Best whole house water filter and softener combo: the maker spec sheets sort them into salt-based sets that remove hardness and salt-free sets that do not, and the hardness number decides
AFW Fleck 5600SXT 48K with upflow carbon: 48,000 grains, 12 gpm, 1.5 cu ft carbon. Aquasana SimplySoft 60K prints NSF/ANSI 44; Kind and SpringWell are salt-free.
- Verified
- Updated
- 12 min read
- 11 sources

Shop links on this page are affiliate links: a purchase may earn us a commission at no extra cost to you. Disclosure
OwnerSpec compares published manufacturer specifications, certification listings and sourced technical documents. Unless a page explicitly states otherwise, OwnerSpec has not laboratory-tested or used the products it compares. Editorial policy
Short answer
For city water with a known hardness number, the best whole house water filter and softener combo on paper is the AFWFilters Fleck 5600SXT 48,000 grain softener with upflow carbon filter: AFWFilters prints 48,000 grains, up to 12 gpm service flow for 2 to 5 people and 1.5 cu ft of coconut-shell carbon in a tank that needs no backwash and no drain line. The runner-up is the Aquasana pair, a SimplySoft 60,000 grain softener whose product page prints an IAPMO certification to NSF/ANSI 44 at 11.1 gpm, beside a Rhino WH-1000 rated for 1,000,000 gallons at 7 gpm; Aquasana sells them separately. Skip every salt-free combo (SpringWell, Pentair Pelican, Kind E-3000) if a test strip must read lower afterwards: their makers claim scale reduction, not hardness removal. Skip the whole category on well water with iron or hydrogen sulfide, and skip it when the report shows hardness but no chlorine complaint.
The picks
City water, 2 to 5 people, hardness known, wants a softener that removes hardness
AFWFilters Fleck 5600SXT 48,000 grain softener with upflow carbon filter
AFWFilters page: 48,000 grains, 10% crosslink resin, up to 12 gpm service flow, 1.5 cu ft coconut-shell carbon in an upflow tank with no backwash and no drain line, 5-year valve and 10-year tank warranty; no NSF/ANSI 44 certification printed
Small home or low hardness, wants the same two-tank set at the lower capacity
AFWFilters Fleck 5600SXT 32,000 grain softener with upflow carbon filter
Amazon listing title only: 32,000 grains, 1 cu ft, 9 x 48 in tanks, 10% crosslink resin, coconut-shell carbon; AFWFilters' own page for this size was not opened, so no flow figure is printed here
Wants a printed NSF/ANSI 44 certification and a full performance data sheet
Aquasana SimplySoft 60,000 grain softener (WH-SF60)
Aquasana manual: 1.5 cu ft 8% resin, 11.1 gpm service flow, 15 psi drop, 20 to 125 psi, 200 gpg maximum hardness, 1 ppm maximum ferrous iron, 230 lb salt storage, 43 in tall; product page: IAPMO certified to NSF/ANSI 44 and CSA B483.1; sold separately from the Rhino
The filter half of an Aquasana pair, or a city supply that also needs UV
Aquasana Rhino WH-1000 whole house filter with UV (WH-1000-CS-UVS-B)
Aquasana product page: 1,000,000 gallons or 10 years, 7 gpm rated and 14.6 gpm peak, 46 in tall by 9 in, KDF plus activated carbon, 20 in prefilter changed every 2 months; tested to NSF/ANSI 42 for chlorine, WQA certified to NSF/ANSI/CAN 61; the UV add-on is certified to NSF/ANSI 55 Class B
Refuses salt and a drain line, and accepts that hardness stays on the test strip
Kind Water Systems E-3000 salt-free softener and filter
Kind product page: 15 gpm, 5-micron sediment filter changed every 6 to 12 months, catalytic carbon block, ESOFT salt-free stage, 88% scale reduction claim with no standard number, NSF/ANSI 42 named for the carbon material, lifetime warranty; maximum hardness and pressure not on the page
Water report shows hardness but no chlorine complaint: skip the combo, buy a softener
Aquasure Harmony AS-HS48D 48,000 grain softener (softener only)
Aquasure owner's manual: 48,000 grains nominal, Aquatrol digital metered head, 125 psi maximum inlet, 2-year warranty extendable to 5 on registration; resin volume, flow and NSF/ANSI 44 status are not published
If the water report shows iron, manganese or a rotten-egg smell, this is the wrong page: every maker here wants those gone first, and the iron filter review is where that starts.
