ZeroWater Filter Compatibility: Which Pitchers the ZR-017 Fits, When to Change It at TDS 006, and the 2025 Culligan ZeroWater Filter

One ZR-017 filter fits every legacy ZeroWater pitcher; the 2025 Culligan ZeroWater line takes ZEROF01. Both makers say replace at a TDS reading of 006.

  • Verified
  • Updated
  • 5 min read
  • 5 sources
A water filter pitcher and a spare ion-exchange filter cartridge on a bright kitchen counter next to a handheld meter

Shop links on this page are affiliate links: a purchase may earn us a commission at no extra cost to you. Disclosure

OwnerSpec compares published manufacturer specifications, certification listings and sourced technical documents. Unless a page explicitly states otherwise, OwnerSpec has not laboratory-tested or used the products it compares. Editorial policy

Short answer

ZeroWater’s FAQ says there is only one filter type for the legacy 5-stage pitcher and dispenser line, and the maker’s product page gives its part number as ZR-017, sold in 2-packs and 4-packs. The interval is not a gallon count: ZeroWater’s FAQ says the filter should be replaced when the included TDS meter reads 006 or higher. The 2025 generation is a different part. Culligan with ZeroWater Technology pitchers and dispensers, launched May 1, 2025 per the PR Newswire release, take the ZEROF01 filter, and Culligan’s product page states it is not compatible with older ZeroWater brand pitchers or dispensers. ZeroWater’s page lists the ZR-017 at 99.6 percent TDS reduction; Culligan’s page lists the ZEROF01 at 99.9 percent. The spec that must match is the pitcher generation: a blue legacy pitcher takes ZR-017, a Culligan-branded pitcher takes ZEROF01, and the ExtremeLife faucet-mount cartridge fits neither. Cross-fit filters from DESENRUIS claim the legacy fit but show no standard number on their listings.

The picks

  1. Any legacy blue ZeroWater pitcher or dispenser

    ZeroWater Official Replacement Filter ZR-017, 2-pack

    5-stage ion exchange; 99.6 percent TDS reduction per ZeroWater; IAPMO listed for lead, chromium, mercury, PFOA/PFOS; replace at 006

  2. Legacy pitcher, high-TDS tap water, filters run out fast

    ZeroWater Official Replacement Filter ZR-017, 4-pack

    Same ZR-017 filter in a 4-pack; the maker publishes no gallon capacity, only the 006 meter trigger

  3. Culligan ZeroWater pitcher or dispenser bought 2025 or later

    Culligan with ZeroWater Technology filter ZEROF01, 2-pack

    5-stage; 99.9 percent TDS reduction per Culligan; listed to NSF/ANSI 53, 42 and 401; not compatible with older ZeroWater pitchers

The mistake is not the part number, it is the generation: a Culligan-branded pitcher from 2025 will not take the ZR-017 everyone else is buying, so check the brand on the lid before you order a 4-pack.

Which filter fits your ZeroWater pitcher?

ZeroWater’s FAQ answers the fit question in one line: there is only one type of filter that fits the legacy 5-stage pitcher line, and the product page names it ZR-017. That covers every blue ZeroWater pitcher and dispenser sold before the Culligan rebrand.

Culligan’s product page lists the pitchers its ZEROF01 filter fits by size, and the list contains only Culligan-branded models. The same page carries the compatibility note that matters: not compatible with older ZeroWater brand pitchers or dispensers.

FilterFitsStagesTDS reduction (maker’s figure)Certification (listed per the maker’s page)Pack
ZeroWater ZR-017, 2-packEvery legacy ZeroWater pitcher and dispenser5-stage ion exchange99.6 percentIAPMO certified to reduce lead, chromium, mercury, PFOA/PFOS; no NSF/ANSI number stated on the maker page2
ZeroWater ZR-017, 4-packSame as above5-stage ion exchange99.6 percentSame as above4
Culligan ZeroWater ZEROF01, 2-packCulligan with ZeroWater Technology 7, 10 and 12 cup pitchers; 22, 32 and 40 cup glass dispensers5-stage99.9 percentIAPMO certified under NSF/ANSI 53, 42 and 4012
ExtremeLife faucet-mount filterThe ExtremeLife faucet unit only; no pitcher or dispenserNot stated as a stage countNot published; not a TDS-reduction productWQA certified for PFOA/PFOS, chlorine, Particulates Class I, per the listing copy1

One correction to a phrase that circulates in search results: there is no 6-stage ZeroWater pitcher filter. ZeroWater’s and Culligan’s pages both call the pitcher filter 5-stage; the 6-stage wording belongs to aftermarket brands describing their own cartridges.

