# Best whole house water filter for well water: cartridge systems compared on iron and manganese rating, micron, GPM and capacity

> Pick: iSpring WGB32BM, rated to 3.0 mg/L iron and 1.0 mg/L manganese, 15 GPM, 100,000 gallons. Above 10 mg/L combined, a cartridge is the wrong tool.

| | |
|---|---|
| Source | https://ownerspec.com/water/reviews/best-whole-house-water-filter-well-water/ |
| Publisher | OwnerSpec (https://ownerspec.com/) |
| Published | 2026-09-13 |
| Updated | 2026-09-13 |
| Facts verified | 2026-09-13 |
| Disclosure | Contains affiliate links. OwnerSpec may earn a commission at no cost to the reader. |

---

## Short answer

For a private well with sediment, chlorine taste and moderate iron or manganese, the whole
house water filter to buy on published spec is the iSpring WGB32BM: three 20 x 4.5 inch Big
Blue cartridges (5 micron sediment, carbon block, catalytic iron and manganese media) that
iSpring rates for iron up to 3.0 mg/L and manganese up to 1.0 mg/L, 15 GPM through 1 inch
NPT ports, and 100,000 gallons per cartridge set, falling to 50,000 gallons at 3.0 mg/L iron.
The runner-up is the Express Water WH300SICS, which prints an outlet target instead, iron to
0.2 mg/L and manganese to 0.05 mg/L, at 100,000 gallons or 6 to 12 months. Skip every
cartridge system on this page if combined iron and manganese is above 10 mg/L, the line at
which Penn State Extension calls for oxidation followed by filtration, or if the well has
tested positive for coliform: no cartridge on this list claims disinfection.

## Fact sheet

- **Answer:** The iSpring WGB32BM is the cartridge whole-house pick for a private well on published spec: iSpring rates it for iron up to 3.0 mg/L and manganese up to 1.0 mg/L, 15 GPM through 1 inch ports, and 100,000 gallons per cartridge set. Penn State Extension puts the ceiling for any cartridge at 10 mg/L combined iron and manganese; above that, oxidation then filtration.
- **Comparison basis:** Published manufacturer specifications for seven whole-house cartridge systems compared on stage list, micron rating, rated flow, port size, housing size, rated capacity per cartridge set, stated iron and manganese ceiling and certification wording, read from each maker's product page on 2026-09-13, against EPA's secondary standards and Penn State Extension's treatment ranges.
- **Assumptions:** The well has a lab report in hand: iron and manganese in mg/L and a total coliform result. Makers rate these systems on inlet concentration, not on a symptom.; Iron and manganese figures are dissolved metal at the inlet; no maker states whether its ceiling holds for particulate or bacterial iron.
- **Method:** OwnerSpec compared the manufacturers' published specifications and the EPA and Penn State Extension figures; it did not test any filter system hands-on, and no maker publishes a pressure-drop curve.
- **Primary source:** [iSpring WGB32BM 3-stage whole house water filter product page](https://www.ispringfilter.com/ispring-wgb32bm-ahpf12mnpt16x2-3-stage-whole-house-water-filter-system-reduces-iron) (manufacturer or vendor document)
- **Facts verified:** 2026-09-13
- **Last updated:** 2026-09-13
- **Canonical URL (cite this):** https://ownerspec.com/water/reviews/best-whole-house-water-filter-well-water/

If the lab report says more than 10 mg/L combined iron and manganese, or any total coliform, close this page: no cartridge system below is rated for either, and the [iron filter review](/water/reviews/best-iron-filter-for-well-water/) and the [UV purifier review](/water/reviews/best-uv-water-purifier-well-water/) are where that reader goes.

## How was this shortlist built?

Every figure on this page is the manufacturer's published specification, read from the
product page named beside it on 2026-09-13, or the regulator's own text. Nothing was
bench-tested and no unit carries a rating from this site.

The units were compared on the specs that decide whether a cartridge system fits a well:
stage list and micron rating, rated flow in gallons per minute (GPM), port size, housing
size, rated capacity per cartridge set, the iron and manganese ceiling the maker states, and
the certification wording on the maker's page. Makers print iron and manganese in ppm; in
water 1 ppm is 1 mg/L, so this page uses mg/L throughout.

