Best iron filter for well water: air injection vs manganese greensand vs Birm, by published spec

Iron plus manganese 3 to 10 mg/L: an AIO such as the AFW AIS10-25SXT (10 ppm iron) or Birm at pH 6.8 to 9.0. Under 3.0 ppm with no drain line: the iSpring WGB32BM.

  • Verified
  • Updated
  • 11 min read
  • 12 sources
Tall black air-injection iron filter tank with a digital control head beside a three-stage blue cartridge housing, both plumbed to a well pressure tank in a basement utility room

Shop links on this page are affiliate links: a purchase may earn us a commission at no extra cost to you. Disclosure

OwnerSpec compares published manufacturer specifications, certification listings and sourced technical documents. Unless a page explicitly states otherwise, OwnerSpec has not laboratory-tested or used the products it compares. Editorial policy

Short answer

For a private well with iron above what a softener handles, three lab numbers decide the filter class: iron plus manganese in mg/L, pH, and hydrogen sulfide. EPA’s secondary standards put iron at 0.3 mg/L and manganese at 0.05 mg/L, the staining thresholds. Penn State Extension limits a softener to dissolved iron under 5 mg/L at pH above 6.7. Between a combined 3 and 10 mg/L, Penn State recommends an oxidizing filter: an air-injection (AIO) unit such as the AFWFilters AIS10-25SXT, rated by its maker to 10 ppm iron, 2 ppm manganese and 4 ppm hydrogen sulfide, or a Birm bed, which Clack’s data sheet holds to pH 6.8 to 9.0 and rules out where hydrogen sulfide is present. Above 10 mg/L combined, Penn State calls for oxidation ahead of filtration. The runner-up for iron under 3.0 ppm with no drain line is the cartridge iSpring WGB32BM. Nobody should buy any of the four until a lab report gives all three numbers.

The picks

  1. Iron plus manganese 3 to 10 mg/L, pH 6.5 or higher. Dealer-direct

    AFWFilters AIS10-25SXT

    Air-injection tank, 1 cu ft Filter Ag Plus, 2510 AiQ head; rated 10 ppm iron, 2 ppm manganese, 4 ppm hydrogen sulfide; 10 GPM peak. AFW's Amazon listing is out of stock; AFW's own store sells it

  2. The in-stock air-injection route, iron to 7 ppm

    DuraWater Iron Eater 25, 1.0 cu ft

    Air-injection tank, 1.0 cu ft media, 10 x 54 in; rated 7 ppm iron and 4 ppm hydrogen sulfide; pH 6.8 minimum; Black Series tier rated 17 ppm iron

  3. Iron under 3.0 ppm, no drain line or power

    iSpring WGB32BM

    Three-stage cartridge system; rated 3.0 ppm iron, 1.0 ppm manganese; 15 GPM; cartridges swapped at 100,000 gallons

  4. pH 6.8 to 9.0, no hydrogen sulfide, dealer-built

    Birm bed on a Fleck 5600SXT

    Clack Birm media, sized by the dealer against the pump; dissolved oxygen must be 15% of iron; not sold on Amazon

Without iron in mg/L, pH and a hydrogen sulfide result, none of these can be picked, and the iron in well water guide is where those numbers come from.

How was this shortlist built?

Every figure here is the manufacturer’s published specification, read from the spec page or media data sheet named beside it, or an extension-service threshold from Penn State or NDSU. Nothing was bench-tested and no unit carries a rating from this site.

The units were compared on rated maximum iron, manganese and hydrogen sulfide in ppm (the same unit as mg/L in water), pH range, service flow, backwash flow and tank size. Where a maker’s page omits a figure, the table says so.

AFWFilters’ page for the AIS10-25SXT prints no pH range and no backwash GPM, so SpringWell’s WS1 manual stands in for those two columns. The Birm row is Clack Corporation’s media data sheet, not a specific tank: a Fleck 5600SXT Birm system is dealer-built.

