# Best water softener resin cleaner: iron-specific vs general cleaners, dose per maker label, and who should skip one

> Iron fouling: Iron OUT powder, 1 cup per 0.5 gal, then 0.25 cup per 40 lb salt. No iron: Res Care at 4 oz per cubic foot. No fouling: skip it.

| | |
|---|---|
| Source | https://ownerspec.com/water/reviews/best-water-softener-resin-cleaner/ |
| Publisher | OwnerSpec (https://ownerspec.com/) |
| Published | 2026-09-15 |
| Updated | 2026-09-15 |
| Facts verified | 2026-09-15 |
| Disclosure | Contains affiliate links. OwnerSpec may earn a commission at no cost to the reader. |

---

## Short answer

The best water softener resin cleaner depends on one question: is there iron in the water?
For iron-fouled resin (rust stains, orange crust in the brine tank) the linked pick is
Summit Brands' Iron OUT powder: Summit Brands' softener directions are
1 cup dissolved in 0.5 gallon of cold water, poured into the brine well, then 0.25 cup per
40 lb of salt for maintenance. Pro Products' Rust Out is the dedicated iron-specific
alternative at 1.5 cups per 0.5 gallon, but it has no live Amazon listing. For resin that
softens slowly with no iron in the water, Pro Products' Res Care is the general liquid
cleaner, dosed at 4 oz (half a cup) per cubic foot of resin at each regeneration and listed
to NSF/ANSI/CAN 60 on the maker's page. Morton Clean and Protect Plus Rust Defense is salt
pellets with the additive built in, not a cleaner. Skip every cleaner if the softener still
delivers soft water and the brine tank is clean.

## Fact sheet

- **Answer:** For iron-fouled resin, Summit Brands' softener directions for Iron OUT powder are 1 cup in 0.5 gallon of cold water into the brine well, then 0.25 cup per 40 lb of salt. For resin with no iron, Pro Products doses Res Care at 4 oz per cubic foot of resin at each regeneration and lists it to NSF/ANSI/CAN 60. A softener that still softens needs no cleaner.
- **Comparison basis:** Each maker's published softener directions: fouling target, first-application dose, maintenance dose per 40 lb of salt or per cubic foot of resin, NSF/ANSI/CAN 60 claim, package sizes and distribution, read from the product pages of Pro Products, Summit Brands and Morton Salt on 2026-09-15.
- **Assumptions:** A standard residential softener with a separate brine well the cleaner can be poured into; Iron fouling identified by rust staining or orange crust in the brine tank, not by a lab result, since no maker publishes an iron threshold for its cleaner
- **Method:** OwnerSpec compared published label directions from each maker's own product page; it did not test any cleaner. NSF/ANSI/CAN 60 claims are listed per the maker's page and were not confirmed against the NSF listings database this session.
- **Primary source:** [Pro Products, Res Care Water Softener Cleaner product page](https://www.proproducts.com/products/res-care-water-softener-cleaner) (manufacturer or vendor document)
- **Facts verified:** 2026-09-15
- **Last updated:** 2026-09-15
- **Canonical URL (cite this):** https://ownerspec.com/water/reviews/best-water-softener-resin-cleaner/

If the softener still makes soft water and the brine tank looks clean, you can leave now: a cleaner fixes fouled resin, and resin that is not fouled has nothing to fix.

## How was this shortlist built?

Every figure on this page is a published label direction, read from the maker's own product page on 2026-09-15: Pro Products for Res Care, Rust Out and Pro Softener Mate, Summit Brands for Iron OUT, Morton Salt for Clean and Protect Plus Rust Defense. Nothing was tested and no product carries a rating from this site.

The cleaners were compared on what a label actually decides: the fouling it targets (iron or general), the first-application dose, the maintenance dose per 40 lb of salt or per cubic foot of resin, whether the maker claims NSF/ANSI/CAN 60, and whether a homeowner can buy it at retail.

