Reverse Osmosis Membrane Replacement Cross-Reference: Which 1812 Membranes Fit an Under-Sink System at 50, 75 and 100 GPD

A 1812 RO membrane is 11.74 x 1.75 in per DuPont's data sheet: FilmTec TW30-1812, iSpring MC7 and MC1, APEC MEM-ES-50 and Express Water ROM all fit.

  • Verified
  • Updated
  • 9 min read
  • 7 sources
A slim reverse osmosis membrane element held beside its open white housing on a bright kitchen counter, no brand markings

Shop links on this page are affiliate links: a purchase may earn us a commission at no extra cost to you. Disclosure

OwnerSpec compares published manufacturer specifications, certification listings and sourced technical documents. Unless a page explicitly states otherwise, OwnerSpec has not laboratory-tested or used the products it compares. Editorial policy

Short answer

A 1812 residential reverse osmosis membrane is 11.74 in long and 1.75 in in diameter, the figure DuPont prints for its whole FilmTec TW30-1812 family, and it fits a nominal 2 in inside-diameter pressure vessel. The DuPont TW30-1812-50, -75 and -100, iSpring’s Greatwell MC5, MC7 and MC1, APEC’s MEM-ES-50 and Express Water’s ROM cartridge are all 1812 parts and interchange in that housing. The number that separates them is stabilized rejection: DuPont’s 50 and 75 gpd elements are rated 98 percent at 50 psig, the 100 gpd element in the same size drops to 90 percent, and iSpring lists 97 percent TDS for MC5, MC7 and MC1. A tankless system is not a 1812 system: Waterdrop’s G3P800 takes the proprietary G3P800-N2RO on a 24-month interval. Published intervals run as short as 1 year (Express Water); APEC’s own page states none, so the spec that must match is the diameter, not the gpd.

Fact sheet

Answer
A 1812 residential RO membrane measures 11.74 x 1.75 in and fits a nominal 2 in inside-diameter pressure vessel, per DuPont’s FilmTec TW30-1812 data sheet. DuPont’s TW30-1812-50, -75 and -100, iSpring’s Greatwell MC5, MC7 and MC1, APEC’s MEM-ES-50 and Express Water’s ROM cartridge are all 1812 parts; a tankless system such as the Waterdrop G3P800 takes a proprietary cartridge instead.
Applies to
  • TFC 1812, 50 GPD
  • TFC 1812, 75 GPD
  • TFC 1812, 100 GPD
Compatibility basis
DuPont FilmTec TW30-1812 data sheets, Form No. 609-02188-0110 (-24/-36/-50/-75) and 609-00382-0211 (-100), dimensions and pressure vessel fit
Assumptions
  • DuPont prints 11.74 in for the element length; iSpring and Express Water print 11.75 in for theirs. The page treats the two as the same 1812 size, which is how iSpring’s own page lists a DuPont element under its MC1US part number.
  • APEC describes the MEM-ES-50 housing as industry standard 10 inch and publishes no inch dimensions, rejection percent or test pressure; its 1812 fit rests on that description alone.
  • NSF/ANSI 58 is cited from each maker’s own data sheet or product page. NSF’s listing database was not reachable when this page was verified.
Method
Dimensions, rated flow, test conditions, rejection and intervals copied from each manufacturer’s own data sheet or product page; no membrane was tested or measured by OwnerSpec.
Facts verified
Last updated
Cite as
OwnerSpec, "Reverse Osmosis Membrane Replacement Cross-Reference: Which 1812 Membranes Fit an Under-Sink System at 50, 75 and 100 GPD", https://ownerspec.com/water/parts/reverse-osmosis-membrane-cross-reference-1812/, facts verified 13 September 2026.

