# Best water softener salt: pellets vs solar crystals vs potassium chloride, compared on published purity, insolubles and bridging risk

> Pellets with an anti-bridging additive at 99.65% to 99.8% published purity are the default; potassium chloride needs 10 to 15% more product per regeneration.

| | |
|---|---|
| Source | https://ownerspec.com/water/reviews/best-water-softener-salt-pellets-crystals-potassium/ |
| Publisher | OwnerSpec (https://ownerspec.com/) |
| Published | 2026-09-12 |
| Updated | 2026-09-12 |
| Facts verified | 2026-09-12 |
| Disclosure | Contains affiliate links. OwnerSpec may earn a commission at no cost to the reader. |

---

## Short answer

For a water softener salt chosen on published spec, an evaporated pellet with a bridging and
mushing inhibitor is the default: Diamond Crystal Bright & Soft pellets, which Cargill's sell
sheet rates up to 99.8% pure with a sodium hexametaphosphate additive, or Morton Clean and
Protect pellets, which Morton's product data sheet rates at a 99.65% minimum sodium chloride
with 0.1% maximum water insolubles. Both appear under NSF/ANSI 60 in the NSF listing database.
Solar crystals such as Morton Solar Salt are a 99.5% minimum and come in bigger bags, but
Morton's own data sheet excludes them from grid-plate and hydrosyphon brine tanks. Potassium
chloride pellets, such as Morton's 98.1% minimum grade, are the pick only when sodium in the
softened water is the problem: NDSU Extension puts the extra product needed at about 10% and
WQA at 13 to 15%, and WQA says potassium chloride bridges more readily. Skip potassium
chloride if cost per regeneration matters; skip solar crystals if the tank has a grid plate.

## Fact sheet

- **Answer:** The linked pick is Diamond Crystal Bright & Soft pellets: up to 99.8% pure per Cargill's sell sheet, a sodium hexametaphosphate anti-mushing additive, and an NSF/ANSI 60 listing. Morton Clean and Protect pellets are the equal unlinked default at a 99.65% minimum with 0.1% maximum insolubles. Potassium chloride pellets need about 10 to 15% more product per regeneration, per NDSU Extension and WQA.
- **Comparison basis:** Published manufacturer product data sheets and SDS documents compared on stated purity, water insolubles, bag sizes, anti-bridging measures and NSF/ANSI 60 listing, read on 2026-09-12, plus NDSU Extension, WQA and EPA documents for the potassium and sodium figures.
- **Assumptions:** A standard brine-tank softener that accepts any salt form; Morton's own sheet excludes solar crystals from grid-plate and hydrosyphon tanks; Purity figures are the maker's minimum or maximum on the data sheet, not a batch test
- **Method:** OwnerSpec compared published manufacturer data sheets, NSF listings and extension-service documents; it did not test any salt in a brine tank.
- **Primary source:** [Cargill, Diamond Crystal Bright & Soft water softener salt pellets sell sheet (PDF)](https://assets.unilogcorp.com/187/ITEM/DOC/Cargill_100003693_Specification_Sheet.pdf) (manufacturer or vendor document)
- **Facts verified:** 2026-09-12
- **Last updated:** 2026-09-12
- **Canonical URL (cite this):** https://ownerspec.com/water/reviews/best-water-softener-salt-pellets-crystals-potassium/

Do not buy a pallet of anything yet: a salt bridge, not the salt brand, is the usual reason a full brine tank still makes hard water, and it is diagnosed with a broom handle before a shopping cart.

## How was this shortlist built?

Every figure on this page is the manufacturer's published specification, read from the data
sheet, SDS or product page named beside it on 2026-09-12, or the text of an NSF listing, an
extension bulletin or an EPA advisory. Nothing was put in a brine tank and no salt carries a
rating from this site.

The salts were compared on the lines a data sheet prints: minimum purity, maximum water
insolubles, bag sizes, any built-in anti-bridging or anti-mushing measure, and an NSF/ANSI 60
entry in the NSF listing database. NSF/ANSI 60 is the standard for chemicals added to drinking
water, and "listed" here means the database record, not the maker's claim.

Bridging is a hard crust forming above the water line in the brine tank, leaving a hollow so
no brine is drawn. Mushing is pellets breaking down into a sludge at the bottom that blocks
the brine well. Both leave the softener regenerating with weak or no brine.

Three gaps are flagged rather than filled: no manufacturer data sheet for block salt was
located, no purity figure for Diamond Crystal Potassium Chloride was read from a Cargill page,
and Morton's potassium chloride pellets were not found under Morton's NSF/ANSI 60 listing.

