# Best countertop reverse osmosis system for renters: NSF/ANSI 58, GPD, drain ratio, tank size and filter cost, by published spec

> Waterdrop M6SL is the pick: NSF/ANSI 58 and 372 on its page, 75 GPD, 3:1 pure to drain, $69.99 filter per 1,100 gallons. Six units on published spec.

| | |
|---|---|
| Source | https://ownerspec.com/water/reviews/best-countertop-reverse-osmosis-system/ |
| Publisher | OwnerSpec (https://ownerspec.com/) |
| Published | 2026-09-12 |
| Updated | 2026-09-12 |
| Facts verified | 2026-09-12 |
| Disclosure | Contains affiliate links. OwnerSpec may earn a commission at no cost to the reader. |

---

## Short answer

For a countertop reverse osmosis system in a rental or a kitchen with no drain line, the
Waterdrop M6SL is the pick on published spec: Waterdrop's page lists NSF/ANSI 58 and
NSF/ANSI 372, rates the unit at 75 gallons per day (GPD) with a 3:1 pure-to-drain ratio,
includes a remineralization stage, and prices the single M6RFL filter at $69.99 for 12 months
or 1,100 gallons. The runner-up is the AquaTru Glass Carafe, which AquaTru's page lists as
IAPMO-certified to NSF/ANSI 42, 53, 58 and 401, with a 0.5 gallon (64 oz) glass carafe and a
$79.95 one-year filter pack; it publishes no GPD and sells remineralization as an optional
filter. Skip every unit here if you want a certificate you can look up: NSF's own Standard
058 listing database returned none of these brands when queried on 2026-09-12, so each
certification on this page is the maker's own claim. Skip the DREO RO Water Filter 112 if you
want minerals added back: it has no mineral stage.

## Fact sheet

- **Answer:** For a rental or no-plumbing kitchen, the Waterdrop M6SL is the pick on published spec: Waterdrop's page lists NSF/ANSI 58 and 372, 75 GPD, a 3:1 pure-to-drain ratio, an included remineralization stage, and a .99 filter rated 1,100 gallons or 12 months. The AquaTru Glass Carafe is the runner-up, listed per AquaTru's page to NSF/ANSI 42, 53, 58 and 401 with a .95 one-year filter pack.
- **Comparison basis:** Published manufacturer specifications compared on NSF/ANSI 58 listing per maker page, rated GPD, pure-to-drain ratio, feed tank and pitcher volume, remineralization stage, yearly filter cost at maker prices, and size and weight, read on 2026-09-12.
- **Assumptions:** City tap water as the feed; a private well needs a lab panel before any point-of-use unit; The feed tank is filled by hand, so daily draw is bounded by the tank volume, not the GPD rating
- **Method:** OwnerSpec compared published manufacturer specifications, NSF's own standard text and a direct query of NSF's Standard 058 listing database; it did not test any countertop RO system hands-on.
- **Primary source:** [Waterdrop, M6SL countertop reverse osmosis system product page](https://www.waterdropfilter.com/products/reverse-osmosis-system-m6sl) (manufacturer or vendor document)
- **Facts verified:** 2026-09-12
- **Last updated:** 2026-09-12
- **Canonical URL (cite this):** https://ownerspec.com/water/reviews/best-countertop-reverse-osmosis-system/

If you own the kitchen and there is a cold-water valve under the sink, this is the wrong page: an under-sink system never needs its feed tank filled by hand, see the [under-sink RO review](/water/reviews/best-under-sink-reverse-osmosis-system/).

## How was this shortlist built?

Every figure on this page is the manufacturer's published specification, read from the
product page named beside it on 2026-09-12, or NSF's own text. Nothing was bench-tested and
no unit carries a rating from this site.

A countertop reverse osmosis system is a self-contained unit: the owner fills a feed tank by
hand, a pump pushes the water through the membrane into a pitcher or carafe, and the reject
water collects in an internal tank that is emptied by hand.

The six units were compared on NSF/ANSI 58 listing per the maker's page, rated production in
gallons per day (GPD), pure-to-drain ratio, feed tank and pitcher volume, an included
remineralization stage, yearly filter cost at the maker's own prices, and size and weight.