Two gaps are flagged rather than filled. No maker publishes a pressure-drop curve, so the GPM
column is a rated maximum, not a flow at a stated pressure loss. And nsf.org could not be
queried this session, so "listed" below means the maker's own wording on its page or
listing, never a database record.

A Big Blue cartridge is the 4.5 x 20 inch size most whole-house housings take; the
[20 inch Big Blue compatibility page](/water/parts/20-inch-big-blue-cartridge-compatibility/)
covers cross-fits. A catalytic iron and manganese medium holds dissolved metal until the
cartridge is swapped and never backwashes, which is why every maker caps it at a few mg/L.

## How do the units compare on paper?

Manufacturer figures. "Not published" means the cited page prints no value. Certification is
the maker's wording, not a database listing.

| Unit | Stages | Micron | Rated flow | Port | Rated capacity | Iron / manganese ceiling | Certification wording |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| iSpring WGB32BM | 3: sediment, carbon block, catalytic iron and manganese media | 5 (sediment stage only) | 15 GPM | 1 inch NPT | 100,000 gal (stages 1 and 2); 50,000 gal at 3.0 mg/L iron | 3.0 mg/L iron, 1.0 mg/L manganese | "NSF/ANSI certified" for stages 1 and 2, number unstated, per the maker's page |
| Express Water WH300SICS | 3: sediment, Zeomangan iron and manganese media, carbon block | Not published | About 15 GPM (0.25 gal per second) | 1 inch FNPT | 100,000 gal or 6 to 12 months | Outlet target 0.2 mg/L iron, 0.05 mg/L manganese; no inlet ceiling stated | "NSF Certified" in the listing title only, number unstated |
| iSpring WGB22BM | 2: carbon, catalytic iron and manganese media | Not published | 15 GPM | 1 inch NPT | 100,000 gal per year on the page; 80,000 gal in the page's own URL | 3.0 mg/L iron, 1.0 mg/L manganese | Not stated |
| PRO+AQUA PRO-100-E | 3: sediment, KDF blend, carbon-infused | Not published | 15 GPM maximum, about 7 GPM operational | 1 inch | 100,000 gal | Not published ("up to 99% of impurities") | Not stated |
| Waterdrop WHF21-FG | 2 cartridges; the page also says "5-stage" for media layers | 5, listing title only | 15 GPM | 1 inch, listing title only | Not published by the maker; 50,000 gal per set in the listing | 98.9% manganese and 95.6% chlorine reduction claims, no mg/L | NSF/ANSI 372 (lead content) per the maker's page |
| HQUA WF3-01 | 3, per the listing title | Not published | Not published | Not published | 100,000 gal per the listing | Not published | Not published |
| A.O. Smith AO-WH-Filter | 1: activated carbon | Not published | 7 GPM | 3/4 inch, listing title only | 600,000 gal or 60 months | Not rated for iron or manganese | "NSF-Certified" per the maker's page and listing, number unstated |

The last three rows are for comparison, not the shortlist. No manufacturer site for the HQUA
WF3-01 could be reached, so nothing about it is sourced beyond its listing title. The A.O.
Smith unit belongs to the [city-water filter review](/water/reviews/best-whole-house-water-filter-city-water/):
carbon only, and A.O. Smith's own page recommends adding UV for a private well.

## What can a cartridge system not do?

A cartridge holds contaminant until it is changed: it cannot regenerate, so its iron and
manganese ceiling is low, and it cannot disinfect. The lab report decides the class.

| Lab report reads | Fits | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Iron under 0.3 mg/L and manganese under 0.05 mg/L | No iron or manganese treatment: both are under EPA's secondary standards | EPA secondary standards |
| Iron up to 3.0 mg/L, manganese up to 1.0 mg/L | A cartridge system on this page, at the maker's stated ceiling | iSpring WGB32BM and WGB22BM pages |
| 3 to 10 mg/L combined iron and manganese | An oxidizing filter, not a plain cartridge | Penn State Extension |
| Above 10 mg/L combined | Oxidation followed by filtration, for example a backwashing tank such as iSpring's WCFM500K, rated to 12 mg/L iron and 20 mg/L combined with manganese and hydrogen sulfide over 500,000 gallons | Penn State Extension; iSpring WCFM500K page |
| Total coliform present, at any count | UV or chlorination, sized on its own | CDC well testing guidance; A.O. Smith's UV recommendation |

Penn State Extension also notes a water softener handles dissolved iron only below 5 mg/L,
which is why the [well water softener review](/water/reviews/best-water-softener-for-well-water/)
sends iron above that to a dedicated filter. The backwashing class is the
[iron filter review](/water/reviews/best-iron-filter-for-well-water/); disinfection is the
[UV purifier review](/water/reviews/best-uv-water-purifier-well-water/). The
[manganese guide](/water/guides/manganese-black-stains-well-water/) explains the black-stain
side of the report.

