Best shower head filter for chlorine and hard water: no brand here is in NSF's 177 listing, and only one names the standard at all
NSF/ANSI 177 covers free chlorine only. No brand here is in NSF's listing. Sprite's own sheet names the standard; Culligan names only a certifier.
- Verified
- Updated
- 9 min read
- 12 sources

Shop links on this page are affiliate links: a purchase may earn us a commission at no extra cost to you. Disclosure
OwnerSpec compares published manufacturer specifications, certification listings and sourced technical documents. Unless a page explicitly states otherwise, OwnerSpec has not laboratory-tested or used the products it compares. Editorial policy
Short answer
For a shower head filter chosen on published spec, the deciding line is NSF/ANSI 177, the only certification written for shower filters, and it covers one claim: free chlorine reduction, tested as a 2.0 mg/L challenge the cartridge must cut by at least 50 percent through its rated life. NSF’s own listing held 6 certified shower filters on 2026-09-21 and no brand on this page is among them, so nobody here can prove the badge on the box. The pick is the Sprite HO2, the only unit whose maker document names the standard: Sprite’s use and care sheet says the system was tested according to NSF/ANSI 177, at 2.5 GPM with an HOC cartridge rated 25,000 gallons or 1 year. Culligan’s HSH-C135 names a certifier, IAPMO R&T, and no standard number, at 1.8 GPM and 10,000 gallons. Skip every unit here for hard water: none reduces hardness in grains per gallon.
The picks
The only maker document on this page that names the standard
Sprite HO2 shower filter, chrome
Sprite's use and care sheet says the system was tested according to NSF/ANSI 177 and gives 2.5 GPM, an HOC cartridge rated 25,000 gallons or 1 year and 125 psi maximum; no certifier named; in stock on 2026-09-21
A certifier named, but no standard number
Culligan HSH-C135
culligandiy.com says tested and certified by IAPMO R&T and prints no standard number; 1.8 GPM; WHR-140 cartridge rated 10,000 gallons or 6 months; in stock on 2026-09-21
Media disclosed in full, no 177 claim
Aquabliss SF100
Calcium sulfite, redox media and activated carbon; 3 to 6 months per Aquabliss; no gallon figure, no flow rate, no certification claimed
Filter built into the shower head, media not disclosed by Afina
Afina A-01
Media not disclosed by Afina; 95% chlorine claim and a 3 month change interval per Afina; 2.0 GPM per the listing; no certification claimed
If the complaint is white scale on the glass door and soap that will not lather, this is the wrong page: that is hardness, the hard water guide and the softener size calculator are the pages that fix it, and nothing below changes a grains-per-gallon number.
How was this shortlist built?
Every figure here is the maker’s published specification, read on 2026-09-21 from the page or use and care sheet named beside it, or the Amazon listing text where the maker printed nothing. Nothing was bench-tested. The ten units were compared on four things: an NSF/ANSI 177 claim, rated flow in gallons per minute (GPM), stated cartridge life in gallons or months, and the replacement cartridge part number. Every ASIN was checked against Amazon’s live catalogue the same day. No price is printed here.
NSF/ANSI 177 is the shower filtration standard. Plumbing & Mechanical’s summary gives the test as a 2.0 mg/L free available chlorine challenge that the system must reduce by 50 percent through its rated life, and reproduces the standard’s chloramine disclaimer.
NSF’s own certified shower filter listing returned 6 products on 2026-09-21, none of them a brand below. That list is not the whole picture: IAPMO R&T is a separate certifier that also lists to NSF/ANSI 177, and its directory was not opened at the last check. So a maker’s own wording is all this page has, and only Sprite’s wording contains the number 177.
KDF-55 is a copper-zinc granular media and calcium sulfite is a reactive salt; both are sold as free chlorine media, and no maker here publishes a chloramine or hardness figure for either. NSF/ANSI 44 is the softener standard, and no unit claims it.
How do the units compare on paper?