## How do the salts compare on paper?

Manufacturer figures. "Not published" means the cited document prints no value. Only listings
confirmed as single bags this session are linked.

| Product | Form | Purity (maker's figure) | Water insolubles | Bag sizes | Anti-bridging measure | NSF/ANSI 60 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Diamond Crystal Bright & Soft | Pellet | Up to 99.8% (sell sheet); 99.97% NaCl plus 0.03% sodium hexametaphosphate (SDS) | Not published as a line | 25, 40, 50 lb, 20 kg | Sodium hexametaphosphate additive against mushing and bridging | Listed (Cargill) |
| Morton Clean and Protect (not linked) | Pellet | 99.65% minimum NaCl | 0.1% maximum | 25, 40, 50 lb | Patented resin-cleaning additive, formulated against bridging and mushing | Listed (Morton) |
| Morton Solar Salt crystals (not linked) | Crystal | 99.5% minimum NaCl, 0.5% other salts | 0.1% maximum, 0.15% surface moisture | 40, 50, 60 lb | None; screened to 5% maximum fines through a 12-mesh sieve | Listed (Morton); meets AWWA B200 |
| Morton Potassium Chloride | Pellet | 98.1% minimum KCl, "99% sodium free" | Not published | 40 lb | Not stated | Not confirmed this session |
| Diamond Crystal Potassium Chloride (not linked, listing unavailable) | Pellet | Not read from a maker page | Not published | 40 lb per retailers | Not stated | Listed (Cargill) |
| Block salt | Block | No manufacturer data sheet located | Not compared | Not compared | Not compared | Not compared |

## Diamond Crystal Bright & Soft pellets: buy it or skip it?

Buy it if the softener has an ordinary brine tank and you want the additive built into the
bag. Cargill's sell sheet rates the pellets up to 99.8% pure and formulated against mushing
and bridging; the Cargill SDS puts the composition at 99.97% sodium chloride and 0.03% sodium
hexametaphosphate.

The sell sheet lists 25, 40 and 50 lb bags and a 20 kg bag; the linked listing is the 50 lb
bag, Cargill item 100012423. Bright & Soft appears under Standard 60 in NSF's listing for
Cargill Salt.

The flaw to admit: the two Cargill documents give the same pellet different numbers, "up to
99.8%" on the sell sheet and 99.97% on the SDS, and neither prints a water insolubles line.
Read the purity as approximate.

Skip it if the reason for buying is sodium: it is still sodium chloride. Alternative: Morton
Clean and Protect pellets, the same class with a published insolubles maximum.

## Morton Clean and Protect pellets: buy it or skip it?

Buy it if you want the pellet with the most complete data sheet. Morton's product data sheet
3351 puts the minimum purity at 99.65% sodium chloride and water insolubles at 0.1% maximum;
the NSF database lists the Clean and Protect series under Standard 60 for Morton Salt.

Morton's product page says the pellets are formulated to reduce bridging and mushing and to
keep the resin tank clean. Morton lists 25, 40 and 50 lb bags, the 40 lb bag as part
F125000000.

No link: the only Amazon listings found this session were third-party 3-packs of 40 lb bags,
120 lb in total, under a generic brand, and this site does not link a pack it cannot confirm
as the maker's own. Buy it by the bag at a hardware store.

Skip it on a sodium-restricted diet, whatever the additive does for the resin. That decision
sits with the reader's physician, not with a bag of salt.

## Morton Solar Salt crystals: buy it or skip it?

Buy it if the brine tank is a plain open tank and purity to two decimals is not the deciding
line. Morton's product data sheet 3370 rates the crystals at
99.5% minimum sodium chloride, 0.5% maximum other salts, 0.1% maximum water insolubles and
0.15% maximum surface moisture. Bags come in 40, 50 and 60 lb sizes, part F139830000 for the
40 lb bag.

The crystals carry no additive. Instead, Morton screens them to 5% maximum fines through a
12-mesh sieve, which the sheet says is to avoid a tendency to bridge in softener brine tanks.
The sheet also states the product meets AWWA B200 and is certified to NSF/ANSI 60.

Skip it if the softener has a touch grid plate or a hydrosyphon system designed for pelletized
vacuum salt: Morton's own sheet says the crystals should not go in those tanks. Skip it if the
tank has ever mushed, because a crystal carries no additive against it.

No link: the only Amazon listing found was a reseller 4-pack of 40 lb bags, 160 lb in total.
Alternative: Bright & Soft pellets, which fit every tank type in the table.

## Morton Potassium Chloride pellets: buy it or skip it?

Buy it if the water leaving the softener must carry as little added sodium as possible.
Morton's business page rates the pellets at a minimum of 98.1% potassium chloride, and the home
page sells the 40 lb bag as "99% sodium free"; the linked listing is the single 40 lb bag from
the Morton Store.