Every figure above also appears, with its source, in the page below. All sources · How OwnerSpec verifies numbers

The picks

  1. The fully specified 1812: 98 percent rejection on a stated test

    DuPont FilmTec TW30-1812-50

    50 gpd at 50 psig, 98 percent stabilized rejection, 96.0 percent minimum, 11.74 x 1.75 in, NSF/ANSI 58 materials only per DuPont's sheet

  2. Like-for-like swap for an iSpring RCC7 family system

    iSpring Greatwell MC7

    75 gpd, 97 percent TDS rejection, 11.75 x 1.75 in, NSF/ANSI 58 per iSpring's page; test pressure not published

  3. 100 gpd in the same 1812 housing

    iSpring Greatwell MC1

    100 gpd, 97 percent TDS rejection, 11.75 x 1.75 in, NSF/ANSI 58 per iSpring's page; iSpring separately lists a DuPont-branded element under part number MC1US as a cross-fit

  4. APEC Essence owners wanting the maker's own part

    APEC MEM-ES-50

    30-50 gpd, industry standard 10 inch housing per APEC's page; rejection, test pressure and replacement interval not published by APEC (a customer review on the page mentions two years)

  5. Express Water owners on the 1-year schedule

    Express Water RO membrane, 50 GPD

    11.75 x 1.75 in, 1/10,000 micron, 45-80 psi, 40-100°F, 1-year life per Express Water's filter set page; 50 gpd per the listing title

What fits

  1. The fully specified 1812: 98 percent rejection on a stated test

    DuPont FilmTec TW30-1812-50

    50 gpd at 50 psig, 98 percent stabilized rejection, 96.0 percent minimum, 11.74 x 1.75 in, NSF/ANSI 58 materials only per DuPont's sheet

  2. Like-for-like swap for an iSpring RCC7 family system

    iSpring Greatwell MC7

    75 gpd, 97 percent TDS rejection, 11.75 x 1.75 in, NSF/ANSI 58 per iSpring's page; test pressure not published

  3. 100 gpd in the same 1812 housing

    iSpring Greatwell MC1

    100 gpd, 97 percent TDS rejection, 11.75 x 1.75 in, NSF/ANSI 58 per iSpring's page; iSpring separately lists a DuPont-branded element under part number MC1US as a cross-fit

  4. APEC Essence owners wanting the maker's own part

    APEC MEM-ES-50

    30-50 gpd, industry standard 10 inch housing per APEC's page; rejection, test pressure and replacement interval not published by APEC (a customer review on the page mentions two years)

  5. Express Water owners on the 1-year schedule

    Express Water RO membrane, 50 GPD

    11.75 x 1.75 in, 1/10,000 micron, 45-80 psi, 40-100°F, 1-year life per Express Water's filter set page; 50 gpd per the listing title

If the old membrane slid out of a slim tube with a screw cap, keep reading; if it came out as a numbered plastic cartridge that clicks into a head, you own a tankless unit and no part on this page fits it.

Which membranes are 1812 parts?

Every figure below is the maker’s published number, from DuPont’s FilmTec data sheets (Form No. 609-02188-0110 and 609-00382-0211), iSpring’s RO membrane page, APEC’s MEM-ES-50 page and Express Water’s filter set pages. OwnerSpec has tested none of them.

DuPont’s sheet states its figures for 250 ppm softened tap water at 77°F (25°C), 15 percent recovery and the specified applied pressure, with element flow varying plus or minus 20 percent.

Check price on Amazon

MembranePart no.Rated GPDTest pressureStabilized rejectionDimensions (in)Certification
DuPont FilmTec TW30-1812-503391385050 psig98% (96.0% minimum)11.74 x 1.75NSF/ANSI 58, material requirements only, per DuPont’s sheet
DuPont FilmTec TW30-1812-753391467550 psig98% (96.0% minimum)11.74 x 1.75NSF/ANSI 58, material requirements only, per DuPont’s sheet
DuPont FilmTec TW30-1812-10017010210050 psig90% (90.0% minimum)11.74 x 1.75Not stated on the sheet
iSpring Greatwell MC5MC550Not published97% TDS11.75 x 1.75NSF/ANSI 58, per iSpring’s page
iSpring Greatwell MC7MC775Not published97% TDS11.75 x 1.75NSF/ANSI 58, per iSpring’s page
iSpring Greatwell MC1MC1100Not published97% TDS11.75 x 1.75NSF/ANSI 58, per iSpring’s page
APEC MEM-ES-50MEM-ES-5030-50Not publishedNot published“Industry standard 10 inch” per APECNot stated
Express Water ROM, 50 GPDROM50 per the listing title; not on the product pageNot publishedNot published11.75 x 1.75Not stated
Express Water membrane, 100 GPDNot published100Not publishedNot publishedNot published on the Elite pageNot stated