Manufacturer figures unless the cell says “listing”. “Not published” means the cited page prints no value; “not confirmed” means the only figure found was a retailer’s, not the maker’s. A unit with no link had no Amazon offer on 2026-09-21.
| Unit | Media | NSF/ANSI 177 | Rated flow | Cartridge life | Replacement cartridge |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sprite HO2, chrome | Chlorgon, Sprite’s patented blend, media not itemised by Sprite | Sprite’s sheet: tested according to NSF/ANSI 177, no certifier named | 2.5 GPM | 25,000 gallons or 1 year | HOC |
| Culligan HSH-C135 | KDF and activated carbon, secondary source only | Not claimed: culligandiy.com says tested and certified by IAPMO R&T and prints no standard number | 1.8 GPM | 10,000 gallons or 6 months | WHR-140 |
| Culligan WSH-C125 (no Amazon offer) | As HSH-C135 | Not claimed: certifier named, no standard number | 1.8 GPM | 10,000 gallons or 6 months | WHR-140 |
| Sprite SL2-BN Slim-Line2 | As HO2, not confirmed | Not confirmed | Not confirmed | Not confirmed | SLC |
| Aquabliss SF100 | Calcium sulfite, redox media, activated carbon, vitamin C with tourmaline | Not claimed | Not published | 3 to 6 months, no gallon figure | SFC100, interchangeable with SFC220 |
| Aquabliss SF220 | Sand, stainless mesh, PP cotton, calcium sulfite, redox media, activated carbon | Not claimed | Not published | 3 to 6 months, no gallon figure | SFC220, interchangeable with SFC100 |
| Afina A-01 | Not disclosed by Afina | Not claimed on afina.com | 2.0 GPM per the listing; not on afina.com | 3 months per Afina, no gallon figure | A-01 |
| Jolie Filtered Showerhead | KDF-55 and calcium sulfite, third-party copy only | Not found | 1.8 GPM per the listing | Not confirmed | Not confirmed |
| AquaHomeGroup 15 Stage (no Amazon offer) | KDF, vitamin C ceramic balls, calcium sulfite | Not claimed | Not published | About 10,000 gallons or 4 to 6 months, from the handheld variant’s page | Model A-15 |
| Berkey Shower Filter (no Amazon offer) | Not specified by Berkey | Not claimed | 2.5 GPM | 30,000 gallons or 1 year on berkeywaterfilters.com | SKU W01BERKEY |
Sprite HO2: buy it or skip it?
Buy it if the standard number matters. Sprite Industries’ use and care sheet for model HO2 is the only maker document on this page that prints “NSF/ANSI 177”: it states the system was tested according to the standard for reduction of free chlorine, and gives the HOC cartridge 25,000 gallons or 1 year, a 2.5 GPM rated service flow and a 125 psi maximum working pressure. That is two and a half times Culligan’s cartridge life.
Admit the gap before the link. “Tested according to” is not a certification: Sprite is absent from NSF’s listing and names no certifier on the sheet, so the claim is Sprite’s own. Sprite calls the Chlorgon media a patented blend and does not itemise it. The chrome HO2 is the finish in stock: the white HO2-WH had no Amazon offer on 2026-09-21, same housing, same cartridge.
Skip it if a third party’s name on the certificate is the bar. Nothing here clears it.
Alternative: the Culligan HSH-C135 , shorter cartridge life, a certifier named instead of a standard.
Culligan HSH-C135: buy it or skip it?
Buy it if a certifier’s name is worth more than the standard number. Culligan’s page for the hand-held filtered showerhead says “Tested and Certified by IAPMO R & T”, and prints 1.8 GPM and a WHR-140 cartridge rated 10,000 gallons or 6 months.
The gap is the sentence that page does not contain. “NSF” and “177” do not appear on culligandiy.com’s product page at all, so what IAPMO R&T certified the unit against is not published and this page cannot call it a 177 unit. It is also the hand-held version: the wall-mount WSH-C125 was out of stock on Amazon on 2026-09-21.
Skip it if the filter must sit behind an existing shower head: the HSH-C135 replaces the head and the arm fitting, and the cartridge in the handle makes it top-heavy.