## iSpring WGB32BM: buy it or skip it?

Buy it if the report shows iron at or below 3.0 mg/L and manganese at or below 1.0 mg/L,
the house main is 1 inch, and there is wall space for iSpring's 24.5 x 8 x 28 inch frame.
iSpring rates the system at 15 GPM inside a 25 to 80 psi and 40 to 100 F working window.

The cartridges are the FP25B 5 micron sediment, the FC25B carbon block and the FM25B iron
and manganese medium, sold as pack F3WGB32BM on iSpring's page at a 6 to 12 month interval.
The [WGB32B parts page](/water/parts/ispring-wgb32b-replacement-filters/) covers the housing
and the cross-fits for the first two stages; the FM25B is what makes this the BM model.

Skip it if the iron figure is near the ceiling: iSpring's own capacity line drops from
100,000 gallons to 50,000 gallons at 3.0 mg/L iron, so the third cartridge halves its life
before the first two need changing. Skip it if the micron rating on every stage matters,
because only the sediment stage carries one, and iSpring does not say whether the 5 micron
figure is nominal or absolute.

Alternative: the Express Water WH300SICS,
which prints an outlet target instead of an inlet ceiling.

## Express Water WH300SICS: buy it or skip it?

Buy it if the reader wants a maker to commit to a number at the outlet. Express Water's page
states iron to 0.2 mg/L and manganese to 0.05 mg/L, the only outlet figure on this page and
one that sits at EPA's manganese standard, over 100,000 gallons or 6 to 12 months at about
15 GPM through 1 inch FNPT ports.

The stages are a sediment cartridge, a Zeomangan iron and manganese medium and a carbon
block, in a 29.25 x 23.5 x 8.5 inch frame rated for 40 to 80 psi and 40 to 100 F on Express
Water's page. The sister carbon and KDF model has its own
[WH300SCKS parts page](/water/parts/express-water-wh300scks-replacement-filters/); the
cartridge sets differ.

Skip it if the inlet figure is the question, because Express Water prints no maximum inlet
iron or manganese the outlet claim holds for. Skip it for a tight wall: at 63 pounds per
Express Water's page it is the heaviest frame here. Skip it if a certification number is on
the shopping list; "NSF Certified" appears in the listing title with no standard named.

Alternative: the iSpring WGB32BM, which states
the inlet ceiling instead.

## iSpring WGB22BM: buy it or skip it?

Buy it if a [spin-down or pleated sediment filter](/water/reviews/best-whole-house-sediment-filter-well-water/)
already sits upstream and the job left is taste plus iron and manganese at or below 3.0 and
1.0 mg/L. iSpring rates the two-housing unit at 15 GPM through 1 inch NPT ports in a
32.5 x 17.5 x 9 inch frame, 25 to 80 psi.

Stage one is a coconut shell carbon block iSpring rates at 100,000 gallons; stage two is the
same FM25B medium the WGB32BM uses. iSpring's site carries no plain WGB22B iron variant.

Skip it if sediment is on the report, because there is no sediment stage and the carbon block
becomes the pre-filter. Skip it if a firm capacity matters: iSpring's page says 100,000
gallons per year and the page's own URL says 80,000 gallons, so plan on the lower figure.

Alternative: the iSpring WGB32BM, the same
media with the sediment stage in front.

## PRO+AQUA PRO-100-E: buy it or skip it?

Buy it if the report shows sediment and taste but no iron or manganese number to meet, and
the reader wants inlet and outlet gauges on the frame, which the listing title names.
PRO+AQUA rates the three-housing unit at 15 GPM maximum and about 7 GPM operational, 1 inch
ports, 100,000 gallons and a 90 psi maximum in a 27 x 23 x 8 inch frame.

The stages are a sediment cartridge, a KDF blend and a carbon-infused cartridge, replaced as
set FC-PK19-100E on PRO+AQUA's page. It is the only maker here to print a working flow below
the maximum.