Two DuPont rows carry no link on purpose: Amazon’s current Dow-branded listings for the 75 and 100 gpd sizes are the BW60-1812-75 and the TW30-1812-100HR, different series sold as replacements, not the original part numbers.

iSpring’s own page is the clearest maker-published cross-fit found: it lists a DuPont-branded FilmTec TW30-1812-100 under its own part number MC1US, as a cross-fit alternative to its house-brand MC1, which keeps a separate part number.

Do not trade rejection for throughput without a TDS reading first. DuPont’s 100 gpd element gives up 8 points of stabilized rejection against the 50 and 75 gpd elements in the same 1812 size.

How do you read the housing for size?

DuPont’s data sheet says the TW30-1812 fits a nominal 2 in inside-diameter pressure vessel: the slim tube on the bracket with a screw cap at one end, not one of the fat 10 in pre-filter housings.

Pull the old element and measure across the wrap: 1.75 in is a 1812. iSpring’s MC2 is the near miss, 11.75 in long but 2 in across per iSpring’s page.

Two more numbers from DuPont’s sheets bear on fit. Maximum operating pressure is 150 psig for the 50 and 75 gpd elements and 300 psig for the 100 gpd element, and DuPont recommends a 24-hour rinse before first use for a system to meet NSF/ANSI 58.

Stage-by-stage part lists for three common hosts are on the iSpring RCC7, APEC ROES-50 and Waterdrop G3P800 pages. A 10 in standard cartridge housing holds a pre-filter, not the membrane.

Which systems do not take a 1812 membrane?

Element or systemWhy it is not a 1812Source
iSpring MC2 (200 gpd)11.75 x 2 in: same length, 0.25 in wideriSpring’s RO membrane page
iSpring MC4 (400 gpd)2.8 x 12 in, sold for the RE4TiSpring’s RO membrane page
iSpring MRO500, MRO600Sold only for named tankless systems; no 1812 dimension printediSpring’s RO membrane page
iSpring MC600Prints 11.75 x 1.75 in but sold only for the RCT600 tankless housing; a matching dimension does not prove interchange with a 1812 pressure-vessel systemiSpring’s RO membrane page
Waterdrop G3P800 (800 gpd tankless)Proprietary G3P800-N2RO cartridge, 24 months or 2,200 gallons, never described as 1812Waterdrop’s G3P800 page

Waterdrop publishes no dimensions or rejection percent for the G3P800-N2RO, only the interval. The tankless RO review and the under-sink RO review compare the two formats on published specs.

How often does a 1812 membrane need replacing?

The makers disagree and DuPont publishes no interval at all. APEC’s own MEM-ES-50 page states no replacement schedule; a customer review on that page mentions two years, but that is not APEC’s stated guidance.

Express Water’s filter set page rates the ROM cartridge as a 1-year part, filtering to 1/10,000 micron at 45 to 80 psi and 40 to 100°F, and its Elite page repeats once a year for the 100 gpd tier at 40 to 80 psi.

Check price on Amazon

The calendar is the outer bound, not the trigger: a permeate TDS reading that climbs while the pre-filters are fresh means the membrane is due. The remineralization guide covers the post-membrane stage, and the GPD and tank size calculator sizes the membrane rating to the household.