NSF/ANSI/CAN 60 is the standard for chemicals added to drinking water, and a cleaner poured into the brine well is such a chemical. Every NSF/ANSI/CAN 60 claim below is listed per the maker's page: the NSF listings database was not reached this session, so none is confirmed against a certificate.

Two gaps are flagged rather than filled. No maker page names the active compound in its cleaner, so this page does not name one, and no page states whether a cleaner may be used with potassium chloride or on chloraminated city water. The makers are silent, and this page stays silent with them.

Two products from the original candidate list, EcoPure EPCL and the Whirlpool WHE-WSC cleanser, are absent from the table: no working maker page was found for either this session, so no dose or chemistry could be confirmed.

## How do the cleaners compare on paper?

Maker figures only. "Not stated" means the cited page prints nothing.

| Product | Form and target | First application | Maintenance | NSF/ANSI/CAN 60 | Retail |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Iron OUT Rust Stain Remover Powder (Summit Brands) | Powder, iron and rust; a stain remover with softener directions on the maker's page | 1 cup in 0.5 gal cold water, into the brine well | 0.25 cup per 40 lb of salt, layered | Not stated | Yes, 28 oz x 2 on the listing |
| Res Care (Pro Products) | Liquid, general fouling: iron, manganese, silt | 4 oz per cubic foot of resin | 4 oz per cubic foot at each regeneration | Yes, per maker page | Yes, but no live Amazon listing found |
| Rust Out (Pro Products) | Powder, iron-specific, for well water | 1.5 cups in 0.5 gal cold water | 0.5 cup per 40 lb of salt | Not stated | Yes, but no live Amazon listing found |
| Pro Softener Mate (Pro Products) | Powder, general fouling, municipal-water formulation | 1.5 cups in 0.5 gal warm water | 0.5 cup per 40 lb of salt | Yes, per maker page | No, dealer only |
| Morton Clean and Protect Plus Rust Defense (Morton Salt) | Salt pellets with a rust-defense additive built in | Not applicable, it replaces the salt | Not applicable; Morton's guide is two 40 lb bags every two months | Not stated | Yes, 40 lb bag |

A first application is the one-time dose for resin already fouled; the maintenance dose is what goes into the brine tank with each bag of salt to keep it that way.

Only Res Care is dosed on resin volume rather than salt weight, so a reader needs the cubic feet of resin in the tank, which the [resin replacement page](/water/parts/water-softener-resin-replacement-crosslink-and-how-much/) explains how to find.

## Iron OUT powder: buy it or skip it?

Buy it if the softener sits on a well with iron, the brine tank shows orange crust or the fixtures show rust stains, and you want a product you can order today.

Summit Brands publishes softener directions on the product page: dissolve 1 cup in 0.5 gallon of cold water, pour it into the brine well, then add 0.25 cup per 40 lb of salt and layer it for continuous treatment.

The listing opened this session is a 2-count pack of 28 oz bottles; the same listing offers 28 oz x 4 and 76 oz sizes. Summit Brands states the powder is safe for septic systems when used as directed, and this page repeats that only for Iron OUT, since no other maker here publishes a septic statement.

Skip it if the shopping list says "resin cleaner" and you want a product built and sold as one: Iron OUT is marketed as a household rust-stain remover, and its page makes no NSF/ANSI/CAN 60 claim.

Skip it if the water has no iron. The [iron in well water guide](/water/guides/iron-in-well-water/) is where the iron number comes from, and a softener with clean resin and no iron gains nothing from an iron remover.

Alternative: Rust Out, Pro Products' dedicated iron-specific cleaner, at 1.5 cups in 0.5 gallon of cold water and then 0.5 cup per 40 lb of salt, sold at retail but with no Amazon listing found this session.

## Res Care: buy it or skip it?

Buy it if the water has no iron, the softener has gradually stopped delivering the capacity it did when new, and the NSF/ANSI/CAN 60 claim matters. Pro Products doses Res Care at 4 oz, half a cup, per cubic foot of resin for the first treatment and the same 4 oz per cubic foot at each regeneration afterwards.