The cost of the switch is product. NDSU Extension's WQ1031 says about 10% more potassium
chloride is used per backflush, and WQA's Getting Smart with Softeners puts the required
concentration 13 to 15% higher, noting that potassium chloride forms salt bridges more
readily. Budget for the bigger number and check the tank monthly.

Skip it if cost per regeneration matters: the bag is 40 lb where the sodium pellets go to 50,
and every regeneration draws more of it. Skip it if the softener manual gives a brine setting
for sodium chloride only, since the manual decides the dose, not this page.

Two gaps stay open: Morton publishes no water insolubles figure for these pellets, and they
were not found under Morton's NSF/ANSI 60 listing. Diamond Crystal Potassium Chloride, the
Cargill equivalent, does appear under Cargill's Standard 60 listing, but its Amazon listing
was unavailable with no restock date, so it is named and not linked.

**Before you buy potassium chloride**

Do not switch salts on a hunch. The number that decides is the sodium the softener adds, and
it comes from the hardness reading: NDSU Extension puts it at about 8 mg/L of sodium per grain
per gallon removed, so 15 gpg water picks up about 120 mg/L.

EPA's 2003 sodium advisory gives a 20 mg/L guidance level for restricted diets and a 30 to
60 mg/L taste threshold.

If that arithmetic is why you are here, the Morton Potassium Chloride
bag is the answer and the 10 to 15% extra product is the price. If it is not, pour
Diamond Crystal Bright & Soft.

## Do you need a resin cleaner too?

Only if iron or sediment is reaching the resin, which is a [well water problem](/water/guides/iron-in-well-water/) more
than a salt problem. EcoPure lists its EPCL cleaner
as a 16 oz bottle used every 4 months for iron, rust and sediment.

Clack's Res-Up is the other common name, and its SDS lists it as an acidic cleaner containing
10 to 30% phosphoric acid, dosed by the label, not tipped in.

A pellet that already carries an additive, Bright & Soft or Clean and Protect, covers routine
use on city water. On a well with iron, the fix is an [iron filter](/water/reviews/best-iron-filter-for-well-water/)
ahead of the softener, not a stronger cleaner behind it.

## What goes wrong?

The tank bridges. A crust forms above the water line and the softener regenerates with plain
water while the tank looks full. WQA names potassium chloride as the salt that does this most
readily, and Morton's 5% fines screen on solar crystals exists for the same reason.

Push a broom handle down the tank; if it breaks through a crust, that was the problem.

The tank mushes. Pellets dissolve into a sludge that blocks the brine well, which is what the
sodium hexametaphosphate in Bright & Soft and the additive in Clean and Protect are formulated
against. Crystals have no defence beyond their fines screen.

Insolubles build up. Morton's 0.1% maximum on Clean and Protect and Solar Salt is 0.64 oz of
grit per 40 lb bag, and it stays in the tank; rinsing the brine tank once a year is the
remedy. A salt with no published insolubles figure gives no way to plan for it.

The salt runs out. WQA's efficient target is 4,000 grains of hardness removed per pound of
salt under the NSF/ANSI 44 capacity protocol, and one grain per gallon is 17.1 mg/L as calcium
carbonate per WQA's ion exchange fact sheet. The [salt usage calculator](/water/calculators/water-softener-salt-usage-calculator/)
turns those figures and a hardness reading into bags a year.

<!-- FAQ and Sources render from front matter. Do not write them in the body. -->

## The picks

- **Diamond Crystal Bright & Soft pellets, 50 lb**: Default pellet, any brine tank, additive built in (Up to 99.8% pure per Cargill's sell sheet; 99.97% NaCl and 0.03% sodium hexametaphosphate per the SDS; NSF/ANSI 60 listed; 50 lb bag, item 100012423) Amazon: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07JGN2Q6H/?tag=ownerspec-20
- **Morton Potassium Chloride pellets, 40 lb**: Sodium in the softened water is the problem (98.1% minimum potassium chloride per Morton's page; 40 lb bag; needs 10 to 15% more product per regeneration per NDSU and WQA) Amazon: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B008Z27QIY/?tag=ownerspec-20

## Frequently asked questions

### Is potassium chloride as effective as sodium chloride in a water softener?

It regenerates the same resin, but it takes more of it. NDSU Extension's WQ1031 says about 10% more potassium chloride is used per backflush, and WQA's Getting Smart with Softeners puts the required concentration 13 to 15% higher than sodium chloride. WQA also notes potassium chloride forms salt bridges more readily, so the brine tank needs checking more often.

### How much sodium does a softener add to drinking water?

NDSU Extension puts it at about 8 mg/L of sodium for every grain per gallon of hardness removed, so 15 gpg water picks up about 120 mg/L. EPA's 2003 sodium advisory gives a 20 mg/L guidance level for restricted diets, a 30 to 60 mg/L taste threshold, and notes softeners can push sodium above 300 mg/L. Potassium chloride avoids the sodium.