Which 1812 to buy

The DuPont TW30-1812-50 is the only fully specified 1812 sold on Amazon under its original part number (98 percent rejection at 250 ppm, 77°F, 15 percent recovery, 50 psig), and its NSF/ANSI 58 listing covers material requirements only, per DuPont’s own sheet, not a reduction claim. The iSpring MC7 prints 97 percent TDS with no test pressure, ppm or temperature, so the two are not directly comparable. If you need a documented spec, buy the DuPont; if your system shipped with an MC7, buy the MC7. Buy neither until you have measured the old element at 1.75 in across.

Frequently asked questions

What size is a standard 1812 reverse osmosis membrane?

DuPont's FilmTec data sheet lists 11.74 in long and 1.75 in in diameter for the whole TW30-1812 line, with a 0.68 in permeate tube, and states the element fits a nominal 2 in inside-diameter pressure vessel. iSpring and Express Water print 11.75 x 1.75 in for their 1812 elements. Measure the old element across the wrap: 1.75 in is a 1812, 2 in is not.

Does a higher GPD 1812 membrane reject less TDS?

In DuPont's line, yes. The FilmTec data sheets rate the TW30-1812-50 and TW30-1812-75 at 98 percent stabilized salt rejection with a 96.0 percent minimum, and the TW30-1812-100 in the same 1812 size at 90 percent stabilized with a 90.0 percent minimum. All three are tested at 50 psig. iSpring prints 97 percent TDS for its 50, 75 and 100 gpd elements without stating a pressure.

How often does a 1812 membrane need replacing?

DuPont publishes no interval at all. APEC's own MEM-ES-50 page states no replacement schedule; a customer review on that page mentions two years, but that is not APEC's guidance. Express Water's filter set page rates its ROM cartridge as a 1-year part, and its Elite page repeats once a year for the 100 gpd tier. A rising permeate TDS reading with fresh pre-filters signals replacement is due.

Does a tankless reverse osmosis system use a 1812 membrane?

No. Waterdrop's G3P800 page lists its membrane as the G3P800-N2RO, a numbered cartridge on a 24-month interval, never described as 1812. iSpring's MC4, MRO500 and MRO600 are sold only for tankless or high-flow systems with no 1812 dimension printed. iSpring's MC600 does print 11.75 x 1.75 in, but only for the RCT600 tankless housing, not a 1812 pressure vessel.

Under what conditions does DuPont test a FilmTec 1812 membrane's rejection rate?

DuPont's FilmTec TW30-1812 data sheet states that permeate flow and salt rejection are based on 250 ppm softened tap water at 77°F (25°C), 15 percent recovery and the specified applied pressure, which is 50 psig for the 50, 75 and 100 gpd elements. It adds that individual element flow may vary plus or minus 20 percent, and recommends a 24-hour rinse before first use to meet NSF/ANSI 58.

Sources

  1. DuPont/Dow FilmTec TW30-1812 (-24/-36/-50/-75) Membranes data sheet, Form No. 609-02188-0110 (PDF, Lenntech-hosted copy of the Dow document) (manufacturer or vendor document)
  2. DuPont/Dow FilmTec TW30-1812-100 High Flow element data sheet, Form No. 609-00382-0211 (PDF, Lenntech-hosted copy of the Dow document) (manufacturer or vendor document)
  3. iSpring, RO Membrane product page (Greatwell MC5, MC7, MC1, MC2, MC4, MC600, MRO500, MRO600 specifications) (manufacturer or vendor document)
  4. APEC Water, RO Membrane 30-50 GPD for Essence RO Systems (MEM-ES-50) product page (manufacturer or vendor document)
  5. Express Water, RO System Filter Set product page (ROM cartridge dimensions, micron, life cycle, pressure and temperature) (manufacturer or vendor document)
  6. Express Water, Elite RO Filter Set product page (100 GPD, 40-80 psi, once-a-year change) (manufacturer or vendor document)
  7. Waterdrop, G3P800 Tankless Reverse Osmosis System product page (G3P800-N2RO replacement interval) (manufacturer or vendor document)