Pro Products describes Res Care as a liquid cleaner for iron, manganese and silt fouling, and the collection page lists it in 4 oz single-dose bottles by the 50, plus 1 quart, half gallon and 1 gallon sizes.

It is not linked here: no live Amazon listing for Res Care was found under any spelling this session, so buy it from a water treatment dealer or Pro Products directly.

Skip it if the brine tank is orange: Pro Products sells Rust Out as its iron-specific cleaner for well water, and Iron OUT is the linked equivalent. Skip it if the tank's resin volume is unknown, because the dose is per cubic foot and a guess either underdoses or wastes cleaner.

Skip it if the fault is that the softener is not using salt at all. That is a salt bridge, not fouling, and the [salt bridge diagnosis guide](/water/guides/water-softener-not-using-salt-salt-bridge-diagnosis/) fixes it with a broom handle, not a chemical.

Alternative: Pro Softener Mate, Pro Products' powder for municipal water at 1.5 cups in 0.5 gallon of warm water and 0.5 cup per 40 lb of salt, which also carries the maker's NSF/ANSI/CAN 60 claim but is dealer-only.

## Morton Clean and Protect Plus Rust Defense: buy it or skip it?

Buy it if the iron level is low enough that the softener still works, and you would rather change the salt you buy than measure a powder every bag. Morton sells it as 40 lb bags of softener salt pellets with a rust-defense additive built in, refilled on Morton's guide of two bags every two months.

It is the only product in the table that is not a cleaner. Morton publishes no dose, no active compound, and no NSF/ANSI/CAN 60 claim on the product page, so this page can say only what the bag is and how often Morton says to refill it.

Skip it if the resin is already fouled: a salt with an additive is maintenance, and Morton gives no first-application dose because there is none. Skip it if you buy potassium chloride instead of salt, since Morton sells this as salt pellets, and the [salt comparison page](/water/reviews/best-water-softener-salt-pellets-crystals-potassium/) covers that choice.

Alternative: plain salt plus a maintenance dose of Iron OUT at 0.25 cup per 40 lb, which does the same job with a measured amount the label states.

**Before you buy a cleaner**

Do not buy anything until you know two things: whether the water carries iron, and how many cubic feet of resin the tank holds. The first decides between an iron-specific product and a general one; the second sets the Res Care dose at 4 oz per cubic foot.

Iron confirmed and a crusted brine tank: Iron OUT powder, 1 cup in 0.5 gallon into the brine well.

Iron low and the softener still working: Morton Clean and Protect Plus Rust Defense in place of plain salt. No iron: Res Care from a dealer, or no cleaner at all.

## What goes wrong?

The wrong cleaner for the fouling. Pro Products sells Res Care for general fouling and Rust Out for iron as separate products; an iron remover on resin that has no iron on it costs the price of the bottle and changes nothing.

The dose is guessed. Res Care is 4 oz per cubic foot, Rust Out is 0.5 cup per 40 lb of salt, Iron OUT is 0.25 cup per 40 lb of salt: three products, three units. A reader who copies the Rust Out figure onto Iron OUT doubles the label dose.

The resin is past cleaning. Resin that has physically broken down, or a bed that has lost most of its capacity, does not come back with a cleaner. The [resin replacement page](/water/parts/water-softener-resin-replacement-crosslink-and-how-much/) covers when a new bed is the cheaper fix.

The cleaner meets a sanitizer. Summit Brands' Iron OUT page says not to use it with peroxide, bleach, bleach-detergents or oxi products, and Pro Products publishes no mixing statement at all. Keep the jobs separate: clean first, regenerate, and sanitize on its own pass.