Availability was rechecked against Amazon on 2026-09-21. AFW’s Amazon listing for the AIS10-25SXT is out of stock, so the unit carries no affiliate link here and its card has no button. AFW’s own store still lists it, shipping in one to two days.

What iron level and pH decide the filter class?

Start with the lab report, not the catalog. EPA’s secondary standards put iron at 0.3 mg/L and manganese at 0.05 mg/L, both aesthetic guidelines rather than enforceable limits. Hydrogen sulfide has no EPA drinking-water standard.

Lab resultTreatment classSource
Dissolved iron under 5 mg/L, pH above 6.7, hardness 3 to 20 gpgWater softener alone, sized on the softener calculatorPenn State Extension
Dissolved iron under 2 mg/L, or iron plus manganese under 3 mg/LPolyphosphate sequestering, NDSU’s ceiling for itNDSU Extension
Iron plus manganese 3 to 10 mg/LOxidizing filter: AIO, Birm, or manganese greensand (NDSU rates greensand to 10 mg/L iron)Penn State Extension; NDSU Extension
Iron plus manganese above 10 mg/LOxidation ahead of filtrationPenn State Extension
Source pH below 6.8Raise pH above 7.0 before a greensand bed; Birm’s own floor is 6.8NDSU Extension; Clack
Hydrogen sulfide presentNot Birm. Greensand-type oxidizing filters to 2 to 3 mg/L; aeration to about 2 mg/L; catalytic carbon needs 4.0 mg/L dissolved oxygenPenn State Extension

An air-injection oxidizing filter (AIO) holds a pocket of air at the top of the tank so dissolved iron oxidizes to a particle the media can hold, then backwashes it to drain. Birm is a granular Clack media that catalyzes the same oxidation on the water’s own dissolved oxygen; manganese greensand does the same job and is regenerated with potassium permanganate.

Birm is the fussiest about chemistry, and Clack prints the limits: pH 6.8 to 9.0, dissolved oxygen of at least 15% of the iron and 29% of the manganese content, free chlorine under 0.5 ppm, and pH 8.0 to 9.0 for manganese, below 8.5 if iron is also present.

Hydrogen sulfide changes the class on its own. If the rotten egg smell guide applies to your well, read that column below before the iron column.

How do the units compare on paper?

Manufacturer figures. “Not published” means the cited page prints no value.

UnitClass and mediaMax ironMax manganeseMax hydrogen sulfidepH rangeService flowBackwashTank or housing
AFWFilters AIS10-25SXT (dealer-direct)AIO; 1 cu ft Filter Ag Plus; 2510 AiQ head10 ppm2 ppm4 ppmNot published10 GPM peakNot published10 x 54 in Pentair tank, 62 in overall
Oceanic AIS10-25SXT (same model number, different integrator)AIO; 1 cu ft media, type not published; Fleck 5600SXT AIO valveNot publishedNot publishedNot publishedNot published7 GPM service, 10 GPM peak7 GPM minimum10 x 54 in FRP tank; 1 in bypass; model WWH5600AIO1054
SpringWell WS1 (same-class benchmark, manual only)AIONot in the manual’s spec tableNot in the manual’s spec tableNot in the manual’s spec table6.5 to 1012 GPM5 GPM10 x 54 in, 64 in with head; 1 in connection; 25 to 80 PSI
iSpring WGB32BMCartridge; FM25B iron and manganese stage after a 5 micron sediment stage3.0 ppm1.0 ppmNot publishedNot published15 GPMNone; cartridge swap at 100,000 gal20 x 4.5 in cartridges; 1 in NPT
Birm bed on a Fleck 5600SXT (Clack media sheet, dealer-built)BirmNo ppm ceiling; dissolved oxygen must be 15% of ironDissolved oxygen must be 29% of manganeseMust be removed first6.8 to 9.0; 8.0 to 9.0 for manganese, under 8.5 with iron3.5 to 5 gpm per sq ft of bed10 to 12 gpm per sq ft of bedDealer-sized tank
DuraWater Iron Eater 25AIO; 1.0 cu ft media7 ppmListed, no ceiling published4 ppm6.8 minimumNot publishedNot published10 x 54 in
DuraWater Black SeriesAIO, higher-spec media, same line17 ppmListed, no ceiling published8 ppmNot stated separatelyNot publishedNot publishedNot stated separately

AFWFilters AIS10-25SXT: buy it or skip it?

