# Best shower head filter for chlorine and hard water: NSF/ANSI 177, GPM and cartridge life, by published spec

> NSF/ANSI 177 covers free chlorine only. Culligan WSH-C125 names it: 1.8 GPM, 10,000 gal cartridge. No shower filter softens hard water.

| | |
|---|---|
| Source | https://ownerspec.com/water/reviews/best-shower-head-filter-chlorine-hard-water/ |
| Publisher | OwnerSpec (https://ownerspec.com/) |
| Published | 2026-09-12 |
| Updated | 2026-09-12 |
| Facts verified | 2026-09-12 |
| Disclosure | Contains affiliate links. OwnerSpec may earn a commission at no cost to the reader. |

---

## Short answer

For a shower head filter chosen on published spec, the deciding line is NSF/ANSI 177, the
only certification written for shower filters, and it covers one claim: free chlorine
reduction, tested as a 2.0 mg/L challenge that the cartridge must cut by at least 50 percent
through its rated life. NSF's own listing database held 6 certified shower filters on
2026-09-12 and none of the nine brands on this page is among them. The pick is the Culligan
WSH-C125, because its listing names IAPMO R&T certification to NSF/ANSI 177 by number and
Culligan prints 1.8 GPM and a WHR-140 cartridge rated 10,000 gallons or 6 months. The
runner-up is the Sprite HO2-WH, whose listing claims NSF certified chlorine reduction and a
25,000 gallon, 12 month cartridge, neither confirmed on Sprite's own site. Skip every unit
here if the problem is hard water: no inline shower filter reduces hardness in grains per
gallon, and chloramine sits outside the standard entirely.

## Fact sheet

- **Answer:** No brand on this page appears in NSF's own shower filter listing, which held 6 certified products on 2026-09-12. The Culligan WSH-C125 is the pick because its listing names IAPMO R&T certification to NSF/ANSI 177, with 1.8 GPM and a WHR-140 cartridge rated 10,000 gallons or 6 months. No inline shower filter reduces hardness in grains per gallon.
- **Comparison basis:** Manufacturer product pages and Amazon listing text compared on NSF/ANSI 177 status, media, rated flow in GPM, stated cartridge life in gallons or months and replacement part number, read on 2026-09-12, against the NSF/ANSI 177 test as summarised by Plumbing & Mechanical.
- **Assumptions:** City water disinfected with free chlorine, not chloramine, since NSF/ANSI 177 does not evaluate chloramine; Cartridge intervals taken at the maker's stated gallons or months, whichever the maker prints
- **Method:** OwnerSpec compared published manufacturer specifications, listing text and the NSF/ANSI 177 test conditions; it did not test any shower filter hands-on and gathered no cartridge prices.
- **Primary source:** [Plumbing & Mechanical, NSF/ANSI Standard 177: a level playing field for shower filter claims](https://www.pmmag.com/articles/87589-web-exclusive-br-nsf-ansi-standard-177-a-level-playing-field-for-shower-filter-claims) (manufacturer or vendor document)
- **Facts verified:** 2026-09-12
- **Last updated:** 2026-09-12
- **Canonical URL (cite this):** https://ownerspec.com/water/reviews/best-shower-head-filter-chlorine-hard-water/

If the complaint is white scale on the glass door and soap that will not lather, this is the wrong page: that is hardness, the [hard water guide](/water/guides/hard-water-white-scale/) and the [softener size calculator](/water/calculators/water-softener-size-calculator/) are the pages that fix it, and nothing below changes a grains-per-gallon number.

## How was this shortlist built?

Every figure on this page is the manufacturer's published specification, read from the
product page named beside it on 2026-09-12, or the text of the Amazon listing where the
maker's own page printed nothing. Nothing was bench-tested and no unit carries a rating from
this site.

The nine units were compared on four things: an NSF/ANSI 177 listing, rated flow in gallons
per minute (GPM), stated cartridge life in gallons or months, and the replacement cartridge
part number.

Cartridge cost per year is not printed: no maker's price was read this session and this
site never copies a price from Amazon, so multiply the interval by the cartridge price on the
maker's own page.

NSF/ANSI 177 is the shower filtration standard. Plumbing & Mechanical's summary of the
standard gives the test as a 2.0 mg/L free available chlorine challenge that the system must
reduce by 50 percent through its rated life, and reproduces the standard's disclaimer that the
system has not been evaluated in the presence of chloramines.

"Listed" here means where the claim was read. NSF's own certified shower filter
listing returned 6 products on 2026-09-12, from ATGENE, Coconutfilter, Seongill Chemical, UBS
Inc. and Weddell Water, and none of the brands below.