If you are comparing ZeroWater against other pitchers rather than buying a refill, the pitcher comparison against NSF/ANSI 53 is the page for that, and the NSF/ANSI standards guide explains what 42, 53 and 401 each cover.

What else fits the legacy ZeroWater pitchers?

Aftermarket cartridges are sold for the legacy line, and their listing titles carry the model numbers ZeroWater’s own FAQ does not print. Read that list as the seller’s claim, not ZeroWater’s.

AlternativeClaimed fitStages (listing wording)Certification shown on the listingWhat differs from ZR-017
DESENRUIS, 2-packZR-001, ZR-004, ZP-006, ZR-017 pitchersMulti-stageREACH mark only; no NSF/ANSI standard numberLead, chromium, PFOA/PFOS reduction claimed in listing copy, not on a certification listing
DESENRUIS, 4-packZR-001, ZR-017, ZR-004, ZP-006, ZD-013, ZS-008Multi-stageNSF mark shown, no standard numberSame claims; TDS reduction figure not published
BOGDA 4-pack (a listing sometimes cited as DESENRUIS, it is not)ZR-001, ZR-004, ZP-006, ZR-017Five-stageNot statedNot linked here; the brand on the listing does not match the brand it is cited under

A cross-fit that drops in and reads 000 on the meter has matched the housing, not the certification. If the reason you bought a ZeroWater was the listed lead or PFOA/PFOS reduction, the maker’s own filter is the only one on this page that carries that listing.

How often does a ZeroWater filter need replacing?

ZeroWater’s FAQ gives no gallon figure. The replacement trigger is the meter: replace the filter when the reading hits 006 or higher. Culligan states the same 6-or-higher trigger for its ZeroWater Technology pitchers and adds an amber light on the lid.

What shortens the interval is the tap water’s starting TDS. An ion-exchange filter exhausts in proportion to the dissolved solids it removes, so a high-TDS supply drives the reading past 006 faster than a low-TDS one; the TDS meter reading guide explains what the number does and does not tell you.

SituationBuySkip
Legacy blue pitcher, meter climbing past 006ZR-017 2-packZEROF01, which does not fit
Legacy pitcher, high-TDS tap water, replacing oftenZR-017 4-packA cross-fit, if the certified reduction is why you own the pitcher
Culligan-branded pitcher or dispenser, amber light onZEROF01 2-packZR-017, which Culligan says is not compatible
Faucet-mount ExtremeLife unitExtremeLife cartridgeAny pitcher filter; see the faucet-mount comparison

Before you order

The ZR-017’s weak point is stated by its own maker: no gallon capacity, only a meter reading, so on high-TDS water the filter cost per month is the number ZeroWater does not print. Read the meter on your tap water first. If it is already high, the ZR-017 4-pack is the cheaper way to keep pace; if it is low, a 2-pack lasts, and if your lid says Culligan, only the ZEROF01 fits.

Frequently asked questions

Does the same ZeroWater filter fit every ZeroWater pitcher?

Only within its generation. ZeroWater's FAQ says there is one filter type, part number ZR-017, for the whole legacy 5-stage pitcher and dispenser line. The Culligan with ZeroWater Technology pitchers sold since 2025 take the ZEROF01 filter, and Culligan's product page states it is not compatible with older ZeroWater brand pitchers or dispensers.

When should a ZeroWater filter be replaced?

ZeroWater's FAQ says the filter should be replaced when the included TDS meter reads 006 or higher. Culligan gives the same trigger for its ZeroWater Technology pitchers, a reading of 6 or higher, and adds an amber light on the pitcher lid. Neither maker publishes a gallon capacity on the pages reached, so the meter reading is the interval.

