yet read over 80 psi, this page is premature: start with high water pressure: when 80 psi needs a PRV.
How was this shortlist built?
Every figure here is a manufacturer’s published specification, read on 2026-09-24 from the sheet named beside it: Watts ES-LF25AUB and ES-LFN45B, Zurn Wilkins REG-70XL and REG-NR3XL, and Resideo submittal 33-00063. Nothing was installed or pressure-tested by this site.
The valves were compared on eight specs: adjustable range, factory setting, maximum supply pressure, sizes, ASSE 1003 listing, lead-free statement, integral thermal expansion bypass, and serviceability. The limit behind them is the 80 psi static ceiling in Section P2903.3.1 of the 2018 International Residential Code as Denver adopts it, which requires a valve conforming to ASSE 1003 or CSA B356 where the main exceeds it. Codes are adopted and amended locally and section numbers differ between editions, so the local authority has the final word.
A pressure-reducing valve, or PRV, is a spring-loaded diaphragm valve that holds outlet pressure at a set point whatever the main does. Every linked valve was in stock on 2026-09-24. The Resideo DS06 is in the table because its sheet is current, but the only listings found were marked scarce, so it carries no link.
How do the valves compare on paper?
Manufacturer figures. “Not stated” means the cited sheet prints no such feature.
| Valve | Sizes | Adjustable range | Factory setting | Max supply pressure | Listings printed by the maker | Lead-free statement | Thermal expansion bypass | Serviceability |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Watts LF25AUB-Z3 | 1/2 to 2 in | 25 to 75 psi | 50 psi | 300 psi | ASSE 1003, ANSI A112.26.2, CSA B356, IAPMO | Lead Free, under 0.25 percent lead by weight | Built in; will not stop the relief valve opening above 150 psi | Replaceable seat module; all parts serviced in the line |
| Watts LFN45B | 1/2 to 1 in | 25 to 75 psi | 50 psi | 400 psi | ASSE 1003, ANSI A112.26.2, CSA B356, NSF to ANSI/NSF 61 Annex G, IAPMO, City of Los Angeles | Lead Free, under 0.25 percent lead by weight | Built in; same 150 psi note | Thermoplastic seat; serviced in the line |
| Zurn Wilkins NR3XL | 1/2 to 2 in | 15 to 75 psi (1/2 to 1 1/4 in); 25 to 75 psi (1 1/2 and 2 in) | 50 psi | 400 psi (1/2 to 1 1/4 in); 300 psi (1 1/2 and 2 in) | ASSE 1003, IAPMO, CSA; meets NSF/ANSI/CAN 61 | Low lead cast bronze body, under 0.25 percent weighted average lead content | Integral by-pass check valve | Acetal cartridge; repair kit listed |
| Zurn Wilkins 70XL | 3/4 and 1 in | 25 to 75 psi | 50 psi | 300 psi | ASSE 1003, IAPMO, CSA; meets NSF/ANSI/CAN 61 and 372 | Lead-free, cast bronze body | Integral bypass | Unitized replaceable cartridge; repair kit RK34-70XL |
| Resideo DS06 DialSet (no in-stock listing found) | 1/2 to 2 in | 25 to 90 psi | 60 psi | 250 psi inlet | ASSE 1003-2020, CSA B356, IAPMO/UPC; NSF/ANSI 61/372 compliant | Under 0.08 percent lead | Not stated; sheet says to use expansion tanks and safety valves where applicable | Dial set, plus or minus 4 psi; cartridge |
Two things the table settles. The Resideo DS06 range of 25 to 90 psi tops out above the 80 psi code ceiling, so a dial turned to maximum is a valve set over the limit. And only the Zurn NR3XL reaches down to 15 psi, which matters for an irrigation branch, not a whole house.
Watts LF25AUB-Z3: buy it or skip it?
Buy it if the service is 3/4 inch or 1 inch, the main reads under 300 psi, and you want a valve serviced without cutting it out. Watts’ ES-LF25AUB sheet gives 25 to 75 psi adjustable, a 50 psi standard setting, a 33 to 180 F temperature range, listing to ASSE 1003 and IAPMO, certification to CSA B356, and an integral stainless steel strainer.
The service argument is the seat module. Watts states all parts are serviceable without removing the valve from the line, and lists the seat as a replaceable engineered polymer module on 1/2 to 1 inch sizes and stainless steel on 1 1/4 to 2 inch. A fouled valve gets a module, not a replacement.
Admit the flaw: the linked unit is the single-union NPT body; Watts also sells it as a double union (suffix DU), the version to ask for if it will ever be swapped again. And the Watts sheet states the bypass “will not prevent the pressure relief valve from opening on the hot water supply system with pressure above 150 psi”, which is why the thermal expansion tank guide comes next.
Skip it if the main reads over 300 psi, or if you want an NSF 61 mark on the sheet: the ES-LF25AUB sheet lists ASSE, ANSI, CSA and IAPMO and no NSF 61 line.
Watts LFN45B: buy it or skip it?