The Culligan claim is per its Amazon listing and per culligandiy.com, which names IAPMO R&T
as the certifier; the Sprite claim is per its Amazon listing only, because spriteshowers.com
could not be opened this session.

KDF-55 is a copper-zinc granular media and calcium sulfite is a reactive salt; both are sold
as free chlorine media, and no maker on this page publishes a chloramine or hardness figure
for either. NSF/ANSI 44 is the standard for residential cation exchange softeners, and no
unit here claims it or prints a hardness reduction in grains per gallon.

## How do the units compare on paper?

Manufacturer figures unless the cell says "listing". "Not published" means the cited page
prints no value; "not confirmed" means the only figure found came from a retailer or a
third-party page, not the maker.

| Unit | Media | NSF/ANSI 177 | Rated flow | Cartridge life | Replacement cartridge |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Culligan WSH-C125 | KDF and activated carbon, secondary source only | Listing: IAPMO R&T certified to NSF/ANSI 177; culligandiy.com names IAPMO R&T without the standard number | 1.8 GPM | 10,000 gallons or 6 months | WHR-140 |
| Sprite HO2-WH | Chlorgon, Sprite's KDF and calcium sulfite blend, per retailer copy | Listing: "NSF Certified Chlorine Reduction"; maker page unread | 2.5 GPM, not confirmed | 25,000 gallons or 12 months per the listing | HOC |
| Sprite SL2-BN Slim-Line2 | As HO2-WH, not confirmed | Not confirmed | Not confirmed | Not confirmed | SLC |
| Aquabliss SF100 | Calcium sulfite, redox media, activated carbon, vitamin C with tourmaline | Not claimed | Not published | 3 to 6 months, no gallon figure | SFC100, interchangeable with SFC220 |
| Aquabliss SF220 | Sand, stainless mesh, PP cotton, calcium sulfite, redox media, activated carbon | Not claimed | Not published | 3 to 6 months, no gallon figure | SFC220, interchangeable with SFC100 |
| Afina A-01 | Not disclosed by Afina | Not claimed on afina.com | 2.0 GPM per the listing; not on afina.com | 3 months per Afina, no gallon figure | A-01 |
| Jolie Filtered Showerhead | KDF-55 and calcium sulfite, third-party copy only | Not found | 1.8 GPM per the listing | Not confirmed | Not confirmed |
| AquaHomeGroup 15 Stage | KDF, vitamin C ceramic balls, calcium sulfite | Not claimed | Not published | About 10,000 gallons or 4 to 6 months, from the handheld variant's page | Model A-15, 2 cartridges in the box per the listing |
| Berkey Shower Filter | Not specified by Berkey | Not claimed | 2.5 GPM | 30,000 gallons or 1 year on berkeywaterfilters.com; 10,000 or 20,000 gallons on the listing | SKU W01BERKEY |

## Culligan WSH-C125: buy it or skip it?

Buy it if the reader wants the one unit whose listing names NSF/ANSI 177 by number and a
certifier by name. The Amazon listing reads "tested and certified by IAPMO R&T to NSF/ANSI
standard 177", culligandiy.com repeats the IAPMO R&T testing, and Culligan prints 1.8 GPM and
a WHR-140 cartridge rated 10,000 gallons or 6 months.

Admit the gaps before the link. Culligan's own page prints the certifier but not the standard
number, so the 177 claim rests on listing text, and neither page prints a chlorine percentage.
The unit is a fixed wall-mounted head, not an inline housing, so it replaces the shower head
the reader already has.

Skip it if it has to ship this week: the listing read "currently unavailable" on 2026-09-12.

Alternative: the Sprite HO2-WH, an inline
housing with a longer stated cartridge life and a weaker paper trail.

## Sprite HO2-WH: buy it or skip it?

Buy it if the deciding number is cartridge life. The listing gives the HOC cartridge 25,000
gallons or 12 months, two and a half times Culligan's 10,000 gallons, and states "NSF
Certified Chlorine Reduction".

The flaw is that every Sprite figure here comes from the listing or a retailer:
spriteshowers.com could not be opened this session, so the 2.5 GPM flow, the Chlorgon media
and the certification are unconfirmed on the maker's site, and Sprite is absent from NSF's
own listing.

Skip it if a maker-confirmed spec is the bar; skip it if the reader needs it in stock, because
the listing read "currently unavailable" on 2026-09-12. The
Sprite SL2-BN Slim-Line2 was in stock the same
day, but no flow, life or certification figure for it was confirmed anywhere, so it is in the
table and not in the picks.

Alternative: the Culligan WSH-C125, shorter
cartridge life, standard named.

## Aquabliss SF100: buy it or skip it?

Buy it if the reader wants an inline housing that was in stock on 2026-09-12 and a maker that
prints its media. Aquabliss lists calcium sulfite, redox media and activated carbon with a
vitamin C and tourmaline stage, and gives the SFC100 cartridge 3 to 6 months depending on
water quality.