How was this shortlist built?
OwnerSpec compared manufacturer-published specifications read on 2026-10-09: the AFWFilters product pages, the Aquasana SimplySoft manual and Rhino product page, the Kind Water Systems product page, the SpringWell dual-system page, the Pentair Pelican PSE1800-P/PSE2000-P manual and the Culligan homepage. Nothing was installed or run.
Each set was sorted on six figures: salt-based or salt-free, grain capacity, carbon-stage capacity in gallons, service flow in gpm, certification wording as the maker prints it, and footprint. No NSF, WQA or IAPMO listing database was queried, so “per the maker” is the only level of proof on this page.
A combo is two jobs in one box. The carbon stage takes chlorine taste and odor out of a city supply, which is the job the whole house filter review covers alone. The softener stage removes hardness, or, in a salt-free set, claims to control the scale that hardness leaves and removes nothing you can measure. The salt-free conditioner vs softener guide is the long version of that sentence.
Not tabulated: Express Water’s softener page printed no grain capacity, flow or certification; iSpring sells its softener and filters as separate items and its softener page returned 404; no Waterdrop combo was found; Culligan’s homepage routes every purchase through 900+ dealers and prints no spec online.
How do the units compare on paper?
| System | Softener type | Grain capacity | Carbon stage | Service flow | Certification, per the maker | Footprint |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| AFWFilters Fleck 5600SXT 48K + upflow carbon | Salt-based | 48,000 grains, 10% resin | 1.5 cu ft coconut-shell carbon, upflow, gallons not stated | Up to 12 gpm | None printed; “assembled with NSF approved parts, filters and media” | Not stated; the softener-only 48K lists a 10 x 54 in tank and 14 x 34 in brine tank |
| AFWFilters Fleck 5600SXT 32K + upflow carbon | Salt-based | 32,000 grains, 1 cu ft, per the listing title | Coconut-shell carbon, per the listing title | Not stated | None printed | 9 x 48 in tanks, per the listing title |
| Aquasana SimplySoft WH-SF60 + Rhino WH-1000 | Salt-based, sold as two items | 60,000 grains, 1.5 cu ft 8% resin | Rhino: 1,000,000 gallons or 10 years, KDF plus carbon | Softener 11.1 gpm; Rhino 7 gpm rated, 14.6 gpm peak | Softener: IAPMO to NSF/ANSI 44 and CSA B483.1; Rhino: tested to NSF/ANSI 42, WQA to NSF/ANSI/CAN 61 | Softener 43 in tall, 12 x 35 in mineral tank; Rhino 46 in tall, 9 in diameter |
| Kind Water Systems E-3000 | Salt-free | None (hardness unchanged); 88% scale reduction claim | Catalytic carbon block, gallons not stated | 15 gpm | NSF/ANSI 42 named for the carbon material, no standard for the scale claim | Not stated on the page |
| SpringWell CSF1 / CSF4 / CSF+ (no Amazon listing) | Salt-free FutureSoft | None; claims up to 95% less scale buildup | 1,000,000 gallons or 10 years, KDF plus catalytic carbon | 9 / 12 / 20 gpm | None printed | 9 x 48 in, 10 x 54 in, 13 x 54 in tanks |
| Pentair Pelican PSE1800-P / PSE2000-P (no Amazon listing) | Salt-free NaturSoft | None; rated to 75 gpg maximum hardness | PC600 662,400 gallons / PC1000 1,324,800 gallons at 8 / 12 gpm | 8 / 12 gpm, peak 12 / 16 gpm | Carbon tank IAPMO to NSF/ANSI 42 and 61; NaturSoft IAPMO R&T to NSF/ANSI 61, DVGW DW-9191 at 99.6% against hard water scale | Not stated in the manual |
| Culligan | Dealer specifies | Dealer specifies | Dealer specifies | Dealer specifies | Not published online | Dealer specifies |
Grain capacity is the hardness a softener removes between regenerations; a salt-free set has none. USGS calls water above 180 mg/L very hard, and the hardness unit converter turns the utility’s mg/L line into grains per gallon before any of the columns above mean anything.