Skip it if iron or manganese is the reason for buying, because PRO+AQUA states only "up to
99% of impurities" and no mg/L ceiling, so there is no way to size it against a report. Skip
it if a micron rating or a certification number is required; neither is published.

Alternative: the Waterdrop WHF21-FG for a
compact frame; Waterdrop publishes no rated capacity, and its "5-stage" wording means media
layers inside two cartridges.

**Before you buy a whole-house well filter**

Do not order a system until the [well water test panel](/water/guides/well-water-test-panel/)
has returned iron and manganese in mg/L and a total coliform result. The iron and manganese
figures decide between a cartridge, an oxidizing filter and a backwashing tank; the coliform
result decides whether UV goes in the line at all.

At or under 3.0 mg/L iron and 1.0 mg/L manganese with sediment in the water, the
iSpring WGB32BM is the pick. A reader who
wants the outlet number printed takes the
Express Water WH300SICS. Above 10 mg/L
combined, close this page and open the [iron filter review](/water/reviews/best-iron-filter-for-well-water/).

## What goes wrong?

The iron cartridge is sized on the wrong number. iSpring's capacity line halves at 3.0 mg/L
iron, and no maker states whether its ceiling holds for particulate or bacterial iron. The
[iron guide](/water/guides/iron-in-well-water/) separates the three forms.

The carbon block does the sediment stage's job. On the WGB22BM there is no sediment cartridge,
and on any unit a [turbidity problem](/water/guides/sediment-turbidity-well-water/) upstream
loads the first housing well inside the 6 to 12 month interval. The
[flow rate calculator](/water/calculators/whole-house-filter-flow-rate-calculator/) checks
the house's peak draw against the 15 GPM rating.

The well is treated for taste and not for bacteria. CDC's guidance is a total coliform test
at least once a year, and a [coliform-positive well](/water/guides/coliform-positive-well-water/)
needs UV or [shock chlorination](/water/guides/shock-chlorinate-a-well/), not a carbon block.

The listing and the spec page disagree. The WGB22BM's capacity is printed two ways, the
WHF21-FG's micron and port figures exist only in its listing title, and the HQUA WF3-01 has
no maker page at all. Read the spec page for the number and the listing for the ASIN and pack.

<!-- FAQ and Sources render from front matter. Do not write them in the body. -->

## The picks

- **iSpring WGB32BM**: Iron or manganese on the lab report, up to 3.0 and 1.0 mg/L (3 stages: 5 micron sediment, carbon block, catalytic iron and manganese media; 15 GPM, 1 inch NPT, 100,000 gallons per set (50,000 at 3.0 mg/L iron), 25 to 80 psi) Amazon: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01FI3BLYM/?tag=ownerspec-20
- **Express Water WH300SICS**: Wants a stated outlet figure for manganese (3 stages: sediment, Zeomangan iron and manganese media, carbon block; about 15 GPM, 1 inch FNPT, 100,000 gallons or 6 to 12 months, outlet target 0.2 mg/L iron and 0.05 mg/L manganese) Amazon: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0D1H4B1L4/?tag=ownerspec-20
- **iSpring WGB22BM**: Sediment already handled upstream, two housings only (2 stages: carbon, catalytic iron and manganese media; 15 GPM, 1 inch NPT, iron to 3.0 mg/L and manganese to 1.0 mg/L, capacity printed two ways (80,000 and 100,000 gallons)) Amazon: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B06WV76KVH/?tag=ownerspec-20
- **PRO+AQUA PRO-100-E**: Sediment and taste on a well with no iron number to meet (3 stages: sediment, KDF blend, carbon-infused; 15 GPM maximum and about 7 GPM operational, 1 inch ports, 100,000 gallons, 90 psi maximum, inlet and outlet gauges) Amazon: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B081297NP1/?tag=ownerspec-20

## Frequently asked questions

### What is EPA's secondary standard for iron and manganese in drinking water?

EPA's secondary drinking water standards list iron at 0.3 mg/L, with rusty color, sediment, metallic taste and reddish or orange staining as the effects, and manganese at 0.05 mg/L, with black to brown color, black staining and a bitter metallic taste. Both are aesthetic guidelines, not enforceable health limits, and they are the numbers a lab report is read against.