The flaw is everything Aquabliss does not print: no NSF/ANSI 177 claim, no flow rate, no
gallon figure behind the 3 to 6 months, and no chlorine percentage on the SF100 page.

The Aquabliss SF220 adds a sand, stainless mesh
and PP cotton sediment stage in front of the same chlorine media, with the same 3 to 6 month
interval and the same missing flow rate; the SFC100 and SFC220 cartridges fit either housing.

Skip it if a certification is the reason for buying, or if the reader wants to plan cartridge
spend in gallons rather than months.

Alternative: the Culligan WSH-C125, if the
reader can wait for stock and accept a fixed head.

## Afina A-01: buy it or skip it?

Buy it if the reader wants the filter inside the shower head rather than a housing behind it.
Afina's science page claims 95% chlorine reduction and advises replacing the A-01 filter every
three months; the listing adds a 2.0 GPM rating. Afina does not name the filter media on that
page or on its product page.

The flaw is the paper trail behind the percentage. Afina claims no NSF/ANSI 177 listing; a
third-party site says the A-01 "exceeds" the standard, and afina.com does not, so this page
counts the unit as uncertified. Afina prints no gallon figure and no flow rate of its own.

Skip it if a certification or a gallons-per-cartridge number is the bar. The
Jolie Filtered Showerhead is the same format
at 1.8 GPM per its listing, but jolieskinco.com could not be opened this session and no Jolie
media, life or certification figure is confirmed, so it stays in the table.

Alternative: the Aquabliss SF100, an inline
housing that keeps the shower head the reader already owns.

**Before you buy a shower filter for hard water**

Do not order any unit on this page until a hardness number in grains per gallon is known.

A test strip from the [water test kit page](/water/reviews/best-water-test-kit-well-and-city/)
gives it, the [hardness unit converter](/water/calculators/water-hardness-unit-converter/)
turns a mg/L result into gpg, and the [softener size calculator](/water/calculators/water-softener-size-calculator/)
turns gpg into a grain capacity.

If the number is the problem, the fix is a softener, and the
[best water softener](/water/reviews/best-water-softener-for-well-water/) page compares them
by published spec.

If the number is low and the complaint is chlorine at the shower, the
Culligan WSH-C125 is the unit with NSF/ANSI
177 on its listing, and the Aquabliss SF100
is the in-stock inline housing with its media disclosed.

## What goes wrong?

The utility uses chloramine. NSF/ANSI 177's own disclaimer, as reproduced by Plumbing &
Mechanical, says the system has not been evaluated for free chlorine reduction in the presence
of chloramines, and no maker here publishes a chloramine figure. The
[chlorine and chloramine guide](/water/guides/chlorine-chloramine-city-water/) explains how to
find out which one the utility adds.

The reader bought a shower filter for scale. Hardness is calcium and magnesium in grains per
gallon; none of the nine makers prints a gpg reduction or an NSF/ANSI 44 listing, and the
[salt-free conditioner vs softener guide](/water/guides/salt-free-water-conditioner-vs-softener/)
covers the closest thing to a no-salt fix.

Reduction falls off before the cartridge is due. Berkey's knowledge base states its shower
filter converts free chlorine at up to 95% when new and between 50% and 75% by the end of its
one year life.

That is the honest version of every headline percentage on this page, which is
why the NSF/ANSI 177 test runs to the end of rated life.

The listing and the maker's page disagree. Berkey's site prints 30,000 gallons while its
Amazon listing prints 10,000 gallons in one place and 20,000 in another; AquaHomeGroup's own
page claims both "up to 99%" and "90%+" chlorine reduction for the same unit. Where two figures
exist, this page prints both and their sources rather than choosing one.

<!-- FAQ and Sources render from front matter. Do not write them in the body. -->

## The picks

- **Culligan WSH-C125**: The only unit whose listing names NSF/ANSI 177 (IAPMO R&T certified to NSF/ANSI 177 per the listing; 1.8 GPM; WHR-140 cartridge rated 10,000 gallons or 6 months; unavailable on Amazon on 2026-09-12) Amazon: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0006VVN1S/?tag=ownerspec-20
- **Sprite HO2-WH**: Longest stated cartridge life, claim on the listing only (NSF certified chlorine reduction and 25,000 gallons per the listing; HOC cartridge, 12 months; flow not confirmed on a maker page; unavailable on 2026-09-12) Amazon: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0064I246A/?tag=ownerspec-20
- **Aquabliss SF100**: In stock, media disclosed, no 177 claim (Calcium sulfite, redox media and activated carbon; 3 to 6 months per Aquabliss; no gallon figure, no flow rate, no certification claimed) Amazon: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0C85RLCZ7/?tag=ownerspec-20
- **Afina A-01**: Filter built into the shower head, media not disclosed by Afina (Media not disclosed by Afina; 95% chlorine claim and a 3 month change interval per Afina; 2.0 GPM per the listing; no certification claimed) Amazon: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0CXY82LMV/?tag=ownerspec-20