Buy it if the lab report reads at or under 10 ppm iron, 2 ppm manganese and 4 ppm hydrogen sulfide, and the house never draws more than 10 GPM. Buy it from AFW, not from Amazon: AFW’s Amazon listing is out of stock, and AFW’s own store lists the system with a one to two day ship time.

AFW lists it as salt and chemical free, with 1 cubic foot of Filter Ag Plus over gravel in a 10 x 54 inch Pentair tank, 62 inches overall, under a 2510 AiQ air-injection head. Every ppm figure on this page for this unit is AFW’s own.

Do not assume the AIS10-25SXT in stock on Amazon is this one. That listing is by Oceanic Water Systems: same model number, different integrator. Oceanic’s spec page gives a Fleck 5600SXT AIO valve on a 10 x 54 FRP tank with 1 cubic foot of media it does not name, 7 GPM service, 10 GPM peak and a 7 GPM minimum backwash, and publishes no iron, manganese or hydrogen sulfide ceiling at all. Nothing on either page shows the two are the same assembly, so AFW’s 10 ppm cannot be read onto Oceanic’s tank.

Skip it if pH is below 6.5: AFW prints no floor, SpringWell’s WS1 manual sets 6.5 to 10 and DuraWater’s AIO sets 6.8, so a well under either needs a neutralizer upstream. Skip it if hydrogen sulfide is above 4 ppm, or if the pump cannot hold a backwash, where SpringWell’s 5 GPM and Oceanic’s 7 GPM are the same-class figures to check against.

The in-stock Amazon alternative is the DuraWater Iron Eater below, ceiling 7 ppm iron.

iSpring WGB32BM: buy it or skip it?

Buy it if iron is at or under 3.0 ppm and manganese at or under 1.0 ppm, and the household wants no drain line, no power and no backwash.

Check price on Amazon

iSpring rates it to 15 GPM through 1 inch NPT ports, with a 5 micron sediment stage ahead of the FM25B iron and manganese cartridge, and gives 100,000 gallons before a swap.

The 20 x 4.5 inch housings are the same size the iSpring WGB32B replacement filters page covers. The link above is the bare three-stage system, not the bundle iSpring lists with a WSP-100 spin-down prefilter.

Skip it past 3.0 ppm iron: that is the rated ceiling, not the point where it slows down. Skip it if hydrogen sulfide is on the report or pH is unknown, because iSpring publishes neither figure.

Alternative: the AIS10-25SXT, which carries the reader from 3.0 to 10 ppm.

Birm on a Fleck 5600SXT: buy it or skip it?

Buy it if pH is reliably 6.8 to 9.0, hydrogen sulfide is absent on a separate test, and the dealer has confirmed dissolved oxygen of at least 15% of the iron and 29% of the manganese.

Clack sizes the bed at 3.5 to 5 gpm per square foot in service and 10 to 12 gpm per square foot in backwash, so the tank diameter is chosen against the pump, not the house.

Skip it if any hydrogen sulfide is present: Penn State says Birm oxidizing filters are not recommended for it, and Clack says it must be removed first. Skip it if pH swings below 6.8, or if the pump cannot reach 10 to 12 gpm per square foot of bed. It is dealer-built and not sold on Amazon.

Alternative: manganese greensand, which NDSU rates to 10 mg/L iron but which needs pH raised above 7.0 when the source sits below 6.8.