Buy it if the service is 1 inch, or the main runs higher than the LF25AUB-Z3’s 300 psi. Watts’ ES-LFN45B sheet gives supply pressure up to 400 psi, the same 25 to 75 psi range and 50 psi standard setting, an integral stainless steel strainer, a sealed spring cage for outdoor installation, and certification by NSF to ANSI/NSF Standard 61 Annex G alongside ASSE 1003, CSA B356 and IAPMO listing. The linked listing is the 1 inch NPT union inlet.
The flaw is what you give up against the LF25AUB-Z3: the LFN45B sheet describes a thermoplastic seat and cage rather than a replaceable seat module, and sizes stop at 1 inch. The same sheet still says all parts are serviceable “without removing the valve from the line”, but the seat is not the modular part the LF25AUB-Z3 carries.
Skip it if the service is 1 1/4 inch or larger, because Watts does not make it in that size.
Zurn Wilkins NR3XL: buy it or skip it?
Buy it for the lowest adjustable floor and the highest rating in a residential size. Zurn’s REG-NR3XL sheet gives 15 to 75 psi and 400 psi maximum working pressure on 1/2 to 1 1/4 inch sizes, a 50 psi factory preset, 140 F maximum, ASSE 1003 listing, IAPMO listing, CSA certification, and NSF/ANSI/CAN 61. The linked listing is the 3/4 inch double union FNPT body, which comes out of the line without cutting pipe.
The flaw is the cartridge material. Zurn lists the NR3XL cartridge as Delrin, an acetal plastic, where the 70XL sheet lists a 300 series stainless steel seat, stem and sleeve. Zurn lists a repair kit for it, so a fouled NR3XL is cleaned or re-cartridged rather than replaced, but the part is plastic.
Skip it if the service is 1 1/2 inch or 2 inch: on those sizes Zurn’s ratings fall to 25 to 75 psi and 300 psi, which is the same as the cheaper valves.
Zurn Wilkins 70XL: buy it or skip it?
Buy it if you want the bronze body and the unitized cartridge on a 3/4 inch or 1 inch service, the only sizes Zurn’s REG-70XL sheet lists. The sheet gives 25 to 75 psi adjustable, a 50 psi factory preset, 300 psi maximum working pressure, 140 F maximum, a 20 mesh strainer screen, ASSE 1003 listing, IAPMO listing, CSA certification, and NSF/ANSI/CAN 61 and 372, with an ASTM B584 cast bronze body and bell.
The flaw is the range: the 70XL gives up the NR3XL’s 15 psi floor and 400 psi rating, and it is a single union body as linked. Where the reduction is more than a 3 to 1 ratio, or inlet pressure is above 150 psi, Zurn’s IS70XL instructions recommend multiple regulators in series.
Skip it if the service is anything other than 3/4 or 1 inch.
Which test gauge: buy it or skip it?
Buy the CARBO Instruments gauge if you have not measured yet. Its listing states a 2-1/2 inch 0-200 psi dial, a red max pointer and a 3/4 inch female hose thread. The pointer parks at the highest pressure seen, so a night on the spigot records the utility peak.
Buy the MEASUREMAN gauge only for a static reading while you stand there. Its listing states the same 2-1/2 inch 0-200 psi dial and 3/4 inch hose thread and no max pointer, so it cannot catch a peak unattended.
The gauge has a second job after the valve goes in. Zurn’s IS70XL instructions require a downstream gauge whenever a valve is adjusted, and its annual test is the same hose-bib gauge: close the inside fixture, record the static reading, watch for 10 minutes. Steady passes; creep means a fouled valve.
Skip both if the regulator already carries a gauge (Watts suffix GG, Zurn suffix G).
Do not buy a valve before two readings
Two gauge numbers decide this page. The static reading with every fixture closed decides whether a valve is needed: under 80 psi, the model codes require none. The overnight max-pointer peak decides which valve: over 300 psi rules out the Watts LF25AUB-Z3 and the Zurn 70XL and leaves the Watts LFN45B and Zurn NR3XL at 400 psi.
What goes wrong?
No expansion control. A PRV turns the house into a closed system, and Section P2903.4.1 of the 2018 IRC as Denver adopts it requires a device for controlling pressure where thermal expansion lifts the downstream side above the valve setting on services up to 2 inches. Watts prints that its bypass will not keep the relief valve shut above 150 psi, and Resideo’s sheet says to use expansion tanks and safety valves where applicable. Size one with the expansion tank calculator.
Set by feel. The Resideo DS06 dial is calibrated to plus or minus 4 psi by Resideo’s own sheet, and the Watts and Zurn valves have no dial at all. Zurn requires a downstream gauge for every adjustment. A valve turned up until the shower feels right is a valve set at an unknown number.
Fitted without the trade. Zurn’s 70XL instructions state the valve should be installed by a qualified licensed plumber, Watts’ LFN45B sheet says to inquire with governing authorities for local installation requirements, and Zurn’s sheets say local codes govern installation. Where your jurisdiction classes the water service as permitted work, the permit is part of the job; the gauge is the only item here that needs no permission.
Never inspected. Zurn calls for inspection at least once a year: an outlet pressure that climbs to supply pressure means a fouled, damaged or defective valve to repair or replace.