NSF/ANSI 58 is the American National Standard for point-of-use reverse osmosis systems; NSF
says it covers TDS reduction and pentavalent arsenic reduction claims and the safety of
materials in contact with the water. NSF/ANSI 372 covers lead content of wetted parts, not
performance; Waterdrop states it for the M6SL, and the C2SL's own page names no standard at
all.

One gap is flagged rather than filled. NSF's own Standard 058 listing database, queried
directly on 2026-09-12, returned no company named Waterdrop, DREO, Bluevua or AquaTru, and
AquaTru's IAPMO file could not be confirmed on IAPMO's search form. "Listed" on this page
means the maker's own claim on its product page or Amazon listing, never a database record.

Pure-to-drain ratio is purified volume per volume sent to the waste tank; 3:1 means three
parts to the pitcher for one part to the tank you empty.

## How do the units compare on paper?

Manufacturer figures. "Not published" means the cited page prints no value. Filter cost is the
maker's listed part price at the maker's listed interval.

| Unit | NSF/ANSI 58 per maker page | Rated GPD | Pure to drain | Tank and pitcher | Remineralization | Filter cost at maker price | Size and weight |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Waterdrop M6SL | Listed, with 372 | 75 | 3:1 | 135 oz feed, 50 oz waste, 40 oz pitcher | Included, K, Ca, Na, Mg, pH 7.5 or higher | M6RFL $69.99 per 12 months or 1,100 gal | 15.9 x 9.3 x 14.5 in, 21 lb |
| AquaTru Glass Carafe | Listed, with 42, 53 and 401, via IAPMO | Not published | Not published | 0.66 gal (2.5 L) tap tank, 0.5 gal (64 oz) glass carafe | Optional add-on filter | One-year combo pack $79.95; stages rated 6 months to 2 years | 13 x 14 x 7.5 in, about 9 lb |
| AquaTru Classic | As above | Not published | Not published | 0.66 gal (2.5 L) tap tank; listing states a 2.7 L clean tank | Optional add-on filter | One-year combo pack $79.95 | 13 x 14 x 7.5 in, about 9 lb |
| Waterdrop C2SL | Not claimed; page names no standard | 75 | 3:1 | 108 oz feed tank; listing title adds a 40 oz autofill pitcher | Included, K, Ca, Na, Mg | C2RFL $55.99 per 12 months or 528 gal | 15.8 x 6.1 x 11.4 in, 12.13 lb |
| Bluevua RO100ROPOT-UV | "NSF & WQA Certified" badge, no standard number | 100, from the base RO100ROPOT manual; UV page silent | Not published | 60 oz glass carafe | Included, dedicated stage | Four-filter set $149.96, 12 to 24 months by stage; mineral dual-pack $33.99 | Not published |
| DREO RO Water Filter 112 | "Tested by SGS, aligned with NSF/ANSI 58" on DREO's blog; a testing claim | Not published; flow 200 to 260 mL per minute | Not published | 3 L (0.8 gal) tank, 37 oz (1.1 L) pitcher | None | 265 gal filter, interval not published, $49.99 sale, $79.99 regular | 14.51 x 6.73 x 13.35 in, 9.46 lb |

## Waterdrop M6SL: buy it or skip it?

Buy it if NSF/ANSI 58 has to be on the maker's page, minerals should come back out of the box,
and the counter can take the largest unit here.

Waterdrop's M6SL page lists NSF/ANSI 58 and 372, rates the unit at 75 GPD with a 3:1
pure-to-drain ratio, and gives a 135 oz feed tank, a 50 oz waste tank and a 40 oz glass
pitcher.

The single M6RFL filter is $69.99 for 12 months or 1,100 gallons on Waterdrop's page, the
longest rated life on this page, and its mineral stage adds potassium, calcium, sodium and
magnesium to a pH Waterdrop states as 7.5 or higher.

Skip it on a tight counter. Waterdrop's page puts it at 15.9 x 9.3 x 14.5 in and 21 lb, the
heaviest and largest unit here.

Alternative: the Waterdrop C2SL, the same
maker's 7-stage unit at 12.13 lb, without the 58 claim.

## AquaTru Classic and Glass Carafe: buy them or skip them?

Buy either if the longest standards list on a maker's page is the deciding line. AquaTru's
pages state that both are certified by IAPMO to NSF/ANSI 42, 53, 58 and 401, and both share a
0.66 gallon (2.5 L) tap tank, a 0.5 gallon (1.9 L, 64 oz) clean-water side, and a 13 x 14 x
7.5 in, about 9 lb footprint.