DuraWater Iron Eater: buy it or skip it?

Buy the Iron Eater 25 if iron is at or under 7 ppm and hydrogen sulfide at or under 4 ppm, with pH at DuraWater’s 6.8 minimum or above, in a 10 x 54 inch tank. It is the air-injection unit on this page that is in stock on Amazon today, which is why it sits second.

Check price on Amazon

Buy the Black Series if iron runs toward 17 ppm or hydrogen sulfide toward 8 ppm, the widest AIO range on this page.

Skip either tier if pH is below 6.8, DuraWater’s own floor. Skip either if manganese is the main complaint: DuraWater lists manganese removal without a ppm ceiling, where AFW prints 2 ppm. Skip either if the pump cannot sustain a backwash, since DuraWater’s page prints no GPM: ask for the figure before ordering.

Before you buy an iron filter

Do not buy a tank until the report gives iron plus manganese in mg/L, pH and hydrogen sulfide.

Iron plus manganese between 3 and 10 mg/L at pH 6.5 or higher: the AFWFilters AIS10-25SXT, rated 10 ppm iron and 2 ppm manganese, bought from AFW while its Amazon listing is out of stock, or the DuraWater Iron Eater 25 to 7 ppm. Iron under 3.0 ppm and manganese under 1.0 ppm with no drain line: the iSpring WGB32BM , and it fails at that ceiling rather than tapering.

Hydrogen sulfide on the report belongs on the rotten egg smell guide before any of these.

What goes wrong?

pH drifts below the media’s floor and oxidation stops. Clack’s floor for Birm is 6.8, DuraWater’s AIO floor is 6.8 and SpringWell’s is 6.5. NDSU says a greensand bed needs the pH raised above 7.0 when the source is below 6.8, and a neutralizer upstream is the fix, not a different iron media.

The pump cannot feed the backwash. A tank that backwashes below the spec sheet’s GPM never fully cleans its bed: Clack asks 10 to 12 gpm per square foot for Birm, SpringWell’s WS1 manual gives 5 GPM and Oceanic asks 7 GPM. A cartridge unit avoids the drain line but trades it for the iSpring’s 3.0 ppm ceiling.

Iron and sulfur bacteria foul any of these media regardless of the mg/L math. Penn State Extension says they use the dissolved iron or manganese in groundwater to grow and produce a bacterial slime that acts as protection against chlorine. Slime in the toilet tank means the treatment starts at the well, with shock chlorination, not with a bigger filter.

Two more traps sit on Clack’s Birm sheet: free chlorine above 0.5 ppm and any hydrogen sulfide both foul the media.

Frequently asked questions

Can a water softener remove iron instead of a dedicated iron filter?

Only at the low end. Penn State Extension says softeners are generally recommended for iron only when pH is above 6.7, hardness is between 3 and 20 grains per gallon, and dissolved iron is under 5 mg/L. Once iron plus manganese sits between 3 and 10 mg/L, Penn State points to an oxidizing filter instead, and above 10 mg/L combined to oxidation ahead of filtration.

Does Birm remove hydrogen sulfide?

No. Penn State Extension states that oxidizing filters with Birm media are not recommended for hydrogen sulfide removal, and Clack Corporation's Birm data sheet says hydrogen sulfide should be removed before the water contacts the media. Penn State puts oxidizing filters of the greensand type at up to 2 to 3 mg/L of hydrogen sulfide, and catalytic carbon needs at least 4.0 mg/L of dissolved oxygen in the source water.

What pH does manganese removal need on a Birm filter?

Clack Corporation's Birm data sheet gives a working range of pH 6.8 to 9.0 for the media, and for manganese specifically it says the water should be at pH 8.0 to 9.0 for best results. If the water also contains iron, Clack says the pH should stay below 8.5. NDSU Extension adds that a greensand bed needs the pH raised above 7.0 when the source water is below 6.8.