Frequently asked questions
What pressure should a residential PRV be set to?
Below the 80 psi static ceiling that the model plumbing codes set, and most makers ship well under it. Watts sets the LF25AUB-Z3 and LFN45B to 50 psi, Zurn Wilkins presets the NR3XL and 70XL to 50 psi, and Resideo sets the DS06 to 60 psi. Adjust only with a gauge on the downstream side, which Zurn's instructions require.
Do I need an expansion tank if I install a pressure reducing valve?
Usually, yes. Denver's adopted 2018 International Residential Code, Section P2903.4.1, requires a device for controlling pressure where thermal expansion pushes the downstream side above the valve setting on services up to 2 inches, and other adoptions carry the same rule. The Watts and Zurn bypasses relieve back into the main, and Watts states its bypass will not stop the relief valve opening above 150 psi.
Can I install a water pressure regulator myself?
Check your local code first. Zurn Wilkins' 70XL installation instructions state the valve should be installed by a qualified licensed plumber, and Watts' LFN45B sheet says to ask the governing authority for local installation requirements. Many jurisdictions treat work on the water service as permitted work. A hose-bib gauge, by contrast, screws onto a spigot and needs nobody.
What is the difference between the Zurn Wilkins NR3XL and the 70XL?
Range, rating and material. Zurn's sheets give the NR3XL a 15 to 75 psi range and a 400 psi maximum on 1/2 to 1 1/4 inch sizes with an acetal cartridge; the 70XL covers 3/4 and 1 inch only, 25 to 75 psi, 300 psi maximum, with a cast bronze body and a unitized cartridge. Both are ASSE 1003 listed with a 20 mesh strainer.
How often should a pressure reducing valve be inspected?
At least once a year. Zurn Wilkins' 70XL instructions require periodic inspection and maintenance at least once per year or more as service conditions warrant. The test is a hose-bib gauge downstream: close the fixture, record the static reading, and watch for 10 minutes. A steady reading passes; a reading that creeps up means a fouled valve to clean or repair.
Fact sheet and how to cite this page
- Answer
- The Watts LF25AUB-Z3 is the pick for a 3/4 inch or 1 inch residential service: adjustable 25 to 75 psi, set at 50 psi, rated to 300 psi, listed to ASSE 1003 and IAPMO, certified to CSA B356, with a thermal expansion bypass and a seat module serviced in the line. The Zurn Wilkins NR3XL is the runner-up with a 15 to 75 psi range and a 400 psi rating.
- Comparison basis
- Manufacturer specification and submittal sheets compared on adjustable reduced pressure range, factory setting, maximum working or inlet pressure, connection sizes, ASSE 1003 listing, lead-free statement, integral thermal expansion bypass and serviceability: Watts ES-LF25AUB and ES-LFN45B, Zurn Wilkins REG-70XL and REG-NR3XL, Resideo submittal 33-00063.
- Assumptions
- A static reading over 80 psi has already been taken with a hose-bib gauge; under 80 psi no valve is needed
- A 3/4 inch or 1 inch municipal water service; a 1 1/2 inch or 2 inch service changes the ratings on the Zurn NR3XL
- The valve is fitted by a licensed plumber where the jurisdiction requires one, which Zurn’s own instructions call for
- Method
- OwnerSpec compared the published specification sheets named in Sources, read on 2026-09-24, and checked that each linked listing was in stock through the Amazon Creators API the same day. It did not install, flow-test or pressure-test any valve or gauge.
- Primary source
- Watts, Engineering Specification ES-LF25AUB, Series LF25AUB-Z3 water pressure reducing valves (PDF) (manufacturer or vendor document)
- Facts verified
- Last updated
- Cite as
- OwnerSpec, "Best water pressure regulator (PRV) and test gauge: Watts, Zurn Wilkins and Resideo compared on the specs their own sheets print", https://ownerspec.com/plumbing/reviews/best-water-pressure-regulator-prv-and-gauge/, facts verified 24 September 2026.
Every figure above also appears, with its source, in the article. All sources ยท How OwnerSpec verifies numbers
Sources
- Watts, Engineering Specification ES-LF25AUB, Series LF25AUB-Z3 water pressure reducing valves (PDF) (manufacturer or vendor document)
- Watts, Engineering Specification ES-LFN45B, Series LFN45B-M1 water pressure reducing valves (PDF, Lowe's-hosted copy) (retailer listing or retailer-hosted document)
- Zurn Wilkins, Model 70XL specification sheet REG-70XL (PDF) (manufacturer or vendor document)
- Zurn Wilkins, Model NR3XL specification sheet REG-NR3XL (PDF) (manufacturer or vendor document)
- Zurn Wilkins, Model 70XL Installation, Inspection, Maintenance and Repair Instructions IS70XL (PDF) (manufacturer or vendor document)
- Resideo, Braukmann DS06 DialSet lead free pressure regulating valves, submittal sheet 33-00063 (PDF) (manufacturer or vendor document)
- Denver Residential Code 2018, Section P2903.3.1 Maximum pressure and P2903.4 Thermal expansion control (UpCodes) (manufacturer or vendor document)