Alternative: the Sprite HO2 , an inline housing with two and a half times the cartridge life and the standard number in writing.
Aquabliss SF100: buy it or skip it?
Buy it if a full media list beats a certification claim. Aquabliss prints calcium sulfite, redox media and activated carbon with a vitamin C and tourmaline stage, and gives the SFC100 cartridge 3 to 6 months.
The flaw is everything Aquabliss does not print: no NSF/ANSI 177 claim, no flow rate, no gallon figure behind the 3 to 6 months, no chlorine percentage. The Aquabliss SF220 adds a sediment stage in front of the same chlorine media on the same interval; the SFC100 and SFC220 cartridges fit either housing.
Skip it if the reader wants to plan cartridge spend in gallons rather than months.
Alternative: the Sprite HO2 , the same inline format with a gallon rating behind the interval.
Afina A-01: buy it or skip it?
Buy it if the filter should sit inside the shower head rather than in a housing behind it. Afina’s science page claims 95% chlorine reduction and a three month change interval; the listing adds 2.0 GPM. Afina does not name the media.
The flaw is the paper trail behind the percentage. Afina claims no NSF/ANSI 177 listing; a third-party site says the A-01 “exceeds” the standard and afina.com does not, so this page counts the unit as uncertified. Afina prints no gallon figure and no flow rate of its own.
Skip it if a gallons-per-cartridge number is the bar. The Jolie Filtered Showerhead is the same format at 1.8 GPM per its listing, but jolieskinco.com could not be opened at the last check, so it stays in the table.
Alternative: the Aquabliss SF100 , an inline housing that keeps the shower head the reader already owns.
Before you buy a shower filter for hard water
Do not order any unit on this page until a hardness number in grains per gallon is known.
A test strip from the water test kit page gives it, the hardness unit converter turns a mg/L result into gpg, and the softener size calculator turns gpg into a grain capacity. If hardness is the problem, the fix is a softener, and the best water softener page compares them by published spec.
If the number is low and the complaint is chlorine at the shower, the Sprite HO2 is the one unit whose own document names NSF/ANSI 177, and the Culligan HSH-C135
is the one that names a certifier.
What goes wrong?
The utility uses chloramine. NSF/ANSI 177’s own disclaimer, printed in Sprite’s use and care sheet, says the system has not been evaluated for free chlorine reduction in the presence of chloramines, and no maker here publishes a chloramine figure. The chlorine and chloramine guide explains how to find out which one the utility adds.
The reader bought a shower filter for scale. None of the ten makers prints a gpg reduction or an NSF/ANSI 44 listing, and the salt-free conditioner vs softener guide covers the closest thing to a no-salt fix.
Reduction falls off before the cartridge is due. Berkey’s knowledge base states its shower filter converts free chlorine at up to 95% when new and between 50% and 75% by the end of its one year life. That is why the NSF/ANSI 177 test runs to the end of rated life.
The model the page recommended is gone. Amazon reported the Culligan WSH-C125, the Sprite HO2-WH, the Berkey shower filter and the AquaHomeGroup 15 Stage out of stock on 2026-09-21. In both pick cases the fix was a sibling model on the same cartridge.
Frequently asked questions
What does an NSF/ANSI 177 certification on a shower filter guarantee?
One claim only: free available chlorine reduction. Plumbing & Mechanical's summary of NSF/ANSI 177 gives the test as a 2.0 mg/L free chlorine challenge that the filter must cut by at least 50 percent through its rated life. The standard says nothing about hardness, chloramine, heavy metals or any of the vitamin C and mineral claims shower filters are sold on.
Do shower filters reduce chloramine the way they reduce chlorine?
Not under NSF/ANSI 177. The standard's own disclaimer, printed in Sprite's use and care sheet and reproduced by Plumbing & Mechanical, states that the system has not been evaluated for free chlorine reduction in the presence of chloramines. If the utility disinfects with chloramine, a shower filter's chlorine figure does not transfer, and the chlorine and chloramine guide on this site is the page to read first.
