# Best under-sink reverse osmosis system: tank vs tankless, GPD, drain ratio and NSF/ANSI 58, by published spec

> Tankless: Waterdrop G3P800, 800 GPD, 3:1 pure to drain, NSF/ANSI 58 and 372. Tanked: iSpring RCC7AK, 75 GPD, NSF/ANSI 58, alkaline stage. Yearly filter cost.

| | |
|---|---|
| Source | https://ownerspec.com/water/reviews/best-under-sink-reverse-osmosis-system/ |
| Publisher | OwnerSpec (https://ownerspec.com/) |
| Published | 2026-09-12 |
| Updated | 2026-09-12 |
| Facts verified | 2026-09-12 |
| Disclosure | Contains affiliate links. OwnerSpec may earn a commission at no cost to the reader. |

---

## Short answer

For an under-sink reverse osmosis system chosen on published spec, the Waterdrop G3P800
leads the tankless class: Waterdrop rates it at 800 gallons per day (GPD) with a 3:1
pure-to-drain ratio and lists it as certified to NSF/ANSI 58 and NSF/ANSI 372, the RO
performance standard and the lead-content standard for wetted parts. The tanked pick is the
iSpring RCC7AK, which iSpring rates at 75 GPD with a 3.2 gallon storage tank, whole-system
NSF/ANSI 58 certification and a sixth alkaline stage that adds 30 to 60 mg/L of calcium and
magnesium. The runner-up on price is the APEC ROES-50 at 50 GPD, sold as WQA Gold Seal
certified. Skip all three if the house is on a private well with no lab report: an RO
membrane is the last stage, not the first, and iSpring's 2 to 3 year membrane interval
assumes clean feed water. Skip the Waterdrop G2 if NSF/ANSI 58 matters to you: its listing
names NSF/ANSI 372 only.

## Fact sheet

- **Answer:** For high daily draw, the Waterdrop G3P800 leads the tankless class: 800 GPD, a 3:1 pure-to-drain ratio, and listed NSF/ANSI 58 and 372 certification. For a tanked system with minerals added back, the iSpring RCC7AK is the pick at 75 GPD with whole-system NSF/ANSI 58 certification and an alkaline stage adding 30 to 60 mg/L of calcium and magnesium.
- **Comparison basis:** Published manufacturer specifications and NSF standard text compared on rated GPD, tank vs tankless, pure-to-drain ratio, NSF/ANSI 58 and 372 listing, remineralization and yearly filter cost, read from each maker's spec page on 2026-09-12.
- **Assumptions:** Feed water already pre-filtered for sediment and iron, since an RO membrane is rated as the last stage, not the first; Household draw fast enough to empty a 3.2 gallon tank between uses, the tankless case
- **Method:** OwnerSpec compared published manufacturer specifications and the NSF/ANSI 58 and 372 standard text; it did not test any RO system hands-on.
- **Primary source:** [Waterdrop, G3P800 tankless RO system product page](https://www.waterdropfilter.com/pages/reverse-osmosis-system-g3p800) (manufacturer or vendor document)
- **Facts verified:** 2026-09-12
- **Last updated:** 2026-09-12
- **Canonical URL (cite this):** https://ownerspec.com/water/reviews/best-under-sink-reverse-osmosis-system/

If the complaint is white scale on the kettle rather than the taste at the drinking tap, this is the wrong page: that is hardness, the [hard water guide](/water/guides/hard-water-white-scale/) sizes a softener for the whole house, and an under-sink RO touches one faucet.

## How was this shortlist built?

Every figure on this page is the manufacturer's published specification, read from the
product spec page named beside it on 2026-09-12, or the standard's own text from NSF. Nothing
was bench-tested and no unit carries a rating from this site.

The units were compared on the specs that decide whether an RO system fits a household: [rated
production in GPD](/water/calculators/reverse-osmosis-gpd-tank-size-calculator/), tank or tankless, pure-to-drain ratio, NSF/ANSI 58 and NSF/ANSI 372
listing, a remineralization stage, the yearly cost of the filter set at the maker's own prices,
and whether a faucet ships in the box.

NSF/ANSI 58 is the standard for point-of-use reverse osmosis drinking water systems; NSF says
it covers material safety, structural integrity, and TDS and arsenic reduction claims.
NSF/ANSI/CAN 372 is the lead-content standard: NSF puts the limit at a 0.25% weighted average
for wetted surfaces.

One gap is flagged rather than filled. No maker's page or listing displayed a certificate
number, and the NSF listings search and the WQA product finder are interactive forms that
could not be queried by URL this session, so "listed" below means the maker's own claim on its
spec page or listing, not a database record.

The fifth candidate, the Frizzlife PD600-TAM3, is in the table on its maker's figures but is
not linked: its Amazon listing was not opened and confirmed this session, and this site does
not link a listing it has not read.