### What is a salt bridge and does the type of salt matter?

A salt bridge is a hard crust that forms above the water line in the brine tank, leaving a hollow underneath so no brine is made and the softener regenerates with plain water. WQA says potassium chloride bridges more readily than sodium chloride, and Morton screens its solar crystals to 5% maximum fines through a 12-mesh sieve for the same reason.

### Does water softener salt need to be NSF/ANSI 60 certified?

NSF/ANSI 60 is the standard for drinking water treatment chemicals, and it is a listing, not a legal requirement for a home. Morton Clean and Protect and Morton Solar Salt appear under Standard 60 in NSF's listing for Morton Salt, and Bright & Soft, Solar Naturals and Diamond Crystal Potassium Chloride appear under Cargill's. Look for the mark on the bag.

### Do I need a resin cleaner as well as salt?

Only when iron or sediment reaches the resin. EcoPure lists its EPCL cleaner as a 16 oz bottle used every 4 months for iron, rust and sediment. Res-Up's Clack SDS lists it as an acidic cleaner containing 10 to 30% phosphoric acid, dosed by its label, not a mild additive. A pellet with a built-in additive covers routine use.


## Sources

- [Morton Salt, Clean and Protect pellets product data sheet 3351 (PDF)](https://hydroservice.com/wp-content/uploads/2021/04/Salt-Morton-Clean-and-Protect-Spec.pdf) (manufacturer or vendor document)
- [Morton Salt, Clean and Protect pellets product page](https://www.mortonsalt.com/home-product/morton-clean-and-protect-pellets/) (manufacturer or vendor document)
- [Morton Salt, Solar Salt crystals product data sheet 3370 (PDF)](https://www.webstaurantstore.com/documents/specsheets/morton_555salt_specsheet.pdf) (manufacturer or vendor document)
- [Morton Salt, Potassium Chloride pellets, business product page](https://www.mortonsalt.com/business-product/morton-potassium-chloride-pellets/) (manufacturer or vendor document)
- [Morton Salt, Potassium Chloride pellets, home product page](https://www.mortonsalt.com/home-product/morton-potassium-chloride-pellets/) (manufacturer or vendor document)
- [Cargill, Diamond Crystal Bright & Soft water softener salt pellets sell sheet (PDF)](https://assets.unilogcorp.com/187/ITEM/DOC/Cargill_100003693_Specification_Sheet.pdf) (manufacturer or vendor document)
- [Cargill, Diamond Crystal Bright & Soft safety data sheet (PDF)](https://www.ksupplycompany.com/wp-content/uploads/2020/09/Diamond-Crystal-Bright-Soft-2014-08-12.pdf) (manufacturer or vendor document)
- [NSF, Standard 60 listing for Morton Salt Inc.](https://info.nsf.org/Certified/PwsChemicals/Listings.asp?Company=0D950&Standard=060) (standards or certification body)
- [NSF, Standard 60 listing for Cargill Salt](https://info.nsf.org/Certified/PwsChemicals/Listings.asp?Company=0L970&Standard=060) (standards or certification body)
- [NDSU Extension, WQ1031 Water Softening (Ion Exchange), 2022 (PDF)](https://www.ndsu.edu/agriculture/sites/default/files/2022-05/wq1031.pdf) (university or extension service)
- [WQA, Getting Smart with Softeners (PDF)](https://wqa.org/wp-content/uploads/2024/06/GettingSmartSofteners.pdf) (standards or certification body)
- [WQA, Ion Exchange fact sheet (PDF)](https://wqa.org/wp-content/uploads/2023/10/Ion-Exchange-Fact-Sheet.pdf) (standards or certification body)
- [EPA 822-R-03-006, Drinking Water Advisory: Consumer Acceptability Advice and Health Effects Analysis on Sodium, 2003 (PDF)](https://www.epa.gov/sites/default/files/2014-09/documents/support_cc1_sodium_dwreport.pdf) (government or regulatory source)
- [EcoPure, EPCL universal water softener cleaner product page](https://ecopure.com/product/water-softener-cleaner-epcl/) (manufacturer or vendor document)
- [Clack Corporation, Res-Up water softener cleaner safety data sheet (PDF)](https://inspectapedia.com/plumbing/RES-UP-Softener-Cleaner-MSDS.pdf) (manufacturer or vendor document)

---

Citation: OwnerSpec, "Best water softener salt: pellets vs solar crystals vs potassium chloride, compared on published purity, insolubles and bridging risk", https://ownerspec.com/water/reviews/best-water-softener-salt-pellets-crystals-potassium/, facts verified 12 September 2026.
Canonical citation target: the URL above (the public HTML page), not this Markdown representation.
Reuse: quoting with attribution and a link is permitted. See https://ownerspec.com/legal/terms/.