Is the Culligan ZeroWater filter the same as the original ZeroWater filter?

No. The Culligan with ZeroWater Technology line launched May 1, 2025 per the PR Newswire release and uses the ZEROF01 drop-in filter, listed per Culligan's page as IAPMO certified under NSF/ANSI 53, 42 and 401. The legacy ZR-017 is listed per ZeroWater's page as IAPMO certified to reduce lead, chromium, mercury and PFOA/PFOS, with no standard number stated.

How much TDS does a ZeroWater filter remove?

ZeroWater's product page and homepage put the legacy ZR-017 at 99.6 percent of total dissolved solids, and Culligan's product page puts the ZEROF01 at 99.9 percent, both through 5-stage ion-exchange filtration. TDS is a conductivity reading, not a contaminant, so the figure describes minerals and salts removed rather than any specific contaminant reduction.

Does the ZeroWater filter fit the ExtremeLife faucet system?

No. ExtremeLife is a separate faucet-mount filter sold by ZeroWater, and its cartridge does not fit any pitcher or dispenser. Its listing describes it as WQA certified to reduce PFOA/PFOS, chlorine and Particulates Class I, with a 98 percent lead-reduction figure and 4x filter-life claim that come from the listing copy, not a published spec sheet.

Fact sheet and how to cite this page

Answer
ZeroWater’s FAQ says one filter type, part number ZR-017, fits the whole legacy 5-stage pitcher and dispenser line, and that the filter is replaced when the included TDS meter reads 006 or higher. The Culligan with ZeroWater Technology pitchers launched May 1, 2025 take a different filter, ZEROF01, which the maker says is not compatible with older ZeroWater pitchers.
Applies to
  • any legacy ZeroWater 5-stage pitcher or dispenser
  • Culligan with ZeroWater Technology 7, 10 or 12 cup pitcher, 22, 32 or 40 cup dispenser
Compatibility basis
ZeroWater FAQ (one filter fits the legacy line; replace at 006) and the Culligan with ZeroWater Technology replacement filter product page (ZEROF01 compatibility list and NSF/ANSI 53, 42, 401 listing)
Assumptions
  • Certifications are as listed on each maker’s page; no NSF, WQA or IAPMO listing database entry was opened during research.
  • Individual legacy model numbers (ZR-001, ZP-006 and so on) appear only on aftermarket listings; ZeroWater’s own FAQ names the legacy line as a whole.
  • ZeroWater publishes no gallon capacity for the ZR-017 on the pages reached; the TDS reading is the only replacement trigger the maker gives.
Method
Part numbers, fit and the 006 trigger copied from ZeroWater’s FAQ and 2-pack product page; the ZEROF01 fit list, 99.9 percent TDS figure and standard numbers from Culligan’s product page; the launch date from the PR Newswire release; ASINs and pack sizes confirmed against each listing on 2026-09-14.
Primary source
ZeroWater, Frequently asked questions (manufacturer or vendor document)
Facts verified
Last updated
Cite as
OwnerSpec, "ZeroWater Filter Compatibility: Which Pitchers the ZR-017 Fits, When to Change It at TDS 006, and the 2025 Culligan ZeroWater Filter", https://ownerspec.com/water/parts/zerowater-filter-compatibility/, facts verified 14 September 2026.

Every figure above also appears, with its source, in the article. All sources · How OwnerSpec verifies numbers

Sources

  1. ZeroWater, Frequently asked questions (manufacturer or vendor document)
  2. ZeroWater, 5-stage replacement filter 2-pack product page (part number ZR-017) (manufacturer or vendor document)
  3. ZeroWater, Performance and certification (manufacturer or vendor document)
  4. Culligan, Culligan with ZeroWater Technology replacement filter product page (ZEROF01) (manufacturer or vendor document)
  5. PR Newswire, Introducing Culligan with ZeroWater Technology pitchers and dispensers, 1 May 2025 (manufacturer or vendor document)