A tanked system fills a pressurized storage tank slowly and serves from it; a tankless system
makes water at the faucet's demand and needs the higher GPD to do so. iSpring's 75 GPD is about
3.1 gallons an hour, so the 3.2 gallon tank is what the reader drinks from; at 800 GPD the
Waterdrop G3P800 has no tank to wait for. The price of that is the filter column: about $155 a
year against about $95 to $102. The drain ratio is the other cost: Waterdrop prints 3:1 for the
G3P800, meaning three parts pure to one part to drain, while neither iSpring nor APEC prints a
ratio for its tanked unit, so the table below leaves those cells empty rather than guessing.

## How do the units compare on paper?

Manufacturer figures. "Not published" means the cited page prints no value. Yearly filter cost
is the maker's listed part prices divided by the maker's listed intervals.

| Unit | GPD | Tank | Pure to drain | NSF/ANSI 58 | NSF/ANSI 372 | Remineralization | Filters per year | Faucet |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Waterdrop G3P800 | 800 | Tankless | 3:1 (page and listing agree) | Listed | Listed | None | About $155: CF $29.99 per 6 months, CB $29.99 per 12, membrane $129.99 per 24 | Smart LED faucet in the listing title |
| iSpring RCC7AK | 75 | 3.2 gal | Not published | Listed, whole system | Not stated on the page | Alkaline stage, 30 to 60 mg/L Ca and Mg | About $95 to $102: F9K set $80.99 per year, MC7 membrane $42.99 per 2 to 3 years | Brushed nickel faucet and tank included |
| APEC ROES-50 | 50 at 60 psi | 4 gal | Not published | Listing title says 58 and 372; APEC's page says WQA Gold Seal without a number | As left | None | Not published on APEC's page | Faucet and tank included |
| Waterdrop G2 | 400 | Tankless | 2:1 on Waterdrop's page, 1:1 in the listing title | Not claimed | Listed | None | $104.98, Waterdrop's own stated average, since the G2CF's 1,100 gallon cap usually means two swaps a year at $29.99 plus one G2MRO at $89.99 per 2 years | Not stated on Waterdrop's page |
| Frizzlife PD600-TAM3 (not linked, listing unread) | 600 | Tankless | 2:1 on Frizzlife's page, 1.5:1 in the listing title | Listed | Listed | Alkaline TAM3 stage | About $107: stage 1 $33.99 per 12 months, membrane $85.99 per 24, FZ-4 $29.99 per 12 | Not stated on the page read |

## Waterdrop G3P800: buy it or skip it?

Buy it if the household draws faster than a tank refills, wants the cupboard back, and wants
both NSF/ANSI 58 and NSF/ANSI 372 named on the same listing. Waterdrop's page and the Amazon
title agree on 800 GPD and a 3:1 pure-to-drain ratio; the page names NSF/ANSI 58 and 372, and
the Amazon listing adds 42 and 53 to that pair.

Waterdrop lists ten stages including a UV stage, and prices the set at CF $29.99 every 6
months, CB $29.99 every 12 and the membrane $129.99 every 24. That sums to about $155 a year;
Waterdrop's own figure is "about $0.40/day".

Skip it if remineralized water is the reason for buying RO: there is no alkaline stage, and
the Frizzlife PD600-TAM3 is the tankless unit that has one. Skip it if the yearly filter
budget is under $100, because the membrane alone is $129.99 every two years.

Skip it if the unit needs to sit on a well with no sediment stage upstream: the [whole-house sediment filter](/water/reviews/best-whole-house-sediment-filter-well-water/) page is the pre-filter this system assumes.

Alternative: the Waterdrop G2, at 400 GPD and $104.98 a year by Waterdrop's own figure, if
NSF/ANSI 372 alone is enough.

## iSpring RCC7AK: buy it or skip it?

Buy it if a 3.2 gallon tank covers the household's draw, the reader wants minerals put back,
and whole-system NSF/ANSI 58 certification is the deciding line. iSpring rates it at 75 GPD
and prints certified reduction figures for the system, including 97.9% for TDS and 98.9% for
lead.

The sixth stage is calcite, mineral stones and magnesium oxide, which iSpring says adds 30 to
60 mg/L of calcium and magnesium. iSpring prices the F9K one-year set at $80.99 and the MC7
membrane at $42.99 every 2 to 3 years.

Skip it if the cupboard cannot take a tank plus six vertical housings. Skip it if the drain
ratio matters, because iSpring's page prints none. Skip it if the model number on the listing
is anything but RCC7AK-BN: RCC7P-AK and RCC1UP-AK are pumped, higher-GPD variants with
different filter sets.

Alternative: the [APEC ROES-50](/water/parts/apec-roes-50-replacement-filters/), tanked and five-stage, without the alkaline stage.