### At what iron and manganese level does a cartridge filter stop being enough?

At the maker's own ceiling first: iSpring rates the WGB32BM and WGB22BM to 3.0 mg/L iron and 1.0 mg/L manganese, and no cartridge on this page claims more. Penn State Extension puts an oxidizing filter at 3 to 10 mg/L combined iron and manganese and calls for oxidation followed by filtration above 10 mg/L, which is backwashing-tank territory, not a cartridge housing.

### How often should a private well be tested for bacteria?

CDC's private well guidance says to test at least once every year for total coliform bacteria, nitrates, total dissolved solids and pH. None of the cartridge systems on this page claims disinfection, and A.O. Smith's own page for its whole-house carbon filter recommends adding a UV unit for homes on private well water. A positive coliform result is a UV or chlorination question.

### What port and cartridge size do most whole-house well filters use?

The iSpring WGB32BM uses 1 inch NPT ports and three 4.5 x 20 inch Big Blue cartridges, and the WGB22BM, Express Water WH300SICS and PRO+AQUA PRO-100-E all state 1 inch ports. The Waterdrop WHF21-FG states 1 inch only in its Amazon title, and the A.O. Smith AO-WH-Filter's title says 3/4 inch. Match the port to the house main, not the other way round.

### Can a whole-house carbon filter alone protect a well against bacteria?

No maker on this page claims it. The A.O. Smith AO-WH-Filter is a single carbon canister rated for 600,000 gallons and 7 GPM, and A.O. Smith's own product page recommends pairing it with a UV filter for homes on private well water. Carbon addresses chlorine taste and odor; a coliform-positive well needs UV or chlorination sized on its own.


## Sources

- [EPA, Secondary Drinking Water Standards: Guidance for Nuisance Chemicals](https://www.epa.gov/sdwa/secondary-drinking-water-standards-guidance-nuisance-chemicals) (government or regulatory source)
- [Penn State Extension, Iron and Manganese in Private Water Systems](https://extension.psu.edu/iron-and-manganese-in-private-water-systems) (university or extension service)
- [CDC, Private Wells: Well Testing](https://www.cdc.gov/healthywater/drinking/private/wells/testing.html) (government or regulatory source)
- [iSpring WGB32BM 3-stage whole house water filter product page](https://www.ispringfilter.com/ispring-wgb32bm-ahpf12mnpt16x2-3-stage-whole-house-water-filter-system-reduces-iron) (manufacturer or vendor document)
- [iSpring WGB22BM 2-stage iron and manganese whole house filter product page](https://www.ispringfilter.com/ispring-wgb22bm-iron-manganese-chloride-reducing-2-stage-80000-gal-big-blue-whole-house-water-filter-w-34-inch-push-fit-braided-stainless-steel-hose-connectors-and-ball-valve) (manufacturer or vendor document)
- [iSpring WCFM500K central water filter product page](https://www.ispringfilter.com/central-water-filter) (manufacturer or vendor document)
- [Waterdrop WHF21-FG whole house water filter product page](https://www.waterdropfilter.com/products/whole-house-water-filter-wd-whf21-fg) (manufacturer or vendor document)
- [Express Water iron and manganese whole house filter (WH300SICS) product page](https://expresswater.com/products/iron-manganese-whole-house) (manufacturer or vendor document)
- [PRO+AQUA PRO-100-E Elite whole house water filter product page](https://proaquawater.com/products/pro-100-e-elite-whole-house-water-filter-3-stage-well-water-filtration-system) (manufacturer or vendor document)
- [A.O. Smith AO-WH-Filter whole home water filter product page](https://www.aosmithatlowes.com/products/water-filters/whole-home/ao-wh-filter/) (retailer listing or retailer-hosted document)
- [Amazon listing, A.O. Smith AO-WH-Filter (title and ASIN only)](https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07R8GW6BJ) (retailer listing or retailer-hosted document)
- [Amazon listing, Waterdrop WHF21-FG (title and ASIN only)](https://www.amazon.com/dp/B09SM2ZN3X) (retailer listing or retailer-hosted document)

---

Citation: OwnerSpec, "Best whole house water filter for well water: cartridge systems compared on iron and manganese rating, micron, GPM and capacity", https://ownerspec.com/water/reviews/best-whole-house-water-filter-well-water/, facts verified 13 September 2026.
Canonical citation target: the URL above (the public HTML page), not this Markdown representation.
Reuse: quoting with attribution and a link is permitted. See https://ownerspec.com/legal/terms/.