<!-- FAQ and Sources render from front matter. Do not write them in the body. -->

## The picks

- **Iron OUT Rust Stain Remover Powder**: Iron fouling: rust stains or orange brine-tank crust (Powder; 1 cup in 0.5 gal cold water into the brine well, then 0.25 cup per 40 lb of salt; septic safe as directed per Summit Brands; listing is 28 oz x 2) Amazon: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0DNLVZFQL/?tag=ownerspec-20
- **Pro Products Res Care**: No iron, resin softening slowly; not linked, no live listing (Liquid; 4 oz (half a cup) per cubic foot of resin, first dose and each regeneration; NSF/ANSI/CAN 60 per Pro Products; 1 qt, half gal, 1 gal sizes)
- **Morton Clean and Protect Plus Rust Defense**: Low iron, wants the additive in the salt bag (40 lb salt pellets with a rust-defense additive built in; Morton's refill guide is two bags every two months; not a dosed cleaner) Amazon: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B000VYMZ6M/?tag=ownerspec-20

## Frequently asked questions

### How much Res Care do I use to clean water softener resin?

Pro Products' page gives one figure for both cases: 4 oz, which is half a cup, per cubic foot of resin. Use it once for a fouled unit, then add the same 4 oz per cubic foot at each regeneration for maintenance. The dose is set on resin volume, not salt weight, so you need to know how many cubic feet the tank holds.

### Is Iron OUT safe for a septic system?

Summit Brands states on the Iron OUT Rust Stain Remover Powder page that the product is safe for septic systems when used as directed, and the softener directions sit on that same page. Pro Products publishes no septic statement for Rust Out or Res Care, so this page repeats only the claim Summit Brands makes for its own product.

### Can I mix a resin cleaner with bleach when I sanitize the softener?

Not Iron OUT. Summit Brands' page says do not use it with peroxide, bleach, bleach-detergents, oxi-stain removers or oxi-detergents. Pro Products publishes no mixing statement for Res Care or Rust Out. Treat the jobs as separate in every case: clean the resin with the cleaner, run a regeneration, and only then sanitize with whatever the softener maker's manual specifies.

### Does Res Care meet NSF/ANSI/CAN Standard 60?

Pro Products states on the Res Care page that it is NSF certified to NSF/ANSI/CAN Standard 60, the standard for drinking water treatment additives, and makes the same claim for Pro Softener Mate. The Rust Out page carries no such claim. None of these claims were checked against the NSF listings database this session, so each stands as the maker's statement.

### Is Morton Clean and Protect Plus Rust Defense a cleaner or a salt?

It is salt. Morton sells Clean and Protect Plus Rust Defense as 40 lb bags of softener salt pellets with a rust-defense additive built in, refilled on the same schedule as plain salt: Morton's own page says two bags every two months for a typical household. It replaces the salt you buy, not a cleaner you add.


## Sources

- [Pro Products, Res Care Water Softener Cleaner product page](https://www.proproducts.com/products/res-care-water-softener-cleaner) (manufacturer or vendor document)
- [Pro Products, Rust Out Water Softener Cleaner product page](https://www.proproducts.com/products/rust-out-water-softener-cleaner) (manufacturer or vendor document)
- [Pro Products, Pro Softener Mate Water Softener Cleaner product page](https://www.proproducts.com/products/pro-softener-mate-water-softener-cleaner) (manufacturer or vendor document)
- [Pro Products, Water Treatment Softener Cleaners collection](https://www.proproducts.com/collections/water-treatment-softener-cleaners) (manufacturer or vendor document)
- [Summit Brands, Iron OUT Rust Stain Remover Powder product page with softener directions](https://summitbrands.com/iron-out-rust-stain-removers/powder/) (manufacturer or vendor document)
- [Morton Salt, Clean and Protect Plus Rust Defense product page](https://www.mortonsalt.com/home-product/morton-clean-and-protect-plus-rust-defense-pellets/) (manufacturer or vendor document)

---

Citation: OwnerSpec, "Best water softener resin cleaner: iron-specific vs general cleaners, dose per maker label, and who should skip one", https://ownerspec.com/water/reviews/best-water-softener-resin-cleaner/, facts verified 15 September 2026.
Canonical citation target: the URL above (the public HTML page), not this Markdown representation.
Reuse: quoting with attribution and a link is permitted. See https://ownerspec.com/legal/terms/.