## APEC ROES-50: buy it or skip it?

Buy it if 50 GPD at 60 psi is enough, the feed pressure sits inside APEC's 40 to 85 psi range,
and a WQA Gold Seal is an acceptable substitute for an NSF mark. APEC ships a 4 gallon tank
and a faucet in the box.

The Amazon title supplies the standard numbers, NSF/ANSI 372 and 58; APEC's own product page
names WQA Gold Seal and TDS reduction testing without printing either number.

Skip it if feed pressure is below 40 psi, APEC's floor. Skip it if the reader wants a filter
cost figure before buying, because APEC's page prints none.

Alternative: the [iSpring RCC7AK](/water/parts/ispring-rcc7-replacement-filters/), 25 GPD faster on paper and with an alkaline stage.

## Waterdrop G2: buy it or skip it?

Buy it if a tankless unit is the goal and NSF/ANSI 372, the lead-content standard, is the only
listing required. Waterdrop rates it at 400 GPD across seven stages.

The G2CF filter is $29.99 for 12 months or 1,100 gallons and the G2MRO membrane is $89.99 for
24 months or 2,200 gallons, on Waterdrop's page. Most households hit the gallon cap before the
month cap, so two G2CF swaps a year is typical, not one: Waterdrop's own product page states
an average annual cost of $104.98 for this pair, not the roughly $75 a single-swap year would
suggest.

Skip it if NSF/ANSI 58 is on the shopping list: neither Waterdrop's page nor the Amazon
listing claims it, unlike the other three units linked here. Skip it if the drain ratio is
the deciding number, because Waterdrop's page says 2:1 and the Amazon title says 1:1.

Alternative: the [Waterdrop G3P800](/water/parts/waterdrop-g3-g3p800-replacement-filters/), which carries the 58 listing and an agreed 3:1 ratio for
about $50 a year more in filters, using Waterdrop's own $104.98 figure for the G2.

**Before you buy an RO system**

Do not order a system until two numbers are known: the feed pressure at the sink and, on a
well, a lab result for the water going into it. The [well water test panel](/water/guides/well-water-test-panel/)
is where the second one comes from.

Feed pressure under 40 psi rules out the APEC ROES-50
on APEC's own range. A household that empties a 3.2 gallon tank between draws is a tankless
household, and the Waterdrop G3P800 is the
tankless unit with NSF/ANSI 58 and 372 both named. Everyone else is a
iSpring RCC7AK household at about half the
yearly filter cost.

## What goes wrong?

The membrane is asked to do the pre-filter's job. iSpring's 2 to 3 year interval for the MC7
and Waterdrop's 24 months for the G3P800 membrane are the makers' figures for the membrane
behind its own carbon and sediment stages. On a well with [iron](/water/guides/iron-in-well-water/)
or sediment upstream, those stages load first and the membrane follows.

Hardness scales the membrane. The [hard water guide](/water/guides/hard-water-white-scale/)
explains what the white deposit is; a whole-house softener sized on the [softener calculator](/water/calculators/water-softener-size-calculator/)
ahead of the RO is the fix, not a more frequent membrane swap.

Feed pressure falls below the maker's floor. APEC's range is 40 to 85 psi; Waterdrop's page
for the G2 prints 14.5 to 87 psi. A tanked system on a weak feed fills slowly and a tankless
one flows slowly.

The listing and the spec page disagree. Two of the five models here carry a different drain
ratio on Amazon than on the maker's site, and the RCC7AK sits in a family of similar model
numbers. Read the suffix and the ratio on the spec page, not the title.

<!-- FAQ and Sources render from front matter. Do not write them in the body. -->

## The picks

- **Waterdrop G3P800**: Tankless, high draw, NSF/ANSI 58 and 372 listed (800 GPD, 3:1 pure to drain, 10-stage with UV, no remineralization; filters about $155 a year at Waterdrop's prices) Amazon: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0987FCQQW/?tag=ownerspec-20
- **iSpring RCC7AK**: Tanked, whole-system NSF/ANSI 58, wants minerals back (75 GPD, 3.2 gal tank, 6 stages with alkaline stage adding 30 to 60 mg/L Ca and Mg; F9K set $80.99 a year, MC7 membrane $42.99 every 2 to 3 years) Amazon: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B005LJ8EXU/?tag=ownerspec-20
- **APEC ROES-50**: Tanked, lowest stage count, WQA Gold Seal (50 GPD at 60 psi, 4 gal tank, 5 stages, feed 40 to 85 psi; faucet included; filter cost not on APEC's page) Amazon: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00I0ZGOZM/?tag=ownerspec-20
- **Waterdrop G2**: Tankless on a budget, NSF/ANSI 372 only (400 GPD, 7 stages; 2:1 on Waterdrop's page, 1:1 on the listing; Waterdrop's own stated average annual filter cost is $104.98, since the G2CF's 1,100 gallon cap usually forces two swaps a year) Amazon: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B082CZ9XZ9/?tag=ownerspec-20

## Frequently asked questions

### What does NSF/ANSI 58 certification on an RO system actually cover?

NSF/ANSI 58 is the standard for point-of-use reverse osmosis drinking water systems. NSF says it sets minimum requirements for material safety in contact with water (including NSF/ANSI/CAN 372 lead content), structural integrity, and the TDS and arsenic reduction claims a maker prints. A system certified only to NSF/ANSI 372 has had its wetted materials checked for lead content, not its performance.