AFWFilters Fleck 5600SXT 48,000 grain with upflow carbon: buy it or skip it?
Buy it if the supply is municipal, the household is 2 to 5 people and the hardness number is already in hand. AFWFilters prints 48,000 grains on 10% crosslink resin, up to 12 gpm service flow, 1.5 cu ft of coconut-shell carbon in an upflow tank with no backwash, no electricity, no drain line and no wastewater, a 24 in flex line in the box, and a 5-year valve and 10-year tank warranty.
Skip it if a third-party softener certification is a condition of purchase. The AFWFilters page prints no NSF/ANSI 44 statement, only that systems are assembled with NSF approved parts, filters and media, which covers components, not performance.
The flaw to admit before the link: the carbon tank’s rated gallons, the set’s peak flow and the carbon change interval are not on AFWFilters’ page, so the carbon stage cannot be compared with Aquasana’s 1,000,000 gallon figure. The Amazon listing is the “AFW Filters Built” variant of the Abundant Flow Water configuration opened.
The valve is the one part a reader can service: the Fleck 5600SXT settings guide covers programming it to the hardness number, and the 5600SXT parts page lists what wears.
Alternative: the Aquasana SimplySoft, for the printed certification.
AFWFilters Fleck 5600SXT 32,000 grain with upflow carbon: buy it or skip it?
Buy it if the water softener size calculator returns a number under 32,000 grains for the week, which is a small household on moderately hard city water.
Skip it if a maker spec sheet matters: everything in this row (32,000 grains, 1 cu ft, 9 x 48 in tanks, 10% resin, coconut-shell carbon) comes from the Amazon listing title, because AFWFilters’ own page for this size was not opened this session, and no service flow was read for it.
Alternative: the 48K set above, which the maker does document.
Aquasana SimplySoft 60,000 plus Rhino WH-1000: buy them or skip them?
Buy the pair if the softener needs a certification sentence a plumber or an inspector will accept. Aquasana’s SimplySoft page prints “IAPMO certified to NSF/ANSI Standard 44 for the reduction of water hardness and to CSA B483.1”, and its manual prints the full data sheet: 1.5 cu ft of 8% resin, 11.1 gpm service flow at a 15 psi drop, 20 to 125 psi, 40 to 100 F, 200 gpg maximum hardness, 1 ppm maximum ferrous iron, minimum pH 6.5, 230 lb of salt storage, 43 in tall with a 12 x 35 in mineral tank, 5 years on the valve and 10 on the tanks.
The Rhino WH-1000 is the filter half. Aquasana’s page prints 1,000,000 gallons or 10 years, 7 gpm rated and 14.6 gpm peak, 46 in tall by 9 in, KDF in the upper tank and activated carbon in the lower, a 20 in prefilter changed every 2 months, “independently tested to NSF/ANSI Standard 42 to remove up to 97% of chlorine” and “WQA certified to NSF/ANSI/CAN Standard 61”. The Amazon listing is the bundle with the UV lamp, which Aquasana’s page says is certified to NSF/ANSI Standard 55, Class B; the plain Rhino was not found in stock this session.
Skip the pair if the budget is for one box: Aquasana does not sell the two as a combo, the SimplySoft manual lists the Rhino tank and UV filter as optional add-ons with their own warranties, and the Rhino’s 7 gpm rating is the lowest service flow here. Run the whole house filter flow rate calculator before accepting it for a three-bathroom house. The Rhino’s own cartridges are on the Rhino replacement filters page.
Alternative: the AFWFilters 48K set, for one flow rating across both tanks.
Kind Water Systems E-3000: buy it or skip it?
Buy it if salt, a brine tank and a drain line are off the table and scale on fixtures is the only complaint. Kind’s page prints 15 gpm, a 5-micron sediment filter changed every 6 to 12 months, a catalytic carbon block, an ESOFT salt-free stage with an 88% scale reduction claim, NSF/ANSI 42 named for the carbon material, and a lifetime warranty.