The AIS10-25SXT sold on Amazon is by Oceanic, not AFW. Is it the same unit?

Not demonstrably. Both carry the model number AIS10-25SXT, but Oceanic's spec page describes a Fleck 5600SXT AIO valve on a 10 x 54 FRP tank holding 1 cubic foot of unnamed media, sold as model WWH5600AIO1054, and publishes no iron, manganese or hydrogen sulfide ceiling at all. AFW's page describes a 2510 AiQ head on a Pentair tank with Filter Ag Plus.

Is NSF/ANSI 42 certification required for an iron filter?

No. NSF/ANSI 42 is the aesthetic-effects standard, and NSF lists iron, manganese, chlorine, taste and odor, particulate, zinc and total dissolved solids among the claims it covers. It is voluntary, so a maker's ppm ceiling is the maker's own figure unless the spec sheet names a certified reduction claim. Every ceiling on this page is labelled as the manufacturer's published number for that reason.

Fact sheet and how to cite this page

Answer
For iron plus manganese 3 to 10 mg/L at pH 6.5 or higher, the AFWFilters AIS10-25SXT is the pick: an air-injection tank rated by the maker to 10 ppm iron, 2 ppm manganese and 4 ppm hydrogen sulfide at 10 GPM peak. Under 3.0 ppm iron with no drain line, the iSpring WGB32BM covers it instead, rated to 3.0 ppm iron and 1.0 ppm manganese at 15 GPM.
Comparison basis
Published manufacturer specifications and extension-service thresholds compared on maximum iron, manganese and hydrogen sulfide, pH range, service flow, backwash flow and tank size, read from each maker’s spec page or data sheet on 2026-09-21, when Amazon availability was rechecked too.
Assumptions
  • Private well water with a lab report giving iron plus manganese in mg/L, pH and hydrogen sulfide
  • Household draws at or under 10 GPM peak for the AIS10-25SXT pick
Method
OwnerSpec compared published manufacturer specifications and cited extension-service documents against each unit’s rated iron, manganese, hydrogen sulfide, pH range and flow figures; no unit was tested hands-on.
Facts verified
Last updated
Cite as
OwnerSpec, "Best iron filter for well water: air injection vs manganese greensand vs Birm, by published spec", https://ownerspec.com/water/reviews/best-iron-filter-for-well-water/, facts verified 21 September 2026.

Every figure above also appears, with its source, in the article. All sources ยท How OwnerSpec verifies numbers

Sources

  1. EPA, Secondary Drinking Water Standards: Guidance for Nuisance Chemicals (government or regulatory source)
  2. Penn State Extension, Iron and Manganese in Private Water Systems (university or extension service)
  3. Penn State Extension, Hydrogen Sulfide (Rotten Egg Odor) in Water Wells (university or extension service)
  4. Penn State Extension, Iron and Sulfur Bacteria: a Slimy Problem (university or extension service)
  5. NDSU Extension, Iron and Manganese Removal (university or extension service)
  6. NSF, NSF/ANSI 42, 53 and 401: Filtration Systems Standards (standards or certification body)
  7. Clack Corporation, Birm Filtration Media Data Sheet (Form No. 2350) (manufacturer or vendor document)
  8. Abundant Flow Water, Air Injection Silver 10 System with Fleck AIS10-25SXT, product spec page (manufacturer or vendor document)
  9. Oceanic Water Systems, AIS10-25SXT AIO 10 x 54 with Fleck 5600SXT, product spec page (manufacturer or vendor document)
  10. SpringWell, Well Water Filter System Installation Instructions, WS1 and WS4 (PDF) (manufacturer or vendor document)
  11. iSpring, WGB32BM 3-Stage Whole House Water Filter product page (manufacturer or vendor document)
  12. DuraWater, Iron Filter product page (Iron Eater 25 and Black Series) (manufacturer or vendor document)