### What is the difference between NSF/ANSI 58 and NSF/ANSI 372?

NSF/ANSI/CAN 372 sets a weighted average lead content limit of 0.25% for the wetted surfaces of products that convey drinking water, the same threshold the Safe Drinking Water Act uses for its lead free definition. NSF/ANSI 58 is the performance standard for reverse osmosis systems. Of the five models on this page, the Waterdrop G2 carries 372 alone.

### Is a tankless RO system worth the higher filter cost?

Only if the household draws more than a 3.2 or 4 gallon tank refills between uses. Waterdrop's own filter prices for the G3P800 sum to about $155 a year against about $95 to $102 for the iSpring RCC7AK, using iSpring's F9K and MC7 prices. The tankless unit gives 800 GPD and a 3:1 drain ratio; the tanked unit gives 75 GPD and a full cupboard.

### Why do the same RO systems show different pure-to-drain ratios on Amazon and the maker's site?

Two of the five models on this page do. Waterdrop's page lists the G2 at 2:1 while the Amazon listing title says 1:1, and Frizzlife's page lists the PD600-TAM3 at 2:1 while its Amazon title says 1.5:1. Neither maker explains the gap, so this page prints both figures and the source of each rather than picking one.

### Do any under-sink RO systems carry an EPA WaterSense label?

Not as of 2026-09-12. EPA WaterSense has circulated a draft specification for residential reverse osmosis systems that addresses water efficiency, meaning the pure-to-drain ratio, but it is a draft and no product on this page is labelled under it. Until it is final, the ratio a maker prints on its own spec page is the only efficiency figure available.


## Sources

- [NSF, NSF/ANSI 58: Reverse Osmosis Drinking Water Treatment Systems](https://www.nsf.org/knowledge-library/nsf-ansi-58-reverse-osmosis-drinking-water-treatment-systems) (standards or certification body)
- [NSF, NSF/ANSI/CAN 372 Technical Requirements](https://www.nsf.org/knowledge-library/nsf-ansi-can-372-technical-requirements) (standards or certification body)
- [ANSI, 'Lead Free' Drinking Water: Regulations and NSF/ANSI 372](https://blog.ansi.org/ansi/lead-drinking-water-regulations-nsf-ansi-372/) (standards or certification body)
- [EPA WaterSense, draft specification for residential reverse osmosis systems (PDF)](https://www.epa.gov/system/files/documents/2024-11/ws-products-watersense-ro-systems-specification.pdf) (government or regulatory source)
- [iSpring, RCC7AK 6-stage 75 GPD alkaline RO system product and spec page](https://www.ispringfilter.com/ispring-6-stage-superb-taste-75-gpd-high-capacity-under-sink-reverse-osmosis-drinking-water-filter-system-with-alkaline-remineralization-nsf-certified) (manufacturer or vendor document)
- [APEC Water Systems, ROES-50 product page](https://www.apecwater.com/products/roes-50) (manufacturer or vendor document)
- [Waterdrop, G3P800 tankless RO system product page](https://www.waterdropfilter.com/pages/reverse-osmosis-system-g3p800) (manufacturer or vendor document)
- [Waterdrop, G2 tankless RO system product page](https://www.waterdropfilter.com/products/tankless-reverse-osmosis-system-g2) (manufacturer or vendor document)
- [Frizzlife, PD600-TAM3 product page](https://www.frizzlife.com/products/pd600-tam3) (manufacturer or vendor document)
- [NSF, Drinking Water Treatment Units official listings search](https://info.nsf.org/Certified/DWTU/) (standards or certification body)
- [WQA, Find Products (Gold Seal certified product search)](https://find.wqa.org/find-products) (standards or certification body)

---

Citation: OwnerSpec, "Best under-sink reverse osmosis system: tank vs tankless, GPD, drain ratio and NSF/ANSI 58, by published spec", https://ownerspec.com/water/reviews/best-under-sink-reverse-osmosis-system/, facts verified 12 September 2026.
Canonical citation target: the URL above (the public HTML page), not this Markdown representation.
Reuse: quoting with attribution and a link is permitted. See https://ownerspec.com/legal/terms/.