Skip it if the hardness number itself has to come down: a salt-free stage leaves it where it is. Kind prints no standard number behind the 88% claim, and the maximum hardness, pressure range and dimensions are not on the page opened. IAPMO/ANSI Z601 is the standard that covers scale reduction devices for residential water-heating applications; no maker on this page names it. The E-3000UV adds a UV lamp whose specifications were not opened from a maker page this session.
Alternative: the SpringWell CSF series, 1,000,000 gallons and up to 20 gpm, with no Amazon listing.
Before you buy a combo
Do not order either tank until two numbers are on paper: hardness in grains per gallon and the flow the house draws. The water softener size calculator turns hardness and head count into the grain capacity, and the whole house filter flow rate calculator says whether 7, 12 or 15 gpm is enough. If the capacity lands between 32,000 and 48,000 grains, it is the AFWFilters 48K set ; above that, the SimplySoft 60,000 . The softener deal check covers which of these drop during Prime Day and Black Friday.
Who should skip a combo altogether?
| The water report says | Skip the combo because | Go to |
|---|---|---|
| Iron, manganese or hydrogen sulfide on a well | Pentair’s manual wants iron, manganese, sulfur and tannin removed before its system; Aquasana caps ferrous iron at 1 ppm | Best iron filter for well water, then the well-water softener review |
| Hardness, no chlorine taste or odor complaint | The carbon tank is paid for and does nothing the reader asked for | Best water softener for city water, or the softener-only Aquasure Harmony AS-HS48D |
| Chlorine or chloramine complaint, water already soft | The softener tank is salt and water spent on nothing | Best whole house filter for city water |
The Aquasure Harmony is the budget anchor for the middle row: its manual prints 48,000 grains nominal, an Aquatrol digital metered head and a 125 psi maximum inlet, and no resin volume, flow or NSF/ANSI 44 status.
What goes wrong?
A salt-free “softener and filter combo” is bought to fix a hardness reading. SpringWell’s page claims up to 95% less scale buildup, Pentair’s manual prints a DVGW certification at 99.6% against hard water scale, and Kind claims 88%: three scale figures, zero hardness figures, and a test strip that reads the same afterwards.
The tanks go in the wrong order. Pentair’s manual runs a 5-micron sediment filter ahead of the carbon tank, replaced every 6 to 9 months; the install order guide covers sediment, softener, carbon and UV, with the bypass and drain each needs.
Peak flow is read as service flow. The AFWFilters softener-only 48K page prints 12 gpm service and 28 gpm peak; Aquasana prints 7 gpm rated and 14.6 gpm peak for the Rhino. The smaller number is the one the house lives on.
“NSF approved parts” is read as a certified softener. AFWFilters’ sentence covers components; Aquasana’s names IAPMO and NSF/ANSI 44 for the finished unit, and even that was not checked against a listing database for this page.
Frequently asked questions
Does a salt-free filter and softener combo actually soften water?
No. SpringWell's dual-system page claims up to 95% less scale buildup from its FutureSoft stage, Kind's page claims 88% scale reduction and Pentair's Pelican manual prints a DVGW certification against hard water scale: all three are scale-control claims, not hardness reduction. A test strip reads the same hardness after a salt-free unit. Only the salt-based sets on this page remove hardness from the water.
Which combo on this page prints an NSF/ANSI 44 certification?
Only the Aquasana SimplySoft, whose product page says it is IAPMO certified to NSF/ANSI Standard 44 for the reduction of water hardness. AFWFilters prints no softener certification for its Fleck 5600SXT sets, only that systems are assembled with NSF approved parts, filters and media. Aquasure publishes no NSF/ANSI 44 status for the Harmony. Every certification here is quoted as the maker prints it.
Is the Aquasana Rhino and SimplySoft sold as one combo?
Not as one listing. Aquasana's SimplySoft page says the 40,000 and 60,000 grain softeners are compatible with the Rhino filters, and the SimplySoft manual's configuration diagram shows a Rhino filter tank and a UV filter as optional add-ons with separate warranties. On Amazon they are two purchases: the Rhino WH-1000 bundle with UV and the SimplySoft 60,000 grain softener.
What order do the filter and the softener go in?