The Carafe serves from glass; the Classic listing states a 2.7 L clean tank.

AquaTru's Classic One-Year Filter Combo Pack is $79.95, and AquaTru rates the stages at 6
months to 2 years: 1,200 gallons for the pre-filter and carbon, 600 gallons each for the RO
membrane and the VOC carbon.

Skip both if you want minerals out of the box: remineralization is an optional Alkaline
Mineral Boost filter on AquaTru's page. Skip both if GPD or pure-to-drain matters, because
neither AquaTru page publishes either. Skip the Classic listing if the bundle matters: it
shows four price tiers without saying what each contains.

Alternative: the Waterdrop M6SL, which prints
75 GPD and 3:1 and includes the mineral stage.

## Waterdrop C2SL: buy it or skip it?

Buy it if the M6SL's numbers appeal but not its 21 lb, and NSF/ANSI 58 is not a requirement.
Waterdrop rates the C2SL at 75 GPD with a 3:1 pure-to-drain ratio through seven stages and a
0.0001 micron membrane, from a 108 oz feed tank; the listing title adds a 40 oz autofill glass
pitcher.

The C2RFL filter is $55.99 for 12 months or 528 gallons on Waterdrop's page, the cheapest
yearly figure here, and the mineral stage is included. Waterdrop puts the unit at 15.8 x 6.1
x 11.4 in and 12.13 lb.

Skip it if NSF/ANSI 58 specifically matters. Waterdrop's C2SL page names no standard at all,
and the Amazon listing title names none either; the pricier M6SL is the one that states 58 and
372. Skip it for heavy draw: 528 gallons is under half the M6SL's 1,100.

Alternative: the Waterdrop M6SL, $14 a year
more in filters for the 58 claim and twice the rated gallons.

## Bluevua RO100ROPOT-UV: buy it or skip it?

Buy it if a UV stage and a glass carafe are the priorities and fewer published numbers are
acceptable. Bluevua's page lists six stages with a
0.0001 micron membrane, a UV stage and a remineralization stage, feeding a 60 oz glass carafe.

The 100 GPD in the table is from the base RO100ROPOT manual, which states 0.26 L per minute;
Bluevua's page for the UV variant states no GPD, weight or pure-to-drain ratio. Replacement
filters are $149.96 for the four-filter set and $33.99 for the remineralization dual-pack on
Bluevua's page, on intervals of 12 to 24 months by stage.

Skip it if the certification has to name a standard: Bluevua's page shows an "NSF & WQA
Certified" badge with no number, and the listing title repeats "WQA & NSF Certified" the same
way. Skip it if the variant matters: ROPOT and ROPOT-LITE are separate listings, and the
linked one is the ROPOT-UV, 6-Stage RO style.

Alternative: the AquaTru Glass Carafe, a 64 oz
glass carafe with four standard numbers on its page.

## DREO RO Water Filter 112: buy it or skip it?

Buy it if weight is the constraint and remineralization is not wanted. DREO's page gives the
112 (model DR-KWF002) a 3 L (0.8 gal) tank, a 37 oz (1.1 L) autofill pitcher, 14.51 x 6.73 x
13.35 in and 9.46 lb, the lightest unit here, and a 200 to 260 mL per minute flow. DREO's page
does not state a pure-to-drain ratio for this unit.

DREO's dedicated filter page rates the replacement filter at 265 gallons and does not state a
month interval; it is $49.99 on sale and $79.99 at DREO's regular price. DREO publishes no
rated GPD or membrane micron figure, and the flow is not converted to GPD here.

Skip it for mineral water: the 112 has no remineralization stage. Skip it if NSF/ANSI 58 has
to be a certification: DREO's blog says the filter was "tested by SGS and aligned with
NSF/ANSI 58 standards", a testing claim, and DREO is absent from NSF's Standard 058 database.

The listing also offers a 5 L size; the 3 L is the one described here.

Alternative: the Waterdrop C2SL, 2.67 lb
heavier, with a mineral stage and about twice the filter capacity.