## Frequently asked questions

### What does an NSF/ANSI 177 certification on a shower filter guarantee?

One claim only: free available chlorine reduction. Plumbing & Mechanical's summary of NSF/ANSI 177 gives the test as a 2.0 mg/L free chlorine challenge that the filter must cut by at least 50 percent through its rated life. The standard says nothing about hardness, chloramine, heavy metals or any of the vitamin C and mineral claims shower filters are sold on.

### Do shower filters reduce chloramine the way they reduce chlorine?

Not under NSF/ANSI 177. The standard's own disclaimer, reproduced by Plumbing & Mechanical, states that the system has not been evaluated for free available chlorine reduction in the presence of chloramines. If the utility disinfects with chloramine, a shower filter's chlorine figure does not transfer, and the chlorine and chloramine guide on this site is the page to read first.

### Will a shower head filter make hard water soft?

No. Hardness is dissolved calcium and magnesium measured in grains per gallon, and NSF/ANSI 44 is the standard for residential cation exchange softeners. None of the nine units on this page claims a 44 listing or prints a gpg reduction. KDF-55 and calcium sulfite are free chlorine media. A softener sized on the softener size calculator is what changes the number.

### How long does a shower filter cartridge actually last?

Whatever the maker prints, and the figures vary by a factor of ten. Culligan rates the WHR-140 at 10,000 gallons or 6 months, Sprite's listing gives the HOC cartridge 25,000 gallons or 12 months, Aquabliss gives 3 to 6 months with no gallon figure, and Afina advises 3 months. Berkey prints 30,000 gallons on its own site and 10,000 or 20,000 on its Amazon listing.

### Does chlorine reduction fall off before the cartridge is due for replacement?

Berkey is the only maker on this page that says so. Its knowledge base states the shower filter converts free chlorine at up to 95 percent when new and between 50 and 75 percent by the end of its one year life. NSF/ANSI 177 tests to the end of rated life, which is why a 177 listing is worth more than a new-cartridge headline percentage.


## Sources

- [Plumbing & Mechanical, NSF/ANSI Standard 177: a level playing field for shower filter claims](https://www.pmmag.com/articles/87589-web-exclusive-br-nsf-ansi-standard-177-a-level-playing-field-for-shower-filter-claims) (manufacturer or vendor document)
- [NSF, certified Drinking Water Treatment Units listing, product type Shower Filter](https://info.nsf.org/Certified/DWTU/Listings.asp?ProductType=Shower+Filter) (standards or certification body)
- [NSF, NSF/ANSI 44 technical requirements (residential cation exchange water softeners)](https://www.nsf.org/knowledge-library/nsf-ansi-44-technical-requirements) (standards or certification body)
- [Aquabliss, SF100 shower filter product page](https://aquabliss.com/products/sf100-shower-filter) (manufacturer or vendor document)
- [Aquabliss, SF220 shower filter product page](https://aquabliss.com/products/sf220-shower-filter) (manufacturer or vendor document)
- [Afina, the science behind the A-01 filter](https://afina.com/pages/science) (manufacturer or vendor document)
- [Culligan DIY, WSH-C125 wall-mounted filtered shower head product page](https://culligandiy.com/products/wsh-c125-wall-mounted-shower-chrome) (manufacturer or vendor document)
- [Berkey Water Filters, Berkey shower filter product page](https://www.berkeywaterfilters.com/beshfi.html) (manufacturer or vendor document)
- [Berkey Water Knowledge Base, how much chlorine is removed by the Berkey shower filter](https://berkeywaterkb.com/how-much-chlorine-is-removed-by-the-berkey-shower-filter/) (manufacturer or vendor document)
- [AquaHomeGroup, 15 stage shower filter product page](https://aquahomegroup.com/products/handheld-shower-head-with-filter-15-stage-filtration-with-vitamin-c-and-e-with-spa-effect) (manufacturer or vendor document)

---

Citation: OwnerSpec, "Best shower head filter for chlorine and hard water: NSF/ANSI 177, GPM and cartridge life, by published spec", https://ownerspec.com/water/reviews/best-shower-head-filter-chlorine-hard-water/, facts verified 12 September 2026.
Canonical citation target: the URL above (the public HTML page), not this Markdown representation.
Reuse: quoting with attribution and a link is permitted. See https://ownerspec.com/legal/terms/.