Sediment first, then carbon, then the softener, then any UV lamp. The Pentair Pelican manual puts a 5-micron sediment prefilter ahead of its carbon tank and says the sediment filter should be replaced every 6 to 9 months; SpringWell's dual system runs its 5-micron filter between the carbon tank and the salt-free tank. The install-order guide on this site covers the drain, bypass and spacing.
Can any of these combos go on well water with iron?
Not without an iron stage ahead of them. Pentair's Pelican manual says all iron, manganese, sulfur and tannin should be removed before its salt-free system, and Aquasana's SimplySoft manual caps ferrous iron at 1 ppm. A well with iron, manganese or hydrogen sulfide needs the iron filter review on this site first; the combo comes after that, if at all.
Fact sheet and how to cite this page
- Answer
- For city water with a known hardness number, the pick is the AFWFilters Fleck 5600SXT 48,000 grain softener with upflow carbon filter: AFWFilters prints 48,000 grains, up to 12 gpm service flow and 1.5 cu ft of coconut-shell carbon in a tank with no backwash. The Aquasana SimplySoft 60,000 is the only softener here whose maker prints an NSF/ANSI 44 certification (IAPMO), at 11.1 gpm. SpringWell, Pelican and Kind are salt-free and leave hardness unchanged.
- Comparison basis
- Published manufacturer specifications compared on softener type (salt-based or salt-free), grain capacity, carbon-stage capacity in gallons, service flow in gpm, certification wording as each maker prints it, and footprint, read from each maker’s product page or manual on 2026-10-09; no NSF, WQA or IAPMO listing database was queried.
- Assumptions
- Municipal supply with no iron, manganese or hydrogen sulfide on the water report; any of those sends the reader to the well-water iron filter page instead
- Hardness known in grains per gallon from the utility’s water quality report or a test strip
- Certifications are quoted as the maker prints them and were not cross-checked against a listing database this session
- Method
- OwnerSpec compared published manufacturer specifications from the AFWFilters product pages, the Aquasana SimplySoft manual and Rhino product page, the Kind Water Systems product page, the SpringWell dual-system page and the Pentair Pelican PSE1800-P/PSE2000-P manual, and confirmed each Amazon listing in stock on 2026-10-09; it did not install, run or test any system.
- Primary source
- AFWFilters, Abundant Flow Water Built Fleck 5600SXT 48,000 Grain Water Softener with Upflow Carbon Filter (10% Resin with Carbon) (manufacturer or vendor document)
- Facts verified
- Last updated
- Cite as
- OwnerSpec, "Best whole house water filter and softener combo: the maker spec sheets sort them into salt-based sets that remove hardness and salt-free sets that do not, and the hardness number decides", https://ownerspec.com/water/reviews/best-whole-house-water-filter-and-softener-combo/, facts verified 9 October 2026.
Every figure above also appears, with its source, in the article. All sources ยท How OwnerSpec verifies numbers
Sources
- AFWFilters, Abundant Flow Water Built Fleck 5600SXT 48,000 Grain Water Softener with Upflow Carbon Filter (10% Resin with Carbon) (manufacturer or vendor document)
- AFWFilters, Fleck 5600SXT 48,000 Grain Water Softener product page (manufacturer or vendor document)
- Aquasana, SimplySoft 60,000 Grain Water Softener product page (manufacturer or vendor document)
- Aquasana, WH-SF40 and WH-SF60 SimplySoft Owner's Manual (PDF) (manufacturer or vendor document)
- Aquasana, Rhino Whole House Water Filter product page (manufacturer or vendor document)
- Kind Water Systems, Whole House Filter and Salt-Free Softener (E-3000) product page (manufacturer or vendor document)
- SpringWell, Water Filter and Salt-Free FutureSoft System product page (manufacturer or vendor document)
- Pentair, Pelican Water Filter and Water Softener Alternative Combo System PSE1800-P / PSE2000-P manual 4006041 Rev A (PDF) (manufacturer or vendor document)
- Culligan, homepage (dealer network) (manufacturer or vendor document)
- IAPMO, IAPMO/ANSI Z601-2018 (R2023) Scale Reduction Devices (standards or certification body)
- USGS Water Science School, Hardness of Water (government or regulatory source)