**Before you buy a countertop RO system**

Do not order a unit until two numbers are known: the counter width in inches and the gallons
the household drinks per day. The [RO GPD and tank calculator](/water/calculators/reverse-osmosis-gpd-tank-size-calculator/)
turns the second into a rated GPD, and the feed tank caps each fill: 135 oz on the
Waterdrop M6SL, 108 oz on the
Waterdrop C2SL, 0.66 gallons on the
AquaTru Glass Carafe. A 21 lb, 9.3 in wide
M6SL is a different purchase from a 6.1 in wide C2SL on the same 75 GPD rating. On a private
well, run the [well water test panel](/water/guides/well-water-test-panel/) first:
[iron](/water/guides/iron-in-well-water/) or [sediment](/water/guides/sediment-turbidity-well-water/)
upstream shortens every interval above.

## What goes wrong?

The feed tank, not the GPD rating, sets the pace. The M6SL's 75 GPD is the membrane's figure;
the owner refills 135 oz at a time, and AquaTru's 0.66 gallon tap tank is smaller still.

The filter hits its gallon cap before its month cap. One gallon a day is 365 gallons a year,
past the DREO 112's 265 gallon rating and inside the C2SL's 528 and the M6SL's 1,100. Price
the filter by gallons drawn, not by the 12 month label.

The certification is a word, not a record. "Tested to align with" on DREO's blog, an "NSF &
WQA Certified" badge with no number on Bluevua's page, and an unconfirmed IAPMO claim read the
same on a box, and none of the four brands appeared in NSF's Standard 058 database on
2026-09-12.

<!-- FAQ and Sources render from front matter. Do not write them in the body. -->

## The picks

- **Waterdrop M6SL**: NSF/ANSI 58 on the maker's page, minerals included (75 GPD, 3:1 pure to drain, 135 oz feed and 50 oz waste tank, 40 oz pitcher, 8 stages; M6RFL filter $69.99 per 12 months or 1,100 gallons; 21 lb) Amazon: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0GRZF389R/?tag=ownerspec-20
- **AquaTru Glass Carafe**: Longest standards list per maker page, glass carafe (NSF/ANSI 42, 53, 58 and 401 via IAPMO per AquaTru; 0.66 gal tap tank, 64 oz carafe; GPD not published; one-year filter pack $79.95; minerals optional) Amazon: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0DTSQM3RT/?tag=ownerspec-20
- **AquaTru Classic**: Same AquaTru filters and standards, original tank unit (NSF/ANSI 42, 53, 58 and 401 via IAPMO per AquaTru; 0.66 gal tap tank; 13 x 14 x 7.5 in, about 9 lb; one-year filter pack $79.95) Amazon: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0F2GRXV71/?tag=ownerspec-20
- **Waterdrop C2SL**: Narrow counter, cheapest yearly filter, no 58 claim (75 GPD, 3:1 pure to drain, 108 oz feed tank, 7 stages, minerals included; C2RFL filter $55.99 per 12 months or 528 gallons; 6.1 in wide, 12.13 lb) Amazon: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0GX9JG1R2/?tag=ownerspec-20
- **Bluevua RO100ROPOT-UV**: UV stage and glass carafe, fewest published numbers (6 stages with UV and minerals, 60 oz glass carafe; 100 GPD from the base-model manual only; four-filter set $149.96 on 12 to 24 month intervals) Amazon: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0CNPMRFXS/?tag=ownerspec-20
- **DREO RO Water Filter 112**: Lightest unit, no mineral stage, shortest filter life (3 L tank, 37 oz pitcher, pure to drain not published, 9.46 lb; 265 gallon filter $49.99 on sale, $79.99 regular, interval not published; GPD not published) Amazon: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0GHP4KY1Z/?tag=ownerspec-20

## Frequently asked questions

### Does a countertop reverse osmosis system need a drain line?

No. Each unit on this page is self-contained: the owner fills a feed tank by hand, the pump sends purified water to a pitcher or carafe, and the reject water collects in an internal tank that is poured out by hand. DREO, Waterdrop, Bluevua and AquaTru all describe their units as installation-free for that reason, which is what makes them fit a rental kitchen.