Will a shower head filter make hard water soft?
No. Hardness is dissolved calcium and magnesium measured in grains per gallon, and NSF/ANSI 44 is the standard for residential cation exchange softeners. None of the ten units on this page claims a 44 listing or prints a gpg reduction. KDF-55 and calcium sulfite are free chlorine media. A softener sized on the softener size calculator is what changes the number.
How long does a shower filter cartridge actually last?
Whatever the maker prints, and the figures vary by a factor of ten. Culligan rates the WHR-140 at 10,000 gallons or 6 months, and Sprite's own use and care sheet gives the HOC cartridge 25,000 gallons or 1 year. Aquabliss gives 3 to 6 months with no gallon figure, and Afina advises 3 months.
Does chlorine reduction fall off before the cartridge is due for replacement?
Berkey is the only maker on this page that says so. Its knowledge base states the shower filter converts free chlorine at up to 95 percent when new and between 50 and 75 percent by the end of its one year life. NSF/ANSI 177 tests to the end of rated life, which is why a 177 listing is worth more than a new-cartridge headline percentage.
Fact sheet and how to cite this page
- Answer
- No brand on this page appears in NSF’s own shower filter listing, which held 6 certified products on 2026-09-21. The pick is the Sprite HO2, the only unit whose maker document names the standard: Sprite’s use and care sheet says the system was tested according to NSF/ANSI 177, at 2.5 GPM with an HOC cartridge rated 25,000 gallons or 1 year. No inline shower filter reduces hardness in grains per gallon.
- Comparison basis
- Manufacturer product pages, a Sprite Industries use and care sheet and Amazon listing text compared on NSF/ANSI 177 status, media, rated flow in GPM, stated cartridge life in gallons or months and replacement part number, read on 2026-09-21, against the NSF/ANSI 177 test as summarised by Plumbing & Mechanical.
- Assumptions
- City water disinfected with free chlorine, not chloramine, since NSF/ANSI 177 does not evaluate chloramine
- Cartridge intervals taken at the maker’s stated gallons or months, whichever the maker prints
- Method
- OwnerSpec compared published manufacturer specifications, listing text and the NSF/ANSI 177 test conditions, and checked every ASIN against Amazon’s live catalogue on 2026-09-21; it did not test any shower filter hands-on and gathered no cartridge prices.
- Primary source
- Plumbing & Mechanical, NSF/ANSI Standard 177: a level playing field for shower filter claims (manufacturer or vendor document)
- Facts verified
- Last updated
- Cite as
- OwnerSpec, "Best shower head filter for chlorine and hard water: no brand here is in NSF's 177 listing, and only one names the standard at all", https://ownerspec.com/water/reviews/best-shower-head-filter-chlorine-hard-water/, facts verified 21 September 2026.
Every figure above also appears, with its source, in the article. All sources ยท How OwnerSpec verifies numbers
Sources
- Plumbing & Mechanical, NSF/ANSI Standard 177: a level playing field for shower filter claims (manufacturer or vendor document)
- NSF, certified Drinking Water Treatment Units listing, product type Shower Filter (standards or certification body)
- NSF, NSF/ANSI 44 technical requirements (residential cation exchange water softeners) (standards or certification body)
- Culligan DIY, HSH-C135 hand-held filtered showerhead product page (manufacturer or vendor document)
- Culligan DIY, WSH-C125 wall-mounted filtered showerhead product page (manufacturer or vendor document)
- Sprite Industries, use and care instructions, high-output shower filter model HO2 (PDF) (manufacturer or vendor document)
- Aquabliss, SF100 shower filter product page (manufacturer or vendor document)
- Aquabliss, SF220 shower filter product page (manufacturer or vendor document)
- Afina, the science behind the A-01 filter (manufacturer or vendor document)
- Berkey Water Filters, Berkey shower filter product page (manufacturer or vendor document)
- Berkey Water Knowledge Base, how much chlorine is removed by the Berkey shower filter (manufacturer or vendor document)
- AquaHomeGroup, 15 stage shower filter product page (manufacturer or vendor document)