### What does NSF/ANSI 58 cover on a countertop RO system?

NSF/ANSI 58 is the American National Standard for point-of-use reverse osmosis systems. NSF's own summary says it covers the TDS reduction and pentavalent arsenic reduction claims a maker prints and the safety of the materials in contact with the water. It does not cover production rate, pure-to-drain ratio or filter life, which stay the maker's own figures.

### Is 'tested to NSF/ANSI 58' the same as being certified to it?

No. A testing claim, such as DREO's 'tested by SGS and aligned with NSF/ANSI 58 standards', says a lab ran a protocol; certification means a listing body holds the record. NSF's own Standard 058 database, queried on 2026-09-12, returned none of Waterdrop, DREO, Bluevua or AquaTru, so every standard on this page is the maker's claim on its own page.

### How much do countertop RO filters cost per year at the makers' prices?

From $55.99 for the Waterdrop C2SL's 528 gallon, 12 month filter to $79.95 for AquaTru's one-year combo pack, with the Waterdrop M6SL at $69.99 for 1,100 gallons. DREO's 265 gallon filter is $49.99 on sale and $79.99 at regular price on a 6 to 12 month interval, and Bluevua's four-filter set is $149.96 on 12 to 24 month intervals.

### Do countertop RO systems add minerals back into the water?

Only when a remineralization stage is included or added. The Waterdrop M6SL and C2SL and the Bluevua RO100ROPOT-UV include one; Waterdrop says the M6SL stage adds potassium, calcium, sodium and magnesium. AquaTru sells its Alkaline Mineral Boost as a separate optional filter for the Classic and Carafe, and the DREO RO Water Filter 112 has no mineral stage at all.


## Sources

- [NSF, NSF/ANSI 58: Reverse Osmosis Drinking Water Treatment Systems](https://www.nsf.org/knowledge-library/nsf-ansi-58-reverse-osmosis-drinking-water-treatment-systems) (standards or certification body)
- [NSF, Standard 058 certified product listings (live query)](https://info.nsf.org/Certified/DWTU/Listings.asp?Standard=058&hdModlStd=ModlStd) (standards or certification body)
- [AquaTru, Classic countertop reverse osmosis water purifier product page](https://aquatru.com/products/countertop-reverse-osmosis-water-purifier) (manufacturer or vendor document)
- [AquaTru, Carafe countertop product page](https://aquatru.com/products/carafe-countertop) (manufacturer or vendor document)
- [AquaTru, Classic One-Year Filter Combo Pack](https://aquatru.com/products/classic-one-year-filter-combo-pack) (manufacturer or vendor document)
- [Waterdrop, M6SL countertop reverse osmosis system product page](https://www.waterdropfilter.com/products/reverse-osmosis-system-m6sl) (manufacturer or vendor document)
- [Waterdrop, C2SL countertop mineral reverse osmosis system product page](https://www.waterdropfilter.com/products/countertop-mineral-reverse-osmosis-system-c2sl) (manufacturer or vendor document)
- [Bluevua, RO100ROPOT-UV countertop reverse osmosis system product page](https://bluevua.com/products/ropot-countertop-reverse-osmosis-water-system-with-uv-light) (manufacturer or vendor document)
- [Bluevua, RO100ROPOT instruction manual (base platform)](https://www.manualslib.com/manual/3269659/Bluevua-Ro100ropot.html) (manufacturer or vendor document)
- [DREO, RO Water Filter 112 product page](https://www.dreo.com/products/ro-water-filter-112) (manufacturer or vendor document)
- [DREO, 'DREO RO Water Filters: The Next Step in Clean Water Technology'](https://www.dreo.com/blogs/dreo-technology/dreo-ro-water-filters-the-next-step-in-clean-water-technology) (manufacturer or vendor document)
- [DREO, RO Water Filter 112/113/114/115 replacement filter product page](https://www.dreo.com/products/ro-water-filter-112-113-114-115-replacement-filter) (manufacturer or vendor document)

---

Citation: OwnerSpec, "Best countertop reverse osmosis system for renters: NSF/ANSI 58, GPD, drain ratio, tank size and filter cost, by published spec", https://ownerspec.com/water/reviews/best-countertop-reverse-osmosis-system/, facts verified 12 September 2026.
Canonical citation target: the URL above (the public HTML page), not this Markdown representation.
Reuse: quoting with attribution and a link is permitted. See https://ownerspec.com/legal